December 5, 2017

الكويت تكافح من أجل توحيد الصف داخليا وإقليميا

تزداد شدة المخاطر المحيطة في المنطقة مع استضافة الكويت مؤتمر القمة السنوية لمجلس التعاون الخليجي هذا الأسبوع في محاولة أخرى للتوصل إلى حل لوقف الضغائن التي تتآكل الخليج. تدور
أمير الكويت صباح الأحمد الصباح في صورة من قمة مجلس التعاون الخليجي في مدينة الكويت في 5 كانون الاول/ديسمبر (صورة من وكالة أسوشييتد برس/المصور جون غامبريل)

تزداد شدة المخاطر المحيطة في المنطقة مع استضافة الكويت مؤتمر القمة السنوية لمجلس التعاون الخليجي هذا الأسبوع في محاولة أخرى للتوصل إلى حل لوقف الضغائن التي تتآكل الخليج. تدور معركة صفرية لفرض الهيمنة على الخليج – إيران مقابل السعودية، والدول التي عينت نفسها لجنة رباعية لمكافحة الإرهاب مقابل قطر – تضع الكويت في موقف صعب وتهدد نموذجها في حل الخلافات بطريقة سلمية. وتُعتبر سياسة الكويت المفتوحة نسبيًا والتوازن الدقيق فيها بين الفئات الاجتماعية، السنية والشيعية والليبرالية والإسلامية المتشددة، مخالفة لما هو سائد في خليج اليوم من عدم تقديم التنازلات، وهي سياسة معرضة للخطر بشكل متزايد.

في 24 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر، وقف الأمير صباح الأحمد الصباح في الجلسة الافتتاحية للبرلمان الكويتي ودعا إلى الوحدة. وفي إشارة إلى الوضع الإقليمي الصعب، كالحروب الأهلية والصراع الطائفي والاختلافات الخليجية، ناشد المشرعين الكويتيين أن يدركوا خطورة الوضع الحالي وأن يتصرفوا بمسؤولية. وقد عكست دعوته، للوئام الداخلي، جهوده العقيمة حتى الآن لإصلاح الانقسامات السحيقة التي بدأت داخل دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي مع اللجنة الرباعية التي تقودها المملكة العربية السعودية ودولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة والتي تواصل مقاطعة قطر بتهمة دعمها للإرهاب.

ولكن بعد أقل من أسبوع، استقالت حكومة الكويت في وجه المعارضة عقب استجواب عضو ملكي في الحكومة والتهديد بالتصويت في البرلمان بحجب الثقة عنه. وحتى الآن، لم يتم تعيين حكومة جديدة، ويعزى ذلك بنظر البعض إلى المفاوضات الصعبة حول تقاسم الفصائل للسلطة داخل الأسرة الحاكمة في الكويت. وفي الوقت نفسه، يعكّر قرار محكمة الاستئناف بسجن نحو 70 سياسيًا وناشطًا شابًا بسبب الجرائم المتعلقة باقتحام البرلمان والاحتجاج في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2011، صفو السياسة الداخلية الكويتية. وتتزايد العقبات لإيجاد صيغة لتحقيق الوحدة في الداخل وفي المنطقة.

حكم قاسٍ

لقد تراجع الوئام السياسي الداخلي خطوة إلى الوراء مع صدور أحكام شديدة بالسجن ضد مجموعة واسعة من المعارضة السياسية، التي شملت أعضاء في البرلمان إسلاميين وقبليين وناشطين شباب من جميع المشارب السياسية. وكانت الأحكام الصارمة ضد 67 فردًا صادمة جدًا، ولا سيما الحكم بالسجن لمدة تسع سنوات بحق السياسي المعارض الكويتي البارز، والشعبوي القبلي، مسلّم البراك. وفي هذا السياق، رفضت محكمة ابتدائية جميع التهم، وتوقع معظم الكويتيين أن تحذو محكمة الاستئناف حذوها أو بإصدار حكم مخفف.

وقد شكّل احتلال البرلمان عام 2011 نقطة تحول في مظاهرات الربيع العربي في الكويت. حيث طالب متظاهرون من الفئة الشبابية، بدعم من بعض أعضاء البرلمان المعارضين، ممثليهم المنتخبين بالعمل ضد رئيس الوزراء الدائم، والذي ينتمي إلى الأسرة الحاكمة. وبالفعل، تعرّض رئيس الوزراء، ناصر المحمد الصباح، آنذاك، للضغوط من أجل الاستقالة بسبب ضلوعه في قضية فساد تورط أعضاء مجلس الأمة في مخطط لشراء الأصوات.

وقد سلّم برلمانيون حاليون وسابقون، ومن بينهم سياسيان من جماعة الإخوان المسلمين السلفيين، جمعان الحربش ووليد الطبطبائي (المحكوم عليهما بسبع سنوات)، نفسيهما إلى السلطات، وكذلك فعل الكثير من الناشطين الشباب، مثل الناشط في مجال حقوق الإنسان سليمان بن جاسم (المحكوم عليه بالسجن لمدة خمس سنوات)، معلنين حبهم للكويت وولائهم لدستورها. وفي حين أن محكمة النقض النهائية قد تقلل أو تنقض الأحكام، غير أنّ مشرعين وأكاديميين وشخصيات عامة من الخلفيتين الإسلامية والليبرالية يتطلعون إلى سبل تصفية عاجلة، ويناشدون في الاجتماعات والعرائض الملكية الالتماس للعفو الملكي.

الخصوصية الكويتية

أشاد بعض الكويتيين بإنفاذ المحكمة لاحترام القانون والنظام، ولكن، أعاد القسم الآخر النظر في موقفه بسبب عدد المعتقلين المرتفع وسَجن المخالفين الشباب. يأتي القرار في وقت حساس في السياسة الكويتية على الصعيدين المحلي والإقليمي. وقد عجز رئيس الوزراء، جابر مبارك الحمد الصباح، في تشكيل حكومة جديدة منذ استقالته بسبب عزم البرلمان على طرد وزير الإعلام، محمد عبد الله الصباح، الذي ينتمي إلى الأسرة الملكية. وفي ظل غياب الحكومة، غابت الجلسات البرلمانية أيضًا، الأمر الذي أثار بعض المخاوف بشأن احتمال تعطيل النظام الدستوري في الكويت.

ويسنُد معظم المحللين الكويتيين هذا التأخير إلى الجدالات الملكية حول الحقائب الوزارية وإلى تعزيز الائتلافات من أجل تحسين موقعهم ضمن الخلافة المرتقبة. وتدور اليوم المعارك حول الحكم المستقبلي لأن الأمير وولي العهد طاعنان في السن وصحتهما تثير الريبة. ويعتبر هذا التحول الملكي معقدًا بسبب عدد المرشحين المحتملين الكبير والدور الدستوري الممنوح للبرلمان في هذه العملية. كما يتوجّب على مجلس الأمة الكويتي أن يوافق على تعيين أي ولي عهد مقبل، الأمر الذي يجعل سياسته المتقلبة عاملاً أساسيًا في الحسابات الملكية.

وفي هذا السياق، تعقّد هذه الخلافات السياسة التحديات الخارجية للكويت: أزمة الخليج مع قطر وتكثيف المواجهة مع إيران. ولا تزال الكويت الوحيدة بين دول الخليج، التي تتضمن مجموعات اجتماعية وكتل سياسية تستهدفها دول الخليج المجاورة لها في الحملات الإقليمية. وبعد أن استشعر تنظيم الإخوان المسلمون المترسخ في الإمارة والفصائل السلفية الناشطة الأجواء السياسية غير الودية بالشكل الصحيح، اختاروا بحكمة إنهاء مقاطعتهم الانتخابية وإعادة علاقاتهم مع الحكومة التي تقودها الأسرة الحاكمة. ومن هنا، أعربت الفصائل الشيعية الكبيرة والبارزة عن موالاتها لعائلة الصباح الحاكمة بسرعة، وشكّلت حصنًا هامًا من الدعم السياسي. وتجدر الإشارة إلى أن الحفاظ على الاستقرار في الكويت يتطلب ضبط وموازنة مصالح هذه التجمعات السياسية في حين تهدد التيارات الإقليمية باستقطابها وتعبئتها.

ملاذ دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي

أمّا المسار السليم بالنسبة للعائلة الحاكمة في الكويت فهو التقريب بين هذه التيارات السياسية المعاكسة والمتضاربة، فضلاً عن الدفاع عن مؤسسات مجلس التعاون الخليجي والعمل من خلالها. لقد أدّت أزمة الخليج إلى أزمة استراتيجية كويتية، الأمر الذي أضعف دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي وقدرتها على الوقوف ضد إيران مع زيادة الضغط على الكويت لكبح جماح الجماعات السياسية التي تملك تأثيرًا اجتماعيًا كبيرًا ومكانة سياسية داخل البلاد.

ويأتي تضييق الخناق على المعارضة، أي محاكمة المعارضين الذين ينتقدون شركاء دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي كالسعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة عبر الإنترنت والأحكام القانونية التي تقع أعباؤها بشكل غير متناسب على الفصائل الإسلامية والقبلية السنية (وأحيانا الشيعة)، استجابة للضغوط الإقليمية، أقلها جزئيًا.

ولكن، لدى الكويت أيضًا مصلحة جيوسياسية في الحفاظ على متنفس أقصى حيال كل من الثقل الإقليمي الإيراني والسعودي، لتجنب مصير البحرين المجاورة، وخصوصا قطر. ومن هنا، نستشف دافعها القوي لمنع الطموحات المهيمنة لكليهما. ويُذكر أن قمة مجلس التعاون الخليجي في مدينة الكويت، التي جرت بين 5 و 6 كانون الأول/ديسمبر، تمثّل أفضل فرصة وربما تكون الأخيرة لجمع دول الخليج العربية تحت خيمة واحدة.

ورغم كل الصعاب، تمكّنت الكويت من تأمين التزامات مبدئية من جميع البلدان الخليجية المجاورة. وقد جمع اجتماع وزراء الخارجية الذي جرى في 4 كانون الأول/ديسمبر، أي قبل اجتماع القمة، وزير الخارجية السعودي عادل الجبير بوزير الخارجية القطري محمد بن عبد الرحمن آل ثاني للمرة الأولى منذ أن قطعت السعودية جميع علاقاتها مع الدوحة. وصرّح وزير الخارجية الكويتي صباح الخالد الحمد الصباح للمشاركين بأنه يجب معالجة النزاع الخليجي خلال اليومين القادمين وإن لم يتم تسويته. وفي محاولة لطيّ الصفحة، أفادت الصحيفة السعودية إيلاف بأن أمير الكويت صباح الأحمد الصباح قد حصل على تعهّد من الأمير القطري تميم بن حمد آل ثاني بتقديم اعتذار علني للملك السعودي سلمان بن عبد العزيز خلال القمة التي ستشمل الاجتماعات الخاصة والعامة.

رياح معاكسة شديدة

تتجذّر حتمية لعب الكويت لدور الوسيط بالنسبة لصراعاتها الداخلية والإقليمية في طابعها ومصالحها. ولكن الرياح السياسية المعاكسة شديدة. إذ عقدت المملكة العربية السعودية ودولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة العزم على متابعة رؤيتهما الخاصة لمنطقة متغايرة لا مساحة فيها للمساومات المجتمعية والدبلوماسية الحذرة التي انتهجها أجدادهم. وفي حين تضع الكويت السجادة الحمراء وترفع الأعلام الستة لدول مجلس التعاون الخليجي، يضع المشروع السعودي والإماراتي المشترك ذو الطموح الإقليمي والأكثر تحديدا الشروط كافة.

كريستين سميث ديوان، باحثة مقيمة أولى في معهد دول الخليج العربية في واشنطن.

December 5, 2017

Kuwait Struggles for Unity at Home and in the Region

Sabah Al Ahmad Al Sabah
Kuwait's emir, Sabah al-Ahmed al-Sabah, stands for a group photograph at the Gulf Cooperation Council summit in Kuwait City Dec. 5. (AP Photo/Jon Gambrell)

As Kuwait hosts the annual Gulf Cooperation Council summit this week in yet another push to find an antidote for Gulf acrimony, stakes are rising. A zero-sum battle for Gulf supremacy –  Iran versus Saudi Arabia; the self-proclaimed anti-terror quartet versus Qatar – places Kuwait in an untenable position, and threatens its model of civic accommodation. Kuwait’s relatively open politics and careful balancing of societal constituencies – Sunni and Shia, liberals and Islamists – look anomalous in today’s maximalist Gulf, and increasingly under threat.

On October 24, Emir Sabah al-Ahmed al-Sabah stood before the opening session of Kuwait’s Parliament and issued a call for unity. Citing the difficult regional situation – civil wars, sectarian conflict, and Gulf disagreements – he pleaded with Kuwait’s rambunctious lawmakers to be aware of the seriousness of the current situation and act with responsibility. His appeal to domestic harmony mirrored his thus far fruitless effort to mend the yawning divisions that have opened within the GCC with the quartet of countries led by Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates continuing its boycott of Qatar on accusations of its support for terrorism.

Yet less than a week later, Kuwait’s Cabinet resigned in the face of opposition questioning of a royal cabinet member and an impending parliamentary vote of no confidence. A new government has yet to be appointed, a delay most believe to be due to difficult negotiations over power sharing by factions within Kuwait’s ruling family. Meanwhile, the decision of an appeal’s court to jail nearly 70 politicians and youth activists for crimes surrounding the storming of the Parliament in protest in November 2011 is roiling Kuwaiti domestic politics. The obstacles are mounting to find a formula to achieve unity at home and in the region.

A Harsh Judgement

Domestic political harmony took a step backward with the issuance of stiff prison sentences for a broad array of the political opposition, including Islamist and tribal members of parliament and youth activists of all political stripes. The harsh judgements against 67 individuals, notably a sentence of nine years for Kuwait’s once formidable opposition politician, tribal populist Musallem al-Barrak, came as something of a shock. A lower court had dismissed all charges, and most Kuwaitis thought the appeals court would either follow suit or issue a mild rebuke.

The 2011 occupation of the Parliament was an inflection point in Kuwait’s Arab Spring demonstrations. Young street protesters, backed by some opposition parliamentarians, demanded their elected representatives act against the standing prime minister, a member of the ruling family. Nasser al-Mohammad al-Sabah was indeed pressured to resign for his role in a raging corruption scandal, which implicated members of the National Assembly in a pay-for-votes scheme.

Current and former parliamentarians, among them long-established Muslim Brotherhood and Salafi politicians Jamaan al-Harbash and Waleed al-Tabtabai (both sentenced to seven years), turned themselves in to the authorities and many young activists, such as human rights activist Sulaiman bin Jassim (sentenced to five years), did the same, declaring their love of Kuwait and loyalty to its constitution. While the final court of cassation could lessen or overturn their sentences, lawmakers, academics, and public figures of both Islamist and liberal backgrounds look to a more immediate remedy, appealing in meetings and royal petitions for a royal pardon.

The Kuwaiti Anomaly

While some Kuwaitis applauded the court’s enforcement of respect for law and order, the number of those arrested and the jailing of youthful transgressors gave others pause. The decision comes at a sensitive time in Kuwait’s politics both at home and regionally. The prime minister, Jaber Mubarak al-Hamad al-Sabah, has failed to form a new government since its resignation due to Parliament’s determination to oust the ambitious young royal heading the Ministry of Information, Mohammed Abdullah al-Sabah. In the absence of a government, the Parliament has likewise been out of session, prompting concerns about a possible interruption of Kuwait’s constitutional order.

Most Kuwaiti analysts attribute the delay to royals wrangling over Cabinet posts and cementing coalitions to improve their positioning for the impending succession. With both the emir and crown prince of advanced age and questionable health, the battle over future rule is happening now. This royal transition is complicated by the sizeable number of potential candidates and the constitutional role granted to the Parliament in the process. Kuwait’s National Assembly must approve the appointment of any future crown prince, rendering its fractious politics a factor in royal calculations.

These politics likewise complicate Kuwait’s external challenges: the Gulf crisis over Qatar and the intensifying confrontation with Iran. Unique among Gulf states, Kuwait still has societal groups and political blocs targeted by its Gulf neighbors in regional campaigns. Correctly sensing the unfriendly political winds, the emirate’s well-established Muslim Brotherhood and activist Salafi factions wisely chose to end their electoral boycott and return to working relationships with the ruling family-led government. Kuwait’s sizeable and prosperous Shia political factions have stood fast as loyalists to the ruling Al Sabah family, and form an important bulwark of political support. Maintaining stability in Kuwait thus requires disciplining and balancing the interests of these political groupings while regional currents threaten to polarize and mobilize them.

The GCC Refuge

The safer line of action for Kuwait’s ruling family, then, is to mediate these conflicting political crosscurrents where possible, while defending and working through the institutions of the GCC. The Gulf crisis has therefore presented a strategic quandary for Kuwait, weakening the GCC and its ability to stand against Iran while increasing pressure on Kuwait to rein in political groups that hold substantial societal influence and political standing within the country.

The crackdown on dissent – the prosecution of dissidents who criticize GCC partners Saudi Arabia and the UAE online, and the legal judgements that fall disproportionately on Sunni Islamist and tribal factions (and occasionally Shia) – could be read as a response to regional pressures, at least in part.

But Kuwait likewise has a geopolitical interest in preserving maximum breathing space vis a vis both regional heavyweights, Iran and Saudi Arabia – avoiding the fate of neighboring Bahrain and certainly Qatar – thus, the strong motivation to prevent the hegemonic ambitions of both. The GCC summit in Kuwait City December 5-6 presents the best and perhaps last opportunity to draw all of the Gulf Arab states under one big tent.

Against all odds, the Kuwaitis managed to secure tentative commitments to attend from all of its Gulf neighbors. The foreign ministers’ meeting held ahead of the summit on December 4 brought together Saudi Foreign Minister Adel al-Jubeir and Qatari Foreign Minister Mohammed bin Abdulrahman al-Thani for the first time since Riyadh cut off all ties with Doha. Kuwaiti Foreign Minister Sabah al-Khalid al-Hamad al-Sabah told participants that the Gulf dispute would have to be addressed over the two days, even if not resolved. And in an attempt to turn the page, the Saudi paper Elaph reported that Kuwaiti Emir Sabah al-Ahmed al-Sabah had secured from Qatar’s Emir Tamim bin Hamad al-Thani a commitment to offer a public apology to Saudi King Salman bin Abdulaziz during the summit, which will include both private and public meetings.

Stiff Headwinds

The imperative for Kuwait to mediate its internal and regional conflicts is rooted in its character and interests. But the political headwinds are stiff. Saudi Arabia and the UAE appear determined to pursue their own vision of a transformed region with no space for the societal compromises and careful diplomacy of their forefathers. As Kuwait puts out the red carpet and unfurls the six flags of the GCC, the Saudi and Emirati joint project, both narrower and more regionally ambitious, is likely to set the terms.

Kristin Smith Diwan is a senior resident scholar at the Arab Gulf States Institute in Washington.