July 19, 2017

أردوغان إلى الواجهة: مصالح تركيا الاقتصادية في الخلاف الخليجي

في أعقاب قمة مجموعة العشرين المنعقدة في مدينة هامبورغ، أعلن الرئيس التركي رجب طيب أردوغان عن نيته بزيارة كلٍّ من دولة الكويت والمملكة العربية السعودية وقطر.
الرئيس رجب طيب أردوغان يتحدث في مؤتمر صحفي في ختام مؤتمر الدول العشرين في هامبورغ في شمال ألمانيا، في 8 تموز/يوليو. (صورة اسوشيتدبرس/مايكل سون)

في أعقاب قمة مجموعة العشرين المنعقدة في مدينة هامبورغ، أعلن الرئيس التركي رجب طيب أردوغان عن نيته بزيارة كلٍّ من دولة الكويت والمملكة العربية السعودية وقطر. لكن من المستبعد أن يسهم وجود أردوغان في المنطقة في التخفيف من حدة التوتر الإقليمي في ظل استمرار الأزمة الدبلوماسية داخل مجلس التعاون الخليجي. فزيارة وزير الخارجية الأمريكي ريكس تيلرسون نفسه أسفرت عن اتفاق أمريكي – قطري بمكافحة تمويل الإرهاب إنما لم تفضِ إلى أي اتفاق ناجح بشأن الحظر المفروض على قطر الذي تقوده السعودية والإمارات.

ومع استمرار العزل الذي تتعرض له قطر، باتت تتجلى عواقبه الإقليمية شيئًا فشيئًا. فمن الممكن أن تنقاد منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا بأسرها إلى النزاع سواء من خلال وكلاء هذه الدول أو عبر الاضطرار إلى الانحياز لطرف ما أو ببساطة بدافع الفرص الاقتصادية المفوّتة والعوائق التي تعترض التجارة والاستثمار. وتركيا من جهتها قد تجد صعوبةً متزايدة في التوافق سياسيًا مع أحد أطراف النزاع بدون تكبّد عواقب اقتصادية، هي التي تعتمد على الاستثمارات المالية من دولة قطر انما أيضًا من عدة دول خليجية أخرى. ونظرًا إلى النهج التركي المختلط ما بين اقتصاد ليبرالي وحكم قائم على المبادئ الإسلامية برئاسة أردوغان، تتضارب مصالح تركيا الاقتصادية بين طرفَي النزاع الخليجي.

تزامن تحرر تركيا الاقتصادي خلال السنوات الأخيرة مع نهضة حزب أردوغان السياسي، حيث كان نمط أردوغان المتمثل بحركة ديمقراطية إسلامية مدعومة بالاستثمارات الأجنبية المباشرة وبسياسة خارجية قائمة على مبدأ “ تصفير المشاكل مع الجيران” (وهي سياسة أصيبت بالجمود خلال الربيع العربي وباءت بالفشل مع إسرائيل) يعتمد بشكل كبير على “الأموال الخليجية” – وليس على قطر وحدها. فمع أن الاستثمارات القطرية في تركيا شهدت طفرة في العام 2013، إلا أن 1.2 مليار دولار من قيمتها الإجمالية البالغة 1.5 مليار يأتي من استثمارات تعود إلى السنوات الأربعة الماضية. وفي حين تعتبر قطر حليفًا ماليًا وسياسيًا مهمًا لتركيا، فإن السعودية والإمارات والكويت وحتى اليمن تشكل هي أيضًا جهات استثمار كبيرة في تركيا. وفي الوقت عينه، تشكل دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي وُجهاتٍ مهمة للشركات التركية وخصوصًا في مشاريع مقاولات بناء المطارات في السعودية والكويت وقطر.

الاستثمار الأجنبي المباشر في تركيا حسب الدولة (بملايين الدولارات)

Source: Central Bank of Republic of Turkey

أفاد تقرير صادر عن منتدى أكسفورد للدراسات حول الخليج وشبه الجزيرة العربية أن حجم التجارة المشترك الناتج عن أكبر الشركاء التجاريين لتركيا في دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي بلغ نحو 16 مليار دولار سنة 2014 مسجلاً ارتفاعًا من 1.49 مليار دولار في العام 2002، بينما وصلت قيمة الاستثمار الأجنبي المباشر في تركيا من دول الخليج بين عامَي 2010 و2014 إلى حوالي 2.8 مليار. ويشير التقرير نفسه إلى أن الإمارات والسعودية كانتا عام 2014 كبرى أسواق الصادرات التركية إلى دول الخليج، وتضمنت هذه الصادرات منتجات رئيسية كمواد البناء والحديد والفولاذ، بحيث تلقّت السعودية والإمارات 10 في المئة من صادرات الفولاذ التركية عام 2010. أضف إلى أن التجارة بين تركيا ودول الخليج في القطاعات الحساسة كالدفاع تعتبر متينة، بحيث استحوذت البحرين والسعودية والإمارات على نسبة 25 في المائة من صادرات الدفاع التركية بحلول العام 2012. ولذلك فإن العلاقات الجديدة بين تركيا وقطر في مجال الدفاع قد لا تعادل أو تستبدل هذه التدفقات التجارية المهمة.

كما أن المقاولين الأتراك هيمنوا في السنوات الأخيرة على أسواق البنى التحتية الخاصة ببناء المطارات الجديدة وتشغيلها في مختلف دول الخليج، وسوف يثمر عقدٌ جديد أبرم في حزيران/يونيو عن ثلاثة مطارات جديدة في السعودية تشغلها شركة المقاولات التركية “تي إي في”. وكذلك سوف يبني المقاولون الأتراك محطة طيران إضافية بقيمة 4.4 مليار دولار في الكويت هذا العام.

علاوةً على ذلك، يعتمد القطاع المصرفي في تركيا على التمويل الخليجي إلى حدٍّ كبير ولا سيما في القطاع المالي الإسلامي المعروف باسم “المصارف التشاركية” في تركيا. فملكية المصارف الصغيرة التي تشكل النسبة الكبرى من القطاع المالي الإسلامي في تركيا تعود لأطراف خليجية.

وبحسب البحث الذي أجرته شركة جي. بي مورغان، تعود ملكية 90 في المائة من أصول السوق “التشاركية” أو التمويل الإسلامي إلى ثلاث مؤسسات مالية هي بنك البركة التركي وبنك تركيا فاينانس والبنك الكويتي التركي، مع الإشارة إلى أن بنك البركة ينتمي إلى مجموعة البركة المصرفية – البحرين التي تملك حصة 54 في المائة من فرعها التركي، فيما يعدّ بنك تركيا فاينانس ثاني أكبر مصرف تشاركي في تركيا مع أصول قيمتها حوالي 11 مليار دولار ويخضع للبنك الأهلي التجاري وهو أكبر مصرف في السعودية ويستحوذ على حصة 67 في المائة من رأسمال المساهمين وله نية بالاستحواذ على حصة أكبر. أما البنك الكويتي التركي فهو مصرف خاص تابع لبيت التمويل الكويتي ومملوك من الهيئة العامة للاستثمار في الكويت وجهات حكومية أخرى.

مع تمادي الخلاف بين دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي، سوف تنتشر تأثيراته الاقتصادية على التجارة والتمويل في كافة أرجاء المنطقة. وفي حين أن قطر قد تتمكن من تخطي الصعوبات الناجمة عن العزل الذي تفرضه عليها دول الخليج المجاورة، تبقى العديد من الاقتصادات الأخرى في المنطقة على غرار تركيا معرضة للإضرار بالاستثمارات الأجنبية المباشرة الواردة إليها في القطاعات الحساسة كالقطاع المصرفي. والواقع أن قدرة تركيا على تسيير أعمالها في مختلف دول الخليج ضمن عقود مقاولات ضخمة تواجه هي أيضًا صعوبات جمة.

ماركت واتش مدونةٌ تأسست على يد الباحثة المقيمة الأولى في معهد دول الخليج العربية في واشنطن كارين إ. يونغ وتهدف إلى توسيع المعرفة بمنطقة التقاء السياسة والمال في دول الخليج العربية.

July 19, 2017

Enter Erdogan: Turkey’s Economic Stake in the GCC Dispute

Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan addresses the media during a press conference at the end of the G-20 summit in Hamburg, Germany, July 8. (AP Photo/Michael Sohn)

On the heels of the G-20 summit in Hamburg, Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan announced plans to visit Kuwait, Saudi Arabia, and Qatar. As the Gulf Cooperation Council diplomatic crisis continues, Erdogan’s presence likely will do little to calm regional tensions. U.S. Secretary of State Rex Tillerson’s own visit resulted in a U.S.-Qatar agreement to combat terrorism financing, but no breakthrough agreement on the Saudi-Emirati led embargo on Qatar.

As the isolation of Qatar continues, the regional consequences are becoming apparent. The entire Middle East and North Africa could be further drawn into the conflict, either by proxy, by being forced to choose sides, or by simple missed economic opportunities and barriers to trade and investment. Turkey, which has relied on financial investment from Qatar but also from many other Gulf states, may find it increasingly difficult to align politically with one side of the dispute without suffering economic consequences as a result. With its hybrid model of a liberalized economy mixed with Islamist-informed governance under Erdogan, Turkey has some conflicting economic interests between sides in the GCC conflict.

Turkey’s economic liberalization has in recent years coincided with the rise of Erdogan’s political party. The Erdogan model, of an Islamist democratic movement buoyed by foreign direct investment and a foreign policy objective of “zero problems with neighbors” (which ran aground with the Arab Spring and failed with Israel) has relied heavily on “Gulf money” – and not just from Qatar. While Qatar’s investments in Turkey have surged since 2013, of the $1.5 billion total, $1.2 billion comes from investments made in the past four years. While Qatar is an important financial and political ally of Turkey, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, Kuwait, and even Yemen are also important investors in Turkey. At the same time, the GCC states are significant destinations for Turkish corporates, particularly in the contracting business in the construction of airports in Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, and Qatar.

Source: Central Bank of Republic of Turkey

Turkey’s largest trade partners in the GCC states generated a shared trade volume of approximately $16 billion in 2014, up from $1.49 billion in 2002, while foreign direct investment flows to Turkey from the GCC states between 2010 and 2014 amounted to approximately $2.8 billion, according to a report by the Oxford Gulf and Arabian Peninsula Studies Forum. The report also notes that Turkey’s largest export markets in the GCC states in 2014 were the UAE and Saudi Arabia, comprising a number of key products including construction materials, iron, and steel. Saudi Arabia and the UAE received 10 percent of Turkey’s steel exports in 2010. Moreover, trade in sensitive industries like defense is robust between Turkey and the GCC states. Bahrain, Saudi Arabia, and the UAE represented 25 percent of Turkish defense exports by 2012. New ties between Turkey and Qatar in defense basing may not equal or replace these important trade flows.

Turkish contractors have dominated infrastructure markets for building and operating new airports across the GCC states in recent years. A new contract finalized in June will see three new airports in Saudi Arabia operated by Turkish contractor TAV. Turkish contractors will build a $4.4 billion terminal in Kuwait this year.

The bank sector in Turkey is extremely reliant on Gulf finance, particularly in the growing Islamic finance sector, called “participation banks” in Turkey. Ownership of the small banks that make up the majority of the Islamic finance sector in Turkey is held largely by Gulf hands.

According to research by J.P. Morgan, 90 percent of assets in the “participation” market or Islamic financing, is held by three financial institutions: Albaraka Turk, Turkiye Finans, and Kuveyt Turk. Albaraka is part of Al Baraka Banking Group of Bahrain, which owns a 54 percent stake in the Turkish affiliate. Turkiye Finans is the second biggest participation bank in Turkey with around $11 billion in assets and is controlled by the biggest Saudi bank, NCB, which holds a 67 percent equity capital stake, with intentions to purchase more. Kuveyt Turk is a privately-held bank controlled by Kuwait Finance House, majority owned by the Kuwait Investment Authority and other government entities.

As the GCC dispute drags on, there will be economic consequences to trade and finance across the region. Qatar may be able to weather the storm caused by the isolation from its GCC neighbors, but many other regional economies, like Turkey’s, risk damaging their inward foreign direct investment in sensitive sectors like banking. For Turkey, its ability to project business abroad in large contracting engagements throughout the GCC states also faces strong headwinds.

Market Watch is a blog conceived by AGSIW Senior Resident Scholar Karen E. Young seeking to provide insights from the crossroads of Gulf politics and finance.