March 29, 2017

جاذبية التكنولوجيا في الخليج

رجل يتجوّل داخل أول مبنى إداري في العالم مطبوع بالكامل بتقنية الطباعة الثلاثية الأبعاد في دبي، في الإمارات العربية المتحدة، في 31 آذار /مارس 2016. (صورة من وكالة الأسوشيتد برس/ كمران جبريلي) التكنولوجيا
رجل يتجوّل داخل أول مبنى إداري في العالم مطبوع بالكامل بتقنية الطباعة الثلاثية الأبعاد في دبي، في الإمارات العربية المتحدة، في 31 آذار /مارس 2016. (صورة من وكالة الأسوشيتد برس/ كمران جبريلي)

باتت الدول الخليجية تعتمد على التكنولوجيا كوسيلة لإيداع الاستثمار الخارجي ومصدر لخلق فرص العمل ولتحقيق النمو الاقتصادي في الأسواق المحلية. وتشدّد الجهود المبذولة لتحقيق التنوع بعيدًا عن أسواق النفط والغاز، بشكل متزايد على أولويتين: فالأولى تتمثل في تفعيل نشاط القطاع الخاص الناشئ في كنف دول الخليج، أما الثانية فتتمثل في استثمار الصناديق الاستثمارية الحكومية على الصعيد العالمي في القطاعات ذات النمو الضخم التي ستولّد تدفقات مستمرة من الإيرادات.

بذلت المملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة وقطر جهودًا ملحوظة لنشر هذه الاستراتيجيات، ولاسيما عبر الاستثمارات الموجّهة نحو التكنولوجيا. وتتضمّن هذه الاستثمارات المحلية في الصناعات ذات الصلة بالتكنولوجيا كل من التجارة الإلكترونية والصناعات ذات التقنية العالية في قطاعات متنوعة، من الصناعات الدفاعية والنقل إلى الطاقة المتجددة. ولقد وُظّفت الإيداعات الخارجية في أسهم الشركات المدعّمة بالتكنولوجيا مثل “أوبر” على سبيل المثال (التي تمتلك فيها المملكة العربية السعودية وقطر حصصًا)، وفي الصناديق الاستثمارية الأكثر شمولية، بما في ذلك مجموعة “سوفت بنك” (التي تعتبر المملكة العربية السعودية من أبرز المساهمين فيها)، وقد تنضمّ قطر وربما شركة مبادلة للتنمية في أبوظبي أيضًا إلى مجموعة “سوفت بنك”.

يكثر اهتمام الاستثمار الخارجي بشكل ملحوظ في نشر الشركات التجارية القائمة على التكنولوجيا في كافة دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي. إن عملية شراء “أمازون” لموقع “سوق.كوم” (وهو موقع إلكتروني للبيع بالتجزئة أنشأه رجل أعمال سوري يقطن في دبي) التي حصلت مؤخرًا ما هي إلا خير دليل على زيادة اهتمام المستثمرين بالسوق المحلية ذات النمو المحتمل المخصصة لبيع المنتجات عبر الإنترنت. كما تعتبر اختبارًا لمدى قدرة الاقتصاد الخليجي الإقليمي على دعم بيئة متكاملة تجارية وريادية وقائمة على التكنولوجيا.

وتشكّل عملية إعادة اختراع عجلة شركات التكنولوجيا الناشئة مخاطرة بالنسبة إلى الاقتصادات الخليجية. فللخليج نسخته الخاصة من “أوبر”: شركة “كريم“، التي أسسها موظفون سابقون في شركة “مكنزي” في المنطقة ودعمتها شركة أسهم خاصة. والمثير للاهتمام هو أن دبي، باعتبارها بيئة متكاملة، كانت ركنًا من أركان توأمة الأفكار هذه وهذا الإبتكار والتمويل. (وللوافدين أيضًا دور في ذلك). تمتلك دبي أيضًا شركة “أرامكس”، وهي نسخة خاصة بها عن “فيديكس”، التي ستؤدي دورًا جوهريًا في توسع مشروع “أمازون”/”سوق” وفي إطلاق منافسه مشروع “نون” الذي لم يبصر النور بعد. يجب أن تكون المنافسة شريفة، ولكن “أمازون” قد تجد نفسها على ملعب الأفضلية فيه للدولة وللشركات التابعة للدولة.

وربما يكون تحديد وتقييم الأسهم التكنولوجية والصناديق الاستثمارية في الخارج أسهل من خلق قطاعات خاصة ناشئة ترعى مشاريع جديدة. فتتطلب عملية خلق بيئة تكنولوجية متكاملة، تتعايش فيها الشركات والأفكار والابتكارات الجديدة، رأس مال بشري ونقدي، بالإضافة إلى القدرة على التحرك. وقد تكون القدرة على التحرك في منتهى البساطة كأن يتمتع الفرد بحق العمل، والحق أيضًا في الفشل والبدء من جديد.

ولذلك، سيظل استقدام اليد العاملة المخضرمة جزءًا لا يتجزأ من التنمية الاقتصادية في الخليج. ففي الإمارات العربية المتحدة، ثمة توجّه إلى إعطاء الأحقية في تأشيرات العمل إلى العمال المتخصصين كجزء من الإصلاحات في سوق العمل. وثمة استثمار ضخم يوظّف في التدريب، ولاسيما عند تقاطع التكنولوجيا والأمن، بما في ذلك الشراكات مع “ريثيون” وغيرها من مقاولي الدفاع وأنظمة جامعية وطنية.

ستكون التعديلات على الأطر القانونية للشركات، ولاسيما في ما يتعلق بالإفلاس والحصول على التمويل، ضرورية في دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي. في المملكة العربية السعودية، من المفترض أن يكون إطلاق سوق التبادل الموازية “نمو” منبرًا تجاريًا للشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة الحجم يسمح لها أن تصبح شركة عامة الملكية وأن تسعى إلى استقطاب الاستثمار. حاولت “ناسداك دبي” ونجحت بعض الشيء في القيام بذلك منذ العام 2008. ولقد دخلت قوانين جديدة متعلقة بالإفلاس حيّز التنفيذ في الإمارات العربية المتحدة في أواخر العام 2016 بعد النظر في مشروع قانون تم تأجيله منذ العام 2011. وتجري حاليًا مناقشة مشروع قانون يتناول الإفلاس في المملكة العربية السعودية ومن المتوقع أن يتم إقراره هذا العام.

سيترتب على دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي أن تواجه التداعيات المترتبة عن حقوق الملكية الفكرية، وحقوق النشر والتأليف وقانون براءة الاختراع. فبالنسبة إلى بعض رواد الأعمال، إن القدرة على تشييد شركة في منطقة حرة، يطبّق فيها قانون تجاري وقانون تعاقد تابعين لسلطة خارجية (أي غالبًا الولايات المتحدة أو المملكة المتحدة)، ستكون امتيازًا محفّزًا على الرغم من أنها قد تعتبر مكلفة جدًا بالنسبة إلى الشركات الناشئة والشركات التجارية التي لا تستقطب استثمارًا ضخمًا.

لطالما كانت الدول الخليجية، على مر التاريخ، تستورد التكنولوجيا أكثر مما تبتكرها. إلا أن النماذج الاقتصادية الجديدة التي تتطلّع إليها هذه الدول تتطلب عملية إعادة تشكيل جذرية للعلاقات بين الدولة والسوق لتشجيع ريادة الأعمال، وريادة الأعمال المتخصصة جدًا في ميادين مكلفة جدًا. لبرنامج التحول الوطني في المملكة العربية السعودية أهداف واضحة لاستخدام الرقمنة وتكنولوجيا المعلومات في الرعاية الصحية والخدمات الحكومية، مما سيحفّز حتمًا النمو داخل عمليات تقديم الخدمات وشراء المعدات، ولكنه قد يكون من الأصعب تحفيز التطوير المحلي للتطبيقات والبرمجيات. وتساهم الصناعات الدفاعية الناشئة في دول المجلس، ولاسيما في الإمارات العربية المتحدة والمملكة العربية المتحدة في تحقيق هدفين: إبتكار قطاعات تركّز على التكنولوجيا تخلق فرص عمل للمواطنين الذين يتمتعون بمهارات عالية، وتحقيق الإكتفاء الذاتي الوطني في بعض مجالات الدفاع، أو على حد تعبير أحد كبار المسؤولين الإماراتيين :”الحفاظ دائمًا على مكانة متقدمة في مجال التكنولوجيا” للتنافس مع الخصوم الإقليميين. وبالتالي، فالتكنولوجيا والابتكار هما جزء من خطة البقاء الوطنية، في طريقة مشابهة كثيرًا لتلك التي تعاملت بها إسرائيل مع قطاعي التكنولوجيا والدفاع فيها.

 

وغالبًا ما تقدم الدولة بعض الدعم، في البيئتين التكنولوجية والإبتكارية، سواء ألعبت الدولة دور المستهلك الذي يبتاع المنتجات التكنولوجية الحديثة (ولاسيما في مجال الصناعات الأمنية والفضائية) أو إن اضطلعت بدور الحاضنة، وفي كثير من الأحيان إلى حد أن دفعت التكنولوجيا العسكرية إلى ابتكار اختراعات جديدة عبر التاريخ في ميداني الطيران والفضاء الجوي والاتصالات. وهذه هي الأطر المؤسسية التي وصفها علماء التاريخ الاقتصادي “بأنظمة الابتكار الوطنية“. ويمكن للبيئة، التي تتضمّن إطار السياسة بالإضافة إلى مجتمع العقول المفكّرة ودعم الشركات التجارية (من “المصانع الصغيرة“، والحاضنات، وسلاسل التوريد التقنية، إلى الخدمات الأساسية) أن تحدد احتمالات ابتكار فكرة جديدة واعتمادها في السوق.

وبالنسبة إلى دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي، ثمة عدد من المشاريع التي تديرها الدولة مكرّسة لبناء بيئة تكنولوجية. يعدد الجدول أدناه أبرز الحاضنات التي تموّلها الحكومات في مجلس التعاون الخليجي.

إن الجمع بين الأولويات الأمنية القومية وسياسة سوق العمل والإصلاحات الاقتصادية التي تولي الأولوية لتنمية القطاع الخاص يتوقف على الجهود التي تبذلها الدول منفردة لتطوير أنظمة وطنية مبتكرة.

ماركت واتش هي مدونة أسبوعية تهدف إلى توسيع المعرفة بمنطقة التقاء السياسة والمال في دول الخليج العربية وهي من إعداد كارين إ. يونغ الباحثة المقيمة الأولى في معهد دول الخليج العربية في واشنطن.

March 29, 2017

The Lure of Technology in the Gulf

A man walks inside the world’s first functional office building made using 3-D printer technology in Dubai, United Arab Emirates, May 31, 2016. (AP Photo/Kamran Jebreili)

Gulf states are turning to technology as a placement for outward investment and as a source of generating jobs and economic growth in domestic markets. The diversification effort away from oil and gas markets has increasingly focused on two priorities: first, to invigorate nascent private sector activity within Gulf states; second, to place state investment funds internationally in high growth sectors that will generate a steady stream of revenue.

There have recently been some notable efforts by Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, and Qatar to deploy these strategies, specifically through technology-focused investments. These domestic investments in technology-related industries include e-commerce and high tech manufacturing in diverse sectors, from defense industries and transport to renewable energy. External placements have been in equity investments in technology-enabled companies such as Uber (in which Qatar and Saudi Arabia hold positions), as well as more general investment funds, including the new SoftBank fund, of which Saudi Arabia is a key stakeholder; Qatar and possibly Abu Dhabi’s Mubadala may be next to join the fund.

There is significant foreign investment interest in the deployment of technology-based businesses across Gulf Cooperation Council states. The recent Amazon acquisition of Souq.com (an online retailer created by a Syrian entrepreneur in Dubai) is a prime example of increasing investor interest in the potential growth market of the region for online products. It is also a test of how the regional Gulf economy can support a technology and entrepreneurial ecosystem.

Reinventing the tech startup wheel is a risk to Gulf economies. The Gulf has its own version of Uber: Careem, founded by former McKinsey employees in the region and supported by a local private equity firm. Interestingly, Dubai, as an ecosystem, was essential to this pairing of ideas, innovation, and financing. (Migrants are also part of that story.) Dubai also has Aramex, its own version of FedEx, which will be central to the growth of the Amazon/Souq venture and yet to be released rival Noon. The competition should be healthy, but Amazon could also be walking onto a playing field in which the state and state-linked firms have some advantage.

It is perhaps easier to identify technology stocks and investment funds abroad than to create nascent private sectors that nurture new ventures. The creation of a technology ecosystem – where new businesses, ideas, and innovations coexist – requires human and monetary capital, as well as mobility. Mobility can be as simple as the right to work, but also the right to fail and start again.

To that end, the import of highly skilled foreign labor will continue to be integral to Gulf economic development. In the UAE, there is some movement on labor market reforms to prioritize visas for highly skilled workers. There is also significant investment in training, specifically at the intersection of technology and security, including partnerships with Raytheon and other defense contractors and national university systems.

Changes in legal frameworks for businesses, especially in bankruptcy and access to finance, will be essential across the GCC states. In Saudi Arabia, the development of a new parallel exchange market, Nomu, is meant to be a trading platform for small and medium-sized businesses to go public and seek investment. Nasdaq Dubai has attempted, with some success, to do the same since 2008. New bankruptcy laws came into effect in the UAE in late 2016 after consideration of a draft law that lagged since 2011. A draft bankruptcy law is under discussion in Saudi Arabia, and is expected later this year.

There are implications for intellectual property rights, copyright, and patent law, which GCC states will need to confront. For some entrepreneurs, the ability to form a company within a free zone, where commercial and contract law from an outside authority (usually the United States or United Kingdom) applies, will be an attractive advantage, though it can also be very expensive for startups and firms without significant investment.

Gulf states have traditionally been importers rather than innovators in new technology. However, the new economy models these states envision require a wholesale reconfiguration of state-market relations to encourage entrepreneurship, but also very specialized entrepreneurship in very expensive fields. Saudi Arabia’s National Transformation Program has explicit targets for the use of digitization and information technology in health care and government services, which will certainly spur growth in the provision of services and purchase of equipment, but it may be harder to ignite the localized development of applications and software. The budding defense industries of the GCC states, particularly in the UAE and Saudi Arabia, serve two goals: to create technology-intensive sectors with high-skilled job opportunities for citizens; and to build national self-sufficiency in some areas of defense, or, in the words of a senior Emirati official, “to always have a technology edge” against regional adversaries. Technology and innovation are, therefore, part of a national survival strategy, in much of the same way that Israel has approached its technology and defense sectors.

In technology and innovation ecosystems, there is also usually some state support, either as a consumer of new technology products (especially in the security and aerospace industries) or as an incubator, often so much so that military technology has driven innovation historically in the aerospace and communications fields. These are institutional settings that economic historians describe as “national systems of innovation.” The ecosystem, which includes the policy framework along with the community of working minds and supporting businesses (from “micro-factories,” incubators, technical supply chains, to basic services) can define the possibilities of bringing an innovative idea to market.

For the GCC states, there are a number of state-directed projects devoted to building a technology ecosystem. The chart below lists key government-funded incubators across the GCC.

Sources: KFED, MBRCGI, QBIC, BBIC, Riyada

The joining of national security priorities, labor market policy, and economic reforms prioritizing private sector development will depend on efforts by individual states to grow national systems of innovation.

Market Watch is a blog conceived by AGSIW Senior Resident Scholar Karen E. Young seeking to provide insights from the crossroads of Gulf politics and finance.