February 9, 2018

تأخير الدفعات المالية: المخاطر الاقتصادية لممارسات التعاقد الخليجية

موقع بناء في دبي، الإمارات العربية المتحدة، (صورة من أسوشييتد برس/ كمران جبريلي)

إذا كنت تعمل في مجال البناء وكان زبونك دولة خليجية، فتأكد أن تحصل على أجرك مسبقًا.

لقد أدى انهيار شركة دولية كبرى للبناء والمقاولات، لها العديد من المشاريع في دول الخليج العربية، إلى التسبب بالقلق في هذا القطاع من الصناعة. فقد فشلت شركة البناء البريطانية كاريليون، في تأمين التمويل لمواصلة عملياتها. وعلى غرار مجموعة بن لادن وشركة سعودي أوجيه، أثبتت كاريليون أن بناء المشاريع الكبرى في الخليج -مهما كان مجزيًا ومركزًا على خطط التنمية التي تتولاها الدولة- مليء بالعثرات.

وواجهت كاريليون صعوبات في تسليم عقودها مع دائرة الصحة الوطنية في المملكة المتحدة، كما واجهت أيضًا مشاكل في تحصيل الفواتير غير المدفوعة من عملاء الحكومة في دول الخليج. لقد كانت شركة عملاقة مترامية الأطراف في مجال البناء والبنية التحتية (بما في ذلك توزيع الطاقة)، وتقديم الخدمات في مجال الرعاية الصحية، وإدارة المرافق في المملكة المتحدة وكندا، وجميع أنحاء الشرق الأوسط. في أواخر صيف عام 2017، سعت كاريليون للخروج من سلسلة من المشاريع المشتركة في الخليج. كانت شراكاتها الإقليمية تشمل: الفطيم كاريليون في الإمارات العربية المتحدة، كاريليون السعودية، كاريليون قطر LLC، وكاريليون علوي في عُمان.

قبل إفلاسها والتصفية القسرية كشركة عامة مسجلة في المملكة المتحدة في 15 يناير/ كانون الثاني، كانت الشركة تستخدم أكثر من 43،000 عامل في جميع أنحاء العالم. وتفيد التقارير بأن فشل جهود كاريليون في استرداد أكثر من 276 مليون دولار من الفواتير غير المدفوعة من مشاريع البناء لكأس العالم في قطر قد يكون بمثابة القشة التي قصمت ظهر البعير كما يقول المثل. فشهور من السعي لتحصيل المستحقات واستخدام الإدارة السابقة للشركة من الواضح أنه كان لغرض دعوة حكومات الخليج إلى الوفاء بالمبالغ الموعودة، وكل ذلك لم ينقذ الشركة. وعلى حد تعبير المدير التنفيذي السابق، ريتشارد هوسون، فإنه “كان يشعر وكأنه مأمور، كل مهمته جمع النقود”.

ومع ذلك، فإن صعوبات تحصيل الفواتير في قطر تشير إلى قضية أكبر في الإنفاق الدوري المعتمد على النفط وممارسات التعاقد الدارجة في دول الخليج. كثيرًا ما تدفع الفواتير في وقت متأخر، وغالبًا ما تحاول الحكومات التفاوض مجددًا بشأن شروط العقود (وحتى التصاميم والمواد) بعد الانتهاء من العمل. وهذا جزئيًّا هو فن التفاوض في مجال الأعمال الخليجية، ولكنه أيضًا ممارسة تؤدي إلى اضطراب كبير للاقتصادات المحلية. وزد على ذلك، فإن الصعوبات في قطاع البناء تشير إلى تحديات في جهود التنويع الحكومية في جميع أنحاء دول الخليج لتنمية القطاع الخاص وتشجيع المنافسة بين الشركات، بما في ذلك الشركات المملوكة للأجانب في مجال الهندسة والبناء.

لقد أدى التباطؤ في النشاط الاقتصادي، وخاصة في التعاقد الحكومي منذ عام 2015، إلى وجود خط موحد في مشاريع جديدة، ما أضعف العديد من المقاولين في المنطقة.

في الواقع، ونظرًا لأن عائدات النفط لا تزال تشكل القوة الدافعة للإنفاق الحكومي، فإن ثقل الإنفاق المتدني ما زال يتردد صداه في اقتصادات الخليج. وفي عام 2016، انخفضت عائدات المشاريع، الممولة من الحكومة والقطاع الخاص، بنسبة 32 في المئة عن العام السابق، كما انخفضت أكثر بنسبة 8 في المئة في عام 2017، وفقًا لما ذكرته شركة ميد (MEED). وبلغت قيمة العقود التي أبرمها مجلس التعاون الخليجي في عام 2017 ما مجموعه 108 مليارات دولار، وبنسبة تصل إلى 40 في المئة من المنح تركزت في مجال البناء، ويليه النقل والطاقة والنفط والغاز.

تقوم الدولة إلى حد كبير بتنفيذ وتمويل هذه المشاريع المتعلقة بالبنية التحتية والعقارية، وهي الدعامة الأساسية للنشاط الاقتصادي الخليجي ونماذج التنمية على مدى العقدين الماضيين. إن الوضع الطبيعي الجديد، كما هو موضح في تقرير صدر مؤخرًا عن شركة ميد MEED وبنك المشرق حول الصناعة، هو “عدم وجود فرص لمشاريع جديدة، ما أدى إلى تقليص السيولة النقدية في مجال البناء، وبالتالي زاد من أثره المدمر عن ذي قبل بسبب المشكلة المتأصلة والمتمثلة في تأخير دفعات المقاولين والموردين وتأجيلها”.

ونظرًا لكون الكثير من النشاط الاقتصادي في دول الخليج يعتمد على الإنفاق الحكومي على البنية التحتية والمقاولات، فإن التأخير في المدفوعات في هذه المشاريع الكبيرة يصل إلى الموردين المحليين والآلاف من العمال الأجانب الذين يعتمدون على الأجور لإرسال التحويلات إلى أوطانهم. ووفقًا لبحث أجرته MEED و HSBC، فإن الإنفاق الاستثماري الرأسمالي في دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي ما زال يعاني من الركود (باستثناء بعض التحفيز مؤخرًا من قبل المملكة العربية السعودية). وعلى مستوى دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي، هناك أيضًا القليل من التوسع في الائتمان للقطاع الخاص منذ عام 2015.

لقد أصبح تأثير ذلك على المقاولين قاسيًا. فمع القليل من فرص العمل الجديدة ونقص التمويل، عانى معظم القطاع من الشُح. أما الشركات التي نجت فقد خضعت لعمليات إعادة الهيكلة الصعبة من أجل الصمود في وجه التراجع في نشاط قطاع البناء. ولما كانت هذه الشركات تواجه مشاكل في السيولة النقدية، فقد كان هناك اهتمام قوي من الحكومات بالاستيلاء على الأصول وتأميم عملياتها. وعلاوة على ذلك، فإن ظهور دوافع سياسية لتقليص دور كبار اللاعبين في قطاع المقاولات، لا سيما في السوق السعودية، قد أضعف المنافسة وتراكمت آثاره في أسواق العمل، ما ترك آلاف العمال دون أجر لتنقطع بهم السبل.

في المملكة العربية السعودية، تشير عملية استيلاء الدولة على أصول كل من مجموعة بن لادن وسعودي أوجيه إلى حالة الاندماج التي تطال هذا القطاع، وهو ما يعود بالفائدة على التطورات المخطط لها في المستقبل، كما هو الحال في نيوم. ويتم الآن منح العقود الأولى للبدء ببناء نيوم، بما في ذلك القصور الجديدة للأسرة المالكة. وقد حصلت مجموعة بن لادن (وملكيتها الجديدة للدولة) على أحد عقود القصور هذه. ومن المتوقع أن تجتذب نيوم استثمارات عامة وخاصة قد تصل إلى 500 مليار دولار.

وإذا أصبحت الحكومة السعودية، من خلال صندوق الاستثمار العام (أو ربما من خلال الشركات الجديدة المرتبطة بالقيادة السعودية) المالك الرئيسي لكل من عمالقة البناء ومزودي الخدمات، فإنها ستتعامل بشكل أساسي مع عقودها الذاتية في التطورات الكبيرة الجديدة. في الحقيقة، إن النمو المتوقع في العائدات المتعلقة بالبناء في دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي في السنوات المقبلة محصور إلى حد كبير في المملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة. ووفقًا لما ذكرته MEED، هناك مخطط لعقود لمشروع قريب بـ 2 تريليون دولار أميركي، ولكن لم يطرح حتى الآن، في دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي ابتداء من عام 2018. منها 1.2 تريليون دولار في المملكة العربية السعودية وأكثر من 700 مليار دولار في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، وبعضها مرتبط بمشروع معرض 2020 في دبي.

وكما يوثق مشروع محور البناء ميد-مشرق، فإن قطاع البناء هو أمر ضروري للاستقرار الاقتصادي لدول مجلس التعاون الخليجي. فله أكبر حصة من العمالة في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة في عام 2016، بلغ عدد موظفي البناء 1.2 مليون شخص، أي حوالي 20 في المئة من القوى العاملة. ومن الملاحظ أن الرواتب في مجال البناء منخفضة وتذهب إلى المهاجرين الأجانب ذوي المهارات المتدنية، ومع ذلك فهي لا تزال تمثل حوالي 13.6 مليار دولار سنويًّا، أو 12 في المئة من الإجمالي الوطني في الإمارات العربية المتحدة. أما سوق البناء السعودي فهو أكبر بكثير، حيث هنالك حوالي 144 مليار دولار مشاريع بناء ونقل قيد التنفيذ. ومع ذلك ومن حيث نصيب الفرد، فإن قطر هي السوق الأكبر في الإنفاق على البناء، حيث تبلغ تكاليف مشاريع البناء والنقل حوالي 32 ألف دولار لكل شخص في الإمارة. وعلى سبيل المقارنة، يبلغ نصيب الفرد من الإنفاق على البناء في إيران نحو 320 دولارًا. وتأتي أعمال البناء والمقاولات الأوسع نطاقًا في المرتبة الثانية بعد إنتاج النفط والغاز في تحديد صحة اقتصادات الخليج. ونكرر مرة أخرى، أن الحد من المنافسة والتدخلات الحكومية يعملان على إضعاف قطاع البناء – إما بالطرق السياسية أو بسبب عدم الوفاء بالتزامات الدفع في الوقت المناسب.

إن أهمية التمويل المضمون خارجيًّا، سواء من خلال مصارف الاستيراد والتصدير أم بتمويل من طرف ثالث في الشراكات بين القطاعين العام والخاص، أمر حيوي. فضمان استقرار شركات القطاع الخاص ومساعدتها على تثليث اعتمادها على التعاقدات الحكومية والسيولة النقدية والوصول إلى أسواق رأس المال لن يؤدي فقط إلى خلق قطاع أكثر كفاءة وشفافية، بل سيساعد أيضًا على الحد من التقلبات في أسواق العمل، ولا سيما العمال ذوي الأجر المتدني وغير المحصنين. وعلى النقيض من ذلك، فإن تركيز ملكية شركات قطاع البناء في يد الحكومات سيؤدي إلى مزيد من التأخر في مواعيد السداد، وتشجيع ممارسات المُناقصين المتنفذين، و”الرشوة” التي كانت جزءًا من الممارسات التجارية والفساد الراسخة في المنطقة. بالنسبة لشركة كاريليون، فقد فات الأوان؛ ولكن بالنسبة للشركات الخاصة في الخليج والوافدين الجدد كمستثمرين ومالكين أجانب، فإن الفرصة متاحة للراغبين في المجازفة، مع توخي الحذر في تمويل مشاريعهم.

ماركت واتش مدونةٌ تأسست على يد الباحثة المقيمة الأولى في معهد دول الخليج العربية في واشنطن كارين إ. يونغ، وتهدف إلى توسيع المعرفة بمنطقة التقاء السياسة والمال في دول الخليج العربية.

February 9, 2018

Payment Delayed: The Economic Risk of Gulf Contracting Practices

Dubai Construction
Construction zone in Dubai, United Arab Emirates (AP Photo/Kamran Jebreili)

If you are in the construction business and a Gulf government is your client, be sure to be paid in advance.

The collapse of a major international construction and contracting firm, with many projects in the Gulf Arab states, has rattled the industry. Carillion, the British construction firm, failed to secure financing to continue its operations. Like the Bin Laden Group and Saudi Oger, Carillion has proved that the construction of megaprojects in the Gulf, however lucrative and central to state-led development plans, is full of pitfalls.

Carillion had troubles in delivering its contracts with the National Health Service in the United Kingdom, but it also faced problems in collecting unpaid bills from government clients in the Gulf states. The company was a sprawling giant in construction, infrastructure (including power distribution), service provision in health care, and facilities management in the U.K. and Canada, and across the Middle East. Late in the summer of 2017, Carillion sought to exit a series of joint ventures in the Gulf. Its regional partnerships have included: Al-Futtaim Carillion in the United Arab Emirates, Carillion Saudi Arabia, Carillion Qatar LLC, and Carillion Alawi in Oman.

Just before its forced liquidation and insolvency as a publicly listed company in the U.K. on January 15, the company employed more than 43,000 workers worldwide. Reports that Carillion’s efforts to recover more than $276 million in unpaid bills from construction projects for the World Cup in Qatar failed may have been the straw that broke the proverbial camel’s back. Months of chasing down receivables and hiring former management explicitly for the purpose of calling on Gulf governments to make good on promised payments did not save the company. According to the former CEO, Richard Howson, he “felt like a bailiff, just to try and collect cash.”

However, the billing difficulties in Qatar point to a larger issue in cyclical oil-based spending and contracting practices pervasive in the Gulf states. Bills are very frequently paid late, and often governments try to renegotiate terms of contracts (and even designs and materials) after work has been completed. This is partly the art of the negotiation in Gulf business, but it is also a very disruptive practice to local economies. Moreover, difficulties in the construction sector point to challenges in government diversification efforts across the Gulf states to grow the private sector and encourage competition among firms, including foreign-owned firms in engineering and construction.

The slowdown in economic activity, particularly in government contracting since 2015, has created a flat line in new projects, which has debilitated numerous contractors in the region.

Gulf Projects Index

In effect, because oil revenue continues to be the driving force of government expenditure, the unwinding of reduced spending is still reverberating across Gulf economies. In 2016, project awards, both government and private funded, fell 32 percent from the previous year, and further declined by 8 percent in 2017, according to MEED. The value of Gulf Cooperation Council contract awards in 2017 was $108 billion, with as much as 40 percent of awards in construction, followed by transport, power, oil, and gas.

These are largely state-led and state-financed infrastructure and real estate projects, the mainstay of Gulf economic activity and development models for the last two decades. The new normal, as described in a recent report on the industry by MEED and Mashreq bank, is a “lack of new project opportunities [that] has led to a squeeze on construction industry cash flow, which has been made all the more damaging by the endemic problem of delayed and late payments to contractors and suppliers.”

Because so much of economic activity in the Gulf states is driven by government spending on infrastructure and contracting, a delay in payments in these large projects trickles down to local suppliers and the thousands of foreign laborers who rely on wages to send remittances back home. According to research by MEED and HSBC, capital investment spending across the GCC states remains stagnant (minus some recent stimulus by Saudi Arabia). GCC-wide since 2015, there is also little expansion of credit to the private sector.

The effect on contractors has been fierce. With little new work and less access to finance, there has been a starving out of much of the sector. The firms that have survived have gone through difficult restructurings to weather the downturn in construction activity. As these firms face cash flow problems, there has been a strong interest from governments to seize assets and nationalize operations. Moreover, the emergence of political motivations to diminish the role of major players in the contracting sector, especially within the Saudi market, has further weakened competition and created add-on effects in labor markets, with thousands of workers left unpaid and stranded.

In Saudi Arabia, the state seizure of assets of both the Bin Laden Group and Saudi Oger point to a consolidation in the sector, much to the future advantage of state-planned developments, as in Neom. The first contracts are being awarded to start building Neom, including new palaces for the royal family. Bin Laden Group (and its new state ownership) has received one of these palace contracts. Neom is expected to attract public and private investment upwards of $500 billion.

If the Saudi government, through its Public Investment Fund (or perhaps through newly created firms linked to the Saudi leadership) becomes the major owner of both construction giants and service providers, it will essentially be self-dealing contracts for major new developments. In fact, where there is expected growth in construction-related awards in the GCC states in the coming years is largely isolated in Saudi Arabia and the UAE. According to MEED, there is a $2 trillion project pipeline of planned, but as yet unawarded, contracts in the GCC starting in 2018. Of these, $1.2 trillion are in Saudi Arabia and more than $700 billion in the UAE, some linked to the Expo 2020 project in Dubai.

Value of Planned, Unawarded GCC Projects

As the MEED-Mashreq Construction Hub project documents, the construction sector is vital to the economic stability of the GCC. It accounts for the largest share of employment in the UAE; in 2016, construction jobs employed 1.2 million people, or about 20 percent of the workforce. Salaries in construction are notoriously low and go to low-skilled foreign migrants, yet they still account for about $13.6 billion per year, or 12 percent of the national total in the UAE. The Saudi construction market is much bigger, with about $144 billion of construction and transport projects underway. Per capita, however, Qatar is the largest market in construction expenditure, with about $32,000 of construction and transport projects underway per person in the emirate. By comparison, per capita construction expenditure in Iran is about $320. Construction and broader contracting businesses are second only to oil and gas production in determining the health of Gulf economies. More and more, the construction sector is weakened by limited competition and government intervention – either by political means or by failure to meet payment obligations in a timely way.

The importance of externally guaranteed financing, either through import-export banks or third party financing in public-private partnerships, is vital. Securing the stability of private sector firms, and helping them triangulate dependence on government contracting, cash flow, and access to capital markets, will not only create a more efficient and transparent sector, but also help reduce volatility in labor markets, especially for vulnerable low-wage workers. Conversely, a concentration in ownership in the sector will further fuel delayed payment schedules, encourage practices of connected tenders and “kick-backs” that have been part of established, yet corrupt, business practice in the region. For Carillion, it is too late; but for private firms in the Gulf and new entrants as foreign investors and owners, the pipeline of opportunity exists for those willing to take risk, while being cautious in their project financing.

Market Watch is a blog conceived by AGSIW Senior Resident Scholar Karen E. Young seeking to provide insights from the crossroads of Gulf politics and finance.