September 29, 2017

دول الخليج العربية والاستفتاء الكردي

لقد أعلنت سلطات حكومة إقليم كردستان في العراق عن نتائج تصويت هائلة ومتوقعة بـ"نعم"، بنسبة تفوق 90 بالمئة، في الاستفتاء غير الملزم حول استقلال كردستان الذي عقد في 25 أيلول/سبتمبر.
مسعود بارزاني رئيس حكومة إقليم كردستان العراق يتحدث للصحفيين خلال مؤتمر صحفي في أربيل العراق. 24 أيلول/سبتمبر (أسوشييتد برس/ تصوير: خالد محمد)

لقد أعلنت سلطات حكومة إقليم كردستان في العراق عن نتائج تصويت هائلة ومتوقعة بـ”نعم”، بنسبة تفوق 90 بالمئة، في الاستفتاء غير الملزم حول استقلال كردستان الذي عقد في 25 أيلول/سبتمبر. وكان لجيران حكومة إقليم كردستان -العراق وتركيا وإيران (التي لديها عدد كبير من السكان الأكراد)– ردة فعل فورية غاضبة، وأعربت الولايات المتحدة عن رفضها الشديد، بينما أشادت إسرائيل بالتصويت وأيدت الدولة الكردية. أما ردود معظم دول الخليج العربية فكانت أكثر تباينًا، نتيجة لمصالحها المختلفة في إقليم كردستان، وما يمكن أن يؤدي إليه التصويت والاستقلال الكردستاني المحتمل، من نتائج إيجابية أو سلبية، من وجهة نظرهم.

وبصورة عامة، فإن العديد من دول الخليج العربية، وخاصة السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة، ترى في إقليم كردستان مقدمة لتوسيع الكتلة السنية المؤيدة للعرب في الشرق الأوسط، وتعزيز موقف العرب السنة في أجزاء أخرى من العراق، وإحباط إيران في عدد من الجبهات، وإيجاد نفوذ إضافي في تركيا. ومن ضمن مخاوفهم الرئيسية احتمال اندلاع الصراع، والتفكك المحتمل الخارج عن السيطرة في العراق، وأزمة في المعركة ضد تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية في العراق والشام، أو أن تقود القضية الكردية، بشكل أو بآخر، إلى أن تصب في مصلحة إيران وعملائها في العراق.

لقد اتضح هذا التناقض في ردة فعل دول الخليج العربية خلال الفترة التي سبقت الاستفتاء. وكان هناك تأييد قوي في وسائل الإعلام التقليدية والتواصل الاجتماعي السعودية والإماراتية للتصويت، ولكن الحكومتين أعربتا رسميًّا عن قلقهما إزاء سلامة الأراضي العراقية وحاجتها للاستقرار. كما نصحت البحرين القادة الأكراد بعدم التسرع في التصويت على الاستقلال الذي قد يزعزع استقرار العراق. وكانت الكويت أكثر صراحة في التأكيد على أن مصلحتها الأساسية تتمثل في استمرار وحدة العراق واستقلاله، ولم تعرب عُمان عن موقفها العام، واتخذت قطر أقوى موقف معارض في الخليج للاستفتاء الكردي، معربة عن “قلقها الشديد” من أن يشكل الاستفتاء “تهديدًا لوحدة العراق وأمن واستقرار المنطقة”.

 

علاقات دول الخليج بحكومة إقليم كردستان

تعتبر العلاقات الدبلوماسية بين دول الخليج العربية وحكومة إقليم كردستان محدودة، حيث كان على دول الخليج العربية أن توازن بين بناء العلاقات مع الأكراد والحفاظ على علاقاتها ومصالحها مع الدولة العراقية الأوسع. وتتمتع دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة بأقوى الروابط الدبلوماسية والسياسية مع العاصمة الكردية في أربيل، حيث أنشأت قنصلية عامة لها هناك في وقت مبكر من عام 2012. وتبعتها الكويت عام 2015، ثم المملكة العربية السعودية عام 2016، لرفع مستوى العلاقات القائمة على الرغم من معارضة إيران. لقد زار مسعود بارزاني رئيس حكومة إقليم كردستان عددًا من دول الخليج في عام 2015، بما في ذلك المملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة، وقد منحت حكومة إقليم كردستان المواطنين الإماراتيين والقطريين والكويتيين حق الدخول دون تأشيرة في عام 2014، ولكن لا يوجد لعُمان والبحرين وقطر تمثيل رفيع المستوى في حكومة إقليم كردستان. ولدى العديد من دول الخليج استثمارات كبيرة في إقليم كردستان، وخاصة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، والمملكة العربية السعودية بدرجة أقل. في أوائل عام 2014، ارتفع العراق إلى المركز السابع بين شركاء دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة في التجارة، حيث تتركز معظم الاستثمارات الإماراتية في العراق في إقليم كردستان، وتم تسجيل 130 شركة إماراتية في مجال الأعمال التجارية هناك. كما كانت للكويت استثمارات ضخمة ومبكرة في إقليم كردستان، بالرغم من أن معظم وجودها في العراق يميل إلى التمركز في الجنوب، ولكن المخاوف الدبلوماسية والسياسية لدول الخليج في شمال العراق تفوق الآن أي مصالح تجارية، مهما كانت كبيرة.

ربما تكون مبررات مصالح الكويت في إقليم كردستان هي الأكثر وضوحا. وكما هو الحال مع موقف الكويت من بقية العراق، فإن علاقاتها مع أربيل ينظر إليها بشكل أساسي من خلال منظورها للغزو العراقي واحتلال الكويت عام 1990، والإصرار على تجنب أي تكرار لمثل هذا السيناريو. ولذلك، لطالما حافظت الكويت على اهتمامها بإقامة علاقات طيبة مع القادة العراقيين، وخاصة بقدر ما يمثلون من دوائر انتخابية قومية إقليمية طائفية أو عرقية، وأهمها التي هي في جنوب البلاد بالقرب من الحدود الكويتية. إن التفكك الكلي العنيف المحتمل للعراق يشكل نفس التهديد بالفوضى للكويت وجميع جيرانها. ومع ذلك، فإن اهتمام الكويت بتشجيع عراق أكثر تفككًا وأقل توحدًا تتمتع فيه السلطات الإقليمية بسلطة كبيرة -ما يقلل من إمكانية انبعاث جارةٍ ساحقةٍ متكاملة، وربما عدوانية، إلى الشمال منها- بالتأكيد يسبق من حيث التاريخ دول الخليج العربية الأخرى.

الدور الإقليمي الاستراتيجي لحكومة إقليم كردستان

بدأت، في الآونة الأخيرة، السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة أيضًا ترى منافع إستراتيجية وسياسية في بروز الأكراد نوعًا ما –واحتمال وصولهم لدرجة دولة مستقلة- ولكن بالتأكيد يشمل ذلك الحكم الذاتي في حده الأقصى في عراق اتحادي. ولا تزال الوحدة الوطنية العراقية وسلامة أراضيه، على الأقل بأحسن أشكالها الرسمية والاعتبارية، تمثل قيمًا هامة لهذه البلدان. إن التفكك الرسمي النهائي للعراق من خلال إقامة دولة كردية مستقلة، لن يكون على الأرجح قضية سلمية، ما لم يتم التفاوض عليه بشكل ودي بين أربيل وبغداد، ويمكن أن يشرع في صراع دموي طويل، يزعزع الاستقرار، ولا يخدم مصالح الرياض وأبوظبي. وعلاوة على ذلك، فإن المملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة هما جوهريًّا قوى شرق أوسطية ممن تفضل استمرار الأوضاع الراهنة، وبشكل عام على أقل تقدير، من المرجح ألا ترحبا بالكثير من التغيير في إعادة رسم الخريطة السياسية القائمة حاليًّا.

ومع ذلك، فقد أصبح تعزيز حكومة إقليم كردستان تحديدًا، والموقف الكردي في العراق بشكل عام، مصلحة استراتيجية قوية للمملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة. وتعتبر حكومة إقليم كردستان الآن إضافة جديدة هامة إلى كتلة المسلمين السنة التي تواجه صعوبات في الشرق الأوسط، حتى وإن كانت علاقاتها مع تركيا وبعض الأعضاء الآخرين المحتملين المهمين في هذا المعسكر متوترة بشكل خاص في ظل هذه الظروف. ولم يعد بالإمكان مقاومة الفكرة القائلة بأن حكومة إقليم كردستان المتمكنة تعتبر عقبة كبيرة أمام المصالح الإيرانية. على الأقل، ستكون حكومة إقليم كردستان على مسافة جغرافية متساوية بين طهران والرياض، وعلى أقل تقدير سيكون ميولها نحو الأخيرة. وفي أقصى حد، يمكن لدول الخليج العربية أن تقيم علاقة استراتيجية مع أربيل تبرز فيها حكومة إقليم كردستان كعضو كامل العضوية أو ملحقة لمجموعات فاعلة في الشرق الأوسط من الذين يعارضون إيران بشكل فعال.

ويكتسب هذا الأمر أهمية خاصة لأن إقليم كردستان يمكن أن يكون عائقًا كبيرًا أمام تطوير وصيانة “جسر بري” من إيران عبر العراق إلى سوريا ولبنان يوصل طهران مع كل من عملائها في تلك البلدان، والبحر الأبيض المتوسط بموقعه الاستراتيجي الحاسم. إن مثل هذا الجسر البري، إذا تم تعزيزه تحت السيطرة الكاملة لإيران ووكلائها، سيغير بشكل دراماتيكي المعادلة الإستراتيجية للشرق الأوسط. ونظرًا لنجاح القوات الموالية للرئيس بشار الأسد وإيران في سوريا، وخاصة بعد سقوط حلب، فإن الحؤول دون قيام هذا الجسر البري هو أحد الأهداف الرئيسية لخصوم إيران في الشرق الأوسط.

الدور السياسي والإستراتيجي لحكومة إقليم كردستان في العراق

سيحرز هذا الهدف المزيد من التقدم إذا تمكنت المملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة وغيرهما من المساعدة في تعزيز علاقات أفضل بين أربيل والقيادة العربية السنية في غرب العراق (الذي ستشكل أراضيه الطريق الوحيد البديل من إيران إلى سوريا). وهناك علاقات قوية تختمر منذ عدة سنوات، حيث إن القادة السياسيين العرب السنيين العراقيين الذين اضطروا للفرار من الميليشيات الشيعية أو الحكومة أو داعش لجأ معظمهم إلى أربيل. وعلاوة على ذلك، فإن المملكة العربية السعودية عملت على تعزيز علاقاتها ليس فقط مع حكومة رئيس الوزراء حيدر العبادي في بغداد، وإنما أيضًا مع الزعماء السياسيين والقبليين السنة في غرب العراق. إن الترتيب مع هذه القوى، خاصة في فترة ما بعد تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية، إلى جانب التوجه نحو أربيل، سيحقق الكثير لتحديد توازن القوى داخل العراق.

قطر، وإيران، وتركيا

قد تكون قطر شاركت، قبل عام، العديد من وجهات النظر هذه. ومع ذلك، ونظرًا للمواجهة بين الدوحة واللجنة الرباعية للدول المعارضة لسياسات قطر، فإن الموقف القطري يزداد حساسية من مخاوف إيران التي تدعم الدوحة بشكل هادئ، وتركيا بشكل خاص، التي هي الحليف الإقليمي الرئيسي لدولة قطر، ولهذا تأتي تحذيرات قطر القوية غير المعهودة ضد الاستفتاء الكردي. ومع ذلك، فتركيا لم تُصدم من الاستفتاء. وهي تتعايش مع “القضية الكردية” منذ تفكك الإمبراطورية العثمانية. وكذلك غضب العراقيون العرب، ولكنهم لم يُصدموا أيضًا بمشاهدة الاستقلال الكردي على الأرض في المناطق التي تم حظر الطيران العراقي فوقها منذ عام 1991، وتداعيات الغزو الأميركي عام 2003.

ومع ذلك فإن إيران قد شعرت بالقلق والصدمة، ليس فقط من خلال التداعيات الاستراتيجية للسلطة الكردية في شمال العراق، وإنما أيضًا بسبب التنامي المفاجئ لمظاهر القومية الكردية غير المسبوقة داخل إيران (التي لديها أعداد من السكان الأكراد أقل بكثير من تركيا، ولكن أكبر مما هو في العراق). وحتى الآن، ركزت المخاوف العرقية الرئيسية داخل إيران على الأقليات البلوشية والعربية. ومع ذلك، يبدو أن الأكراد الإيرانيين مرتبكون بشكل متزايد وغير راضين للغاية. ومن الواضح أن هذه المشاعر الكردية القومية داخل إيران مرتبطة بالتحركات الاستقلالية في إقليم كردستان، وهذا يسهم أيضًا في التعاطف من قبل بعض دول الخليج العربية مع الاستفتاء وحركة الاستقلال الكردية بشكل أعم.

أهداف الرياض وأبو ظبي

إن السيناريو المثالي فيما يتعلق بحكومة إقليم كردستان على المدى الطويل، من وجهة نظر الرياض وأبو ظبي، يتمثل في ظهور كيان كردستاني مستقل من خلال المفاوضات له إمكانياته الواسعة والفعلية في سياق تحالف رسمي فضفاض مع العراق. وهذا من شأنه أن يسمح للأكراد بأن يلعبوا أدوارهم الإقليمية والعراقية بأقصى درجة من الفاعلية، ودون المخاطرة بالوقوع في عنف صراع الانفصال. ومن شأن ذلك أن يسمح للأكراد بالعمل كقوة للتوازن ضد إيران في المنطقة، بما في ذلك العراق. وينبغي، على الأقل من الناحية النظرية، تقوية شوكة العرب السنة داخل العراق، ومن ثم في المنطقة ككل، وسوف يقلل كثيرًا من احتمالات توطيد الجسر البري الإيراني إلى لبنان والبحر الأبيض المتوسط.

وعلاوة على ذلك، فإن نموذج النظام الفيدرالي الموحد الفضفاض في العراق سيتيح للعرب السنة السيطرة على مناطقهم، ما سيعمل على كبح نفوذ إيران في العراق. وعلاوة على ذلك، ومن منظور سعودي وإماراتي، فإن نموذج التحالف الفضفاض سيكون بمثابة حل عملي ممكن ومقبول على أقل تقدير لمستقبل طويل الأمد في سوريا. حقيقة من المرجح أنهم سوف يستخدمون نفوذهم الآن لتطوير النظم الاتحادية والارتقاء بها في كلا البلدين.

ومع ذلك، فإن المعارضة العربية للاستقلال الكردي الرسمي الكامل ليست بأي حال من الأحوال مطلقة، وفي حال فشل مشروع إحباط نفوذ إيران من خلال تقوية العرب السنة والأكراد في العراق، وإقامة علاقات أقوى مع حكومة العبادي وأجنحة أخرى من الطيف السياسي الشيعي في العراق، وتعزيز تحالف كونفيدرالي فضفاض مع العراق على المدى الطويل، فإن المعادلة سوف تتغير بشكل كبير ومثير. وإذا كان على السعودية والإمارات والدول العربية الأخرى أن تختار بين الاستقلال الكردي الرسمي والكامل في شمال العراق وبين توطيد دولة عراقية متكاملة تحت السيطرة الإيرانية، فإن الأولى ستفوز بلا شك، على الرغم من الهواجس الحتمية بشأن تفكك دولة عربية كبرى.

حسين إبيش هو باحث مقيم أول في معهد دول الخليج العربية في واشنطن.

September 29, 2017

The Gulf Arab Countries and the Kurdish Referendum

Masoud Barzani
Iraqi Kurdistan Regional Government President Masoud Barzani speaks to reporters during a press conference in Erbil, Iraq, Sept. 24. (AP Photo/Khalid Mohammed)

Kurdistan Regional Government (KRG) authorities in Iraq have reported a predictably huge “yes” vote, over 90 percent, in the nonbinding referendum on Kurdish independence that was held September 25. The KRG’s immediate neighbors – Iraq, Turkey, and Iran (all of which have substantial Kurdish populations) – reacted with anger, and the United States expressed strong disapproval, while Israel praised the vote and endorsed Kurdish statehood. But most of the Gulf Arab countries have had a more ambivalent response, reflecting their own diverse interests in the Kurdistan region and what the vote, and potential Kurdish independence, could auger, both positively and negatively, from their perspectives.

Broadly speaking, several Gulf Arab countries, particularly Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates, see an opening in the Kurdistan region to expand the pro-Arab Sunni Muslim bloc in the Middle East, enhance the position of Sunni Arabs in other parts of Iraq, frustrate Iran on a number of fronts, and create additional leverage with Turkey. Their primary concerns include the potential outbreak of conflict, the uncontrolled potential disintegration of Iraq, a crisis in the battle against the Islamic State in Iraq and the Levant, or the Kurdish issue somehow playing into the hands of Iran and its clients in Iraq and beyond.

This ambivalence was reflected in the reaction in Gulf Arab countries in the run up to the referendum. There was strong support in the Saudi and Emirati traditional and social media for the vote, but both governments formally expressed concerns about Iraq’s territorial integrity and the need for stability. Bahrain also advised Kurdish leaders not to rush into an independence vote that might destabilize Iraq. Kuwait was even more forthright in emphasizing that its primary interest was in the continued national unity and independence of Iraq. Oman did not take a public position. Qatar took the strongest Gulf Arab position in opposition to the Kurdish vote, expressing “deep concern” that the referendum could “pose a threat to the unity of Iraq and the security and stability of the region.”

Gulf States’ Relations with the KRG

Diplomatic relations between Gulf Arab countries and the KRG are limited, as the Gulf Arab states have had to balance between building relations with the Kurds and maintaining their relations with, and interests in, the broader Iraqi state. The UAE has the most extensive diplomatic and political ties with the Kurdish capital of Erbil having established a consulate general there as early as 2012. That was followed by Kuwait in 2015, and then Saudi Arabia in 2016, an upgrade in relations that was conducted despite Iran’s objections. KRG President Masoud Barzani visited a number of Gulf countries in 2015, including Saudi Arabia and the UAE. The KRG granted Emirati, Qatari, and Kuwaiti citizens the right of nonvisa entry in 2014. Oman, Bahrain, and Qatar do not have high-level representation with the KRG.

Several of the Gulf countries have extensive investments in the Kurdistan region, particularly the UAE and, to a lesser extent, Saudi Arabia. As early as 2014, Iraq had risen to seventh place among the UAE’s trading partners, with most Emirati investment in Iraq concentrated in the Kurdistan region and with 130 Emirati companies registered as doing business there. Kuwait also has substantial and early investments in the Kurdistan region, although most of its presence in Iraq tends to be in the south. But the diplomatic and political concerns of Gulf countries in northern Iraq now far outweigh any commercial interests, no matter how substantial.

Kuwait’s interests in the Kurdistan region are, perhaps, the most straightforward. As with Kuwait’s attitude toward the rest of Iraq, its relations with Erbil are viewed primarily through the lens of the 1990 Iraqi invasion and occupation of Kuwait, and the determination to avoid any repetition of such a scenario. Therefore, Kuwait has long seen an interest in maintaining good relations with Iraqi leaders, particularly insofar as they represent some national, regional, confessional, or ethnic constituencies, and above all in the south of the country near the Kuwaiti border. The potential violent total disintegration of Iraq poses the same threat of chaos to Kuwait as it does to all of its neighbors. However, Kuwait’s interest in promoting a more fragmented and less unified Iraq in which regional authorities have considerable power – thereby reducing the potential for the resurrection of an overwhelmingly mighty, integrated, and potentially predatory neighbor to the north – certainly predates that of its fellow Gulf Arab countries.

The KRG’s Regional Strategic Role

More recently, however, Saudi Arabia and the UAE have also begun to see strategic and political benefits to some rise for the Kurds – potentially to the extent of independent statehood, but certainly including maximal autonomy in a federal Iraq. Iraqi national unity and territorial integrity, at least in their most formal and nominal senses, are still important values for these countries. The final, formal breakup of Iraq through the establishment of an independent Kurdish state, unless it were amicably negotiated between Erbil and Baghdad, would probably not be a peaceful affair and could initiate a long, bloody, and highly destabilizing conflict that would not serve the interests of Riyadh and Abu Dhabi. Moreover, Saudi Arabia and the UAE are fundamentally status quo powers in the Middle East, at least in general, and are unlikely to welcome much redrawing of the established political map.

However, the strengthening of the KRG specifically, and the Kurdish position in Iraq in general, has become a powerful strategic interest for Saudi Arabia and the UAE. The KRG is now viewed as an important new addition to a struggling Sunni Muslim bloc in the Middle East, even if its relations with Turkey and some other potentially important members of that camp are particularly strained under the circumstances. The notion that an empowered KRG is a significant obstacle to Iranian interests has become irresistible. At a minimum, the KRG would be politically equidistant from Tehran and Riyadh, and at the very least slightly tilted toward the latter. At a maximum, Gulf Arab countries could develop a strategic relationship with Erbil in which the KRG emerges as a fully-fledged member or adjunct of the group of Middle Eastern actors actively opposing Iran.

This is particularly important because the Kurdistan region could be a substantial barrier to the development and maintenance of a “land bridge” from Iran, through Iraq and into Syria and Lebanon, linking Tehran with both its clients in those countries and the strategically crucial Mediterranean Sea. Such a land bridge, if consolidated under the complete control of Iran and its proxies, would alter dramatically the Middle Eastern strategic equation. Given the success of the pro-Iranian and pro-President Bashar al-Assad forces in Syria, particularly after the fall of Aleppo, preventing the consolidation of such a land bridge is one of the chief goals of Iran’s adversaries in the Middle East.

The KRG’s Political and Strategic Role in Iraq

This goal will be further advanced if Saudi Arabia, the UAE, and others can help foster better relations between Erbil and the Sunni Arab leadership in western Iraq (much of whose territory would include the only other route from Iran to Syria). Strong relations have been brewing for several years as Iraqi Sunni Arab political leaders who have had to flee from Shia militias, the government, or ISIL have largely sought refuge in Erbil. Moreover, Saudi Arabia has been strengthening its relations not only with the government of Prime Minister Haider al-Abadi in Baghdad, but with Iraqi Sunni political and tribal leaders in western Iraq. The disposition of these forces, particularly in the post-ISIL period, combined with the orientation of Erbil, will do much to determine the power balance inside Iraq.

Qatar, Iran, and Turkey

A year ago, Qatar might have shared many of these perspectives. However, given the confrontation between Doha and the quartet of countries opposing Qatar’s policies, the Qatari position is much more sensitive to the concerns of Iran, which is quietly supporting Doha, and, especially, Turkey, which is Qatar’s main regional ally – hence Qatar’s unusually strong warnings against the Kurdish referendum. However, Turkey is not shocked by the referendum. It has been living with the “Kurdish question” since the breakup of the Ottoman Empire. Iraqi Arabs are also angered, but they too are not shocked, having watched the groundwork for Kurdish independence in the region built since the establishment of the no-fly zones in Iraq in 1991 and, especially, the fallout of the U.S. invasion in 2003.

Iran, however, is both alarmed and shocked, not only by the strategic implications of Kurdish power in northern Iraq, but also by the sudden eruption of unprecedented displays of Kurdish nationalism inside Iran (which has a much smaller Kurdish population than Turkey, but a larger one than Iraq). Up to now, the main ethnic concerns inside Iran have focused on the Baluchi and Arab minorities. However, increasingly the Kurds of Iran appear to be restive and highly dissatisfied. This nationalistic Kurdish sentiment inside Iran is obviously linked to independence moves in the KRG, and that, too, contributes to sympathy in parts of the Gulf Arab states for the referendum and the Kurdish independence movement more generally.

Riyadh and Abu Dhabi’s Goals

The ideal scenario regarding the KRG in the long run, from the point of view of Riyadh and Abu Dhabi, would be the emergence via negotiations of a hyperempowered and de facto independent Kurdish entity in the context of a formal but loosely confederated Iraq. This would allow the Kurds to play their regional and Iraqi roles with maximum effectiveness, but without risking the violence of a secession struggle. It would allow the Kurds to serve as a balancing power against Iran in the region, including in Iraq. It should, at least in theory, strengthen the hand of Sunni Arabs inside Iraq, and therefore, regionally. And it would greatly reduce the prospects for the consolidation of Iran’s land bridge to Lebanon and the Mediterranean.

Moreover, the model of a loosely united federal system in Iraq would allow Sunni Arabs to control their own areas, creating another brake on Iran’s influence in Iraq. Furthermore, from a Saudi and Emirati perspective the loose federation model serves as a potential workable and minimally acceptable solution for the long-term future in Syria. In fact, it is likely they will now use their influence to promote the development of federal systems in both countries.

However, Arab opposition to full and formal Kurdish independence is not, by any means, absolute. Should the project of thwarting Iran’s influence by strengthening Sunni Arabs and Kurds in Iraq, developing stronger ties to the Abadi government and other wings of the Iraqi Shia political spectrum, and eventually promoting a loose confederation in Iraq fail in the long run, the equation would dramatically change. If Saudi Arabia, the UAE, and other Arab states must ever choose between full and formal Kurdish independence in northern Iraq and the consolidation of an Iranian-controlled, more integrated Iraqi state, the former would undoubtedly win out, despite the inevitable qualms about the breakup of a major Arab country.

Hussein Ibish is a senior resident scholar at the Arab Gulf States Institute in Washington.