February 9, 2017

بوتين يرفض الانحياز رغم الضغوطات في ظلّ تصاعد التوتر بين واشنطن وطهران

الرئيس الروسي فلاديمير بوتين، من اليسار، متحدثًا مع الرئيس الإيراني حسن روحاني خلال حفل توقيع في إطار منتدى الدول المصدّرة للغاز في طهران، إيران في 23 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2015. (الصورة لوكالة أسوشيتد برس/ بعدسة ألكساندر زيمليانيشينكو).

يسعى الرئيس دونالد ج. ترامب إلى تحسين العلاقات بين روسيا والولايات المتحدة ويعمل أيضًا على وضع سياسة تجاه إيران أكثر صرامةً من تلك التي اعتمدتها إدارة أوباما. ولكن روسيا التي يرغب ترامب في إقامة علاقات أفضل معها تعمل بشكلٍ وثيق مع إيران ولا سيّما في سوريا. ورحّب الرئيس الروسي فلاديمير بوتين بالاهتمام الذي أعرب عنه ترامب في تحسين العلاقات الروسية الأمريكية، ولكنه أوضح معارضته لسياسة الإدارة الأمريكية الجديدة الصارمة تجاه إيران.

وأعلن مستشار الأمن القومي لدى ترامب، مايكل فلين، أن التجارب الصاروخية التي أجرتها إيران في 29 كانون الثاني/يناير تنتهك قرار مجلس الأمن التابع للأمم المتحدة 2231 الذي يحظّر على طهران اختبار الصواريخ التي يمكنها أن تحمل رؤوسًا نووية. وأعلن فلين أن الولايات المتحدة “توجّه تحذيرًا لإيران” نتيجة ذلك. وأُعلن عن بعض العقوبات الأمريكية المحدودة وتم التوضيح أنه من الممكن فرض عقوبات إضافية غير محددة.

وردّ المعلّقون الروس مؤكّدين أن التجارب الصاروخية الإيرانية لم تنتهك قرار الأمم المتحدة وأن مجلس الأمن (الذي تتمتع فيه روسيا بحق الفيتو) وحده له صلاحية تحديد ما إذا انتهكت إيران القرار وليس حكومة الولايات المتحدة وحدها. وشدّد الخبراء الروس على أنه بالرغم من احتمالات تحسّن العلاقات الروسية الأمريكية، لن تشارك موسكو في الجهود التي تبذلها إدارة ترامب لاحتواء إيران.

واعترض المسؤولون الروس أيضًا على إعلان ترامب أن إيران هي “الدولة الإرهابية الأولى”. وصرّح المتحدّث باسم الرئاسة الروسية ديمتري بيسكوف أن روسيا لا تعتبر إيران دولةً إرهابية وتسعى إلى تعاون إضافي معها. وأشار وزير الخارجية الروسي سيرغي لافروف بدوره إلى “مساهمة إيران في الصراع ضد تنظيم “الدولة الإسلامية”” ولفت إلى “ضرورة مشاركة إيران في جهودنا المشتركة” لإنشاء تحالف ضدّ الإرهاب.

وفي 5 شباط/فبراير، ذكر مقال في صحيفة “وول ستريت جورنال” أن مسؤولين كبار من البيت الأبيض وأوروبا والعالم العربي أفادوا بأن إدارة ترامب تسعى إلى التفرقة بين روسيا وإيران. وأتى الردّ على لسان نائب وزير الخارجية الروسي سيرغي ريابكوف الذي قال إنّ صحيفة “وول ستريت جورنال” وغيرها من المصادر الإخبارية “لا تفعل شيئًا غير البحث عن أسباب لتكهّنات لا أساس لها وتلميحات باطلة وتحاول تسميم الأجواء”. (في الواقع أن المقال المذكور لفت إلى أنه “سيكون من الصعب جدًا إقناع السيد بوتين بالتخلّي عن طهران”).

ولكن بالرغم من رفض موسكو الواضح لسياسة إدارة ترامب الأكثر تشددًا تجاه إيران أتى ردّ روسيا معتدلًا بشكل ملحوظ. وبدلًا من إدانة إدارة ترامب، اعتمد المسؤولون والمعلّقون الروس لهجةً متأسفة. وبالفعل، أفاد ريابكوف أن موسكو “تأسف” حيال العقوبات الجديدة التي فرضها ترامب على إيران. وحذّر أيضًا من أنّ محاولة إعادة التفاوض بشأن الملف النووي الإيراني “خطيرة جدًا” وغير ضرورية أيضًا نظرًا لفعالية الاتفاق. وحذّر قائلًا “لا تحاولوا إصلاح ما ليس معطّلًا”.

وأشار لافروف إلى أن الولايات المتحدة وروسيا وإيران هي من الجانب نفسه في التصدّي لتنظيم “الدولة الإسلامية في العراق والشام”. وفي حين أُفيد أن إيران لم ترغب في انضمام الولايات المتحدة إلى محادثات السلام السورية التي ترعاها روسيا وإيران وتركيا في الأستانة في كازاخستان، أرادت روسيا إشراكها (ولكن “على أساس الاحترام المتبادل” ليس إلا).

ولفت السفير الروسي في إيران ليفان جاغريان إلى “قلق” موسكو من تصاعد حدّة الخطاب بين واشنطن وطهران وأفاد أن “روسيا ستبذل كل ما في وسعها لخفض حدّة التوترات”. ومع ذلك، وضّح أيضًا أن موسكو لم تعرض أن تتوسّط بين واشنطن وطهران بما أن إيران لم تطلب منها ذلك.

وبعكس ما أملت به إدارة ترامب، من الواضح أن بوتين ليس مندفعًا للوقوف إلى جانب الولايات المتحدة ضدّ إيران من أجل تحسين العلاقات الروسية الأمريكية. ومن جهةٍ أخرى، لفتت روسيا إلى معارضتها نهج ترامب في التعامل مع طهران ولكنها لم تشر إلى أنها ستدافع عن إيران ضدّ الولايات المتحدة. وبدلًا من ذلك، يبدو أن المسؤولين الروس يدعون الطرفين إلى الحفاظ على الهدوء وحتى الاعتراف بأنهما يملكان مصالح مشتركة (مع روسيا أيضًا) من دون تحديد أي خطط للحؤول دون التدهور الإضافي في العلاقات الإيرانية الأمريكية.

فماذا يعني ذلك إذًا بالنسبة لسياسة بوتين في ما يتعلّق بتدهور العلاقات الإيرانية الأمريكية؟ قد يسعى بوتين إلى تفادي تورّط روسيا في أي مواجهة إيرانية أمريكية فيعبّر عن تعاطفه مع إيران ويواصل في الوقت عينه سعيه إلى إقامة علاقات جيدة مع ترامب. وقد يخيّب ذلك آمال واشنطن وطهران على حدّ سواء ولكن سيكون لكل منهما مصلحة في التودد إلى بوتين لضمان عدم انحيازه إلى الطرف الآخر.

وبالنسبة لبوتين، قد تستفيد روسيا من هذا النهج لا من ناحية إبقائها بعيدة عن أي صراع محتمل أو فعلي فحسب بل لأنه يعطي أيضًا طرفيه الرئيسيين حافزًا قويًا للتغاضي عن السياسات الروسية التي يعارضانها (مثل سياسة روسيا تجاه أوكرانيا بالنسبة للولايات المتحدة والغرب والتعاون الروسي مع إسرائيل والأكراد ودول مجلس التعاون الخليجي بالنسبة لإيران). ولا تقل أهمية حقيقة أنه كلما ازداد تركيز إدارة ترامب على إعاقة إيران، قلّ الوقت والاهتمام الذي ستخصّصه للتصدي للأعمال الروسية في مكان آخر.

ففي حين قد يأمل ترامب أن يحثّ احتمال تحسّن العلاقات الروسية الأمريكية بوتين على الابتعاد عن إيران يفضّل هذا الأخير الوضع الذي تحاول فيه كل من واشنطن وطهران استرضائه حتى لو ازدادت العدائية بينهما.

مارك ن. كاتز هو زميل غير مقيم في معهد دول الخليج العربية في واشنطن. يوجّه كاتز شكرًا خاصًا إلى الطالبتين في جامعة جورج مايسون، إلينور هايز وكايلن فيتالي، لمساعدتهما في البحث.

February 9, 2017

Putin Resists Pressure to Take Sides as U.S.-Iran Tensions Grow

Russian President Vladimir Putin, left, speaks with Iranian President Hassan Rouhani as they attend a signing ceremony during the Gas Exporting Countries Forum in Tehran, Iran, Nov. 23, 2015. (AP Photo/Alexander Zemlianichenko)

President Donald J. Trump is seeking an improved Russian-U.S. relationship. He is also pursuing a harsher policy toward Iran than that of the Obama administration. But Russia, with whom Trump seeks better relations, is cooperating closely with Iran, especially in Syria. Russian President Vladimir Putin has welcomed Trump’s interest in improved Russian-U.S. relations, but has made clear he opposes the new U.S. administration’s tough policy on Iran.

Trump’s national security advisor, Michael Flynn, declared that an Iranian missile test on January 29 violated U.N. Security Council resolution 2231, which forbids Tehran from testing missiles that can carry nuclear warheads. Flynn declared that the United States was “putting Iran on notice” as a result. Some limited U.S. sanctions were announced, and it was made clear that unspecified additional ones could be imposed.

Russian commentators reacted by asserting the Iranian missile test did not violate the U.N. resolution, and that only the U.N. Security Council (where Russia has a veto) has the authority to determine whether Iran violated the resolution, not the U.S. government alone. Russian experts stressed that despite the prospects for improved Russian-U.S. relations, Moscow would not join the Trump administration’s efforts to contain Iran.

Russian officials also pushed back against Trump’s declaration that Iran is the “number one terrorist state.” Russian Presidential Spokesman Dmitry Peskov stated that Russia does not regard Iran as a terrorist state, and seeks further cooperation with the country. Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov went further noting Iran’s “contribution to the struggle against the Islamic State,” and stating that “Iran must be part of our common efforts” in creating a coalition against terrorism.

On February 5, a Wall Street Journal article reported that senior White House, European, and Arab officials said that the Trump administration is seeking to drive a wedge between Russia and Iran. In response, Russian Deputy Foreign Minister Sergei Ryabkov claimed The Wall Street Journal and other news sources “do nothing but look for reasons for unfounded speculation and groundless insinuations and attempts to poison the atmosphere.” (The Wall Street Journal article actually did note that “persuading Mr. Putin to break with Tehran would be immensely difficult.”)

But despite Moscow’s obvious disapproval of the Trump administration’s tougher line on Iran, Russia’s response to it has also been remarkably moderate. Instead of condemning the Trump administration, Russian officials and observers have adopted a regretful tone. Indeed, Ryabkov stated how Moscow “regrets” the new sanctions that Trump imposed on Iran. He further warned that it is not only “too risky” to try to renegotiate the Iranian nuclear accord, but also that it is unnecessary since it is working. “Don’t try to fix what is not broken,” he warned.

Lavrov pointed out that the United States, Russia, and Iran are all on the same side in opposing the Islamic State in Iraq and the Levant. And while Iran reportedly did not want the United States to join in the Russian/Iranian/Turkish-sponsored Syrian peace talks in Astana, Kazakhstan, Russia did want it involved (but only “on the basis of mutual respect”).

The Russian ambassador to Iran, Levan Dzhagaryan, noted that Moscow is “concerned” over the escalation of rhetoric between Washington and Tehran, and stated that “Russia will do everything in its power to lower the degree of tensions.” Still, he also made clear that Moscow was not offering to mediate between Washington and Tehran since Iran had not asked it to do so.

Contrary to what the Trump administration may have hoped, Putin is clearly not rushing to side with the United States against Iran for the sake of an improved Russian-U.S. relationship. On the other hand, while Moscow is indicating that it disagrees with Trump’s approach to Tehran, Russia is not signaling that it will defend Iran against the United States either. Instead, Russian officials seem to be calling on both sides to remain calm and even recognize that they have common interests (along with Russia), but not indicating plans to prevent further deterioration in Iranian-U.S. relations.

What, then, does this suggest about Putin’s policy with regard to a deteriorating Iranian-U.S. relationship? Putin may seek to avoid Russian entanglement in any Iranian-U.S. confrontation, expressing sympathy for Iran while at the same time continuing to pursue good relations with Trump. This would be disappointing to both Washington and Tehran, but each would have an interest in courting Putin to ensure that he did not side with the other.

For Putin, this approach would be useful not just for keeping Russia out of a potential, or even actual, conflict, but also to give the protagonists in it strong incentive to overlook Russian policies that each disagrees with (such as Moscow’s policy toward Ukraine for the United States and the West, and Russian cooperation with Israel, the Kurds, and the Gulf Cooperation Council states for Iran). Just as important, the more that the Trump administration focuses on thwarting Iran, the less time and attention it will have for countering Russian actions elsewhere.

Thus, while Trump may hope that the prospect of an improved Russian-U.S. relationship will induce Putin to distance himself from Iran, Putin prefers a situation in which both Washington and Tehran seek to propitiate him even if their hostility toward each other increases.

Mark N. Katz is a visiting scholar at the Arab Gulf States Institute in Washington. He is grateful to Elinor Hayes and Kaelyn Vitale, who are both undergraduates at George Mason University, for their research assistance.