October 26, 2017

مؤتمر”بترودبلوماسي”: التعامل مع عصر النفط الجديد

اجتمع متحدثون ومعنيون من قطاع النفط والقطاع المالي والحكومي والأكاديمي في 25 أيلول/سبتمبر2017 في واشنطن لدراسة تحديّات التعامل مع عصر النفط الجديد وذلك ضمن المؤتمر السنوي الثالث لمعهد دول الخليج العربية في واشنطن بعنوان: “مؤتمر بترودبلوماسي“. ففي فترة تتسّم بالتحولات الهائلة، يسعى المنتجون إلى وضع استراتيجيات قادرة على مواجهة التحدي المتمثل في إنشاء بيئة أسعار نفط منخفضة قائمة على التكنولوجيا. وفي الوقت ذاته، تقوم شركات النفط المحلية في دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي بإعادة هيكلة عملياتها التجارية للحصول على نموذج يتوجه أكثر نحو الربح لتحويل مواردها الهيدروكربونية إلى سيول نقدية بالكامل وتحقيق إيرادات متزايدة للحكومات.

هذا وقد شهدت أسواق النفط السنة الماضية تدابير استثنائية اتخذتها الدول الأعضاء في منظمة الأوبك (منظمة الدول المصدّرة للنفط) والدول غير الأعضاء في منظمة الأوبك لتحقيق الاستقرار في الأسعار من خلال العمل الجماعي، الأمر الذي وفر دعمًا أساسيًا لدول الخليج العربية في تنفيذ الإصلاحات المالية والاجتماعية التي تشتد الحاجة إليها.

وسلّطت فعالية “مؤتمر بترودبلوماسي: التعامل مع عصر النفط الجديد” الضوء على ديناميات منظمة الأوبك وسوق النفط وعلى النقاط التي تركز عليها شركات النفط المحلية والمنتجون المستقلّون من أجل استراتيجياتهم الحالية والمستقبلية وما يمكن توقعه في ما يتعلّق بالأحداث الاقتصادية والسياسية الطارئة في الأيام والسنوات المقبلة. كما سلّط المؤتمر الضوء على أسئلة أساسية من شأنها أن تشكّل مشهد الطاقة: كيف سيستجيب إنتاج النفط الصخري للتغيرات المتزايدة في السعر، وبأي سرعة؟ وما هي المخاطر الجغرافية-السياسية والمخاطر الجغرافية-الاقتصادية التي تنتظرنا؟

النتائج الرئيسية:

  • من المتوقع أن يتراوح متوسط سعر البرميل بين 50 و 60 دولارًا أميريكيًا في خلال العامين 2017 و 2018، مع إمكانية زيادة محدودة في أسعار النفط، ما لم تحصل اضطرابات كبيرة في الإمدادات أو أزمات جغرافية-سياسية. وعلى المدى المتوسط، يمكن أن يؤدي الطلب العالمي الذي يتجاوز التوقعات على النفط وانخفاض الإنفاق المالي والرؤية المستقبلية غير الواضحة للنفط الصخري، إلى رفع الأسعار أكثر في نهاية العقد.
  • على الرغم من أنّ نجاح الاتفاق التاريخي بين الدول الأعضاء في منظمة الأوبك والدول خارج المنظمة على خفض الإنتاج تجاوز التوقعات على مستوى القطاع النفطي، تراجعت ثقة السوق في قدرة منتجي النفط من أعضاء المنظمة ومن خارجها على الامتثال الكامل لتقليل مستويات الإنتاج، إذ لا ينفك إنتاج العديد من المشاركين الأساسيين يتجاوز الكميات المستهدفة ويبدو أن التباطؤ الكبير في استعادة السوق توازنها يجعلهم يترددون في تخفيض الإنتاج بشكل أكبر.
  • تتسم السياسة الديناميكية لإدارة السوق هذه بأسس أقوى بكثير من الاتفاقات السابقة، إذ ترتكز على جهود دبلوماسية رفيعة المستوى من قبل المملكة العربية السعودية وروسيا وأولوية مالية مشتركة تجمع منتجي النفط. كما جاء رصد الامتثال للإنتاج بشكل شهري ليعزز هذه الاتفاقية.
  • بعد طول انتظار، بدأت أخيراً العناصر الأساسية في سوق النفط باستعادة توازنها في النصف الأول من العام 2017 ولكن يتم خفض المخزون بشكل أبطأ مما كان يُأمل في البداية وقد يستغرق تصريف الفائض من الإمدادات سنة أخرى. ويمكن أن يعجّل الطلب العالمي على النفط هذا الانخفاض أكثر مما كان متوقعًا.
  • أدّى الفائض الكبير في المخزون إلى الحدّ من تقلّب الأسعار إثر المخاطر الجغرافية-السياسية الشديدة في الشرق الأوسط وحول العالم، ولكن مع استمرار انخفاض المخزون واستعادة السوق توازنها، سوف تتأثر القدرة على التصدّي للمخاطر سلبيًا وتعرّض السوق لمزيد من تقلبات الأسعار المرتبطة بالمخاطر. كما يمكن أن تزداد حدّة المخاطر السياسية المتعددة والمستمرة في ليبيا ونيجيريا وفنزويلا وإيران والعراق وتؤدي إلى ارتفاع الأسعار وعدم ثبات الإمدادات.
  • في حين يصعب التنبؤ بانتاج النفط الصخري، يؤشر التمويل المنخفض للسوق المالية إلى نمو أكثر تقييدًا في العام 2018. وغالبًا ما تتم المبالغة في تقدير تهديد نمو إنتاج النفط الصخري ويتم تجاهل التباينات الخطيرة في مستوى إنتاج الآبار الناتجة عن طبيعة الصخر.
  • وتبقى الأسئلة ما إذا كانت شركات النفط المحلية قادرة على إعادة هيكلة عملياتها لمواجهة تحديات عصر النفط الجديد الأكثر تنافسية هذا، إذ تدفع النفقات المالية المخفّضة ببعض الخبراء إلى التحذير من أزمة مقبلة في الإمدادات في حين يرى آخرون أن النفط غير التقليدي وذات الدورة القصيرة الجديد سيتمكن من تلبية أي نقص.
  • تكمن المسألة الأصعب من الناحية الهيكلية للإصلاح بالنسبة لدول الخليج العربية في كيفية خلق المزيد من فرص العمل للشباب، ومن المرجح أن تنجح البلدان القادرة على الاندماج مع الاتجاهات العالمية في الصناعات المستقبلية.

October 26, 2017

Petro Diplomacy: Navigating the New Oil Era

Petro Diplomacy 2017 Conference

On September 25, 2017, speakers and discussants from the oil industry, finance, government, and academia convened in Washington to examine the challenges of navigating the new oil era at the third annual Arab Gulf States Institute in Washington Petro Diplomacy conference. In a period of tremendous flux for the industry, oil producers are striving to establish strategies that can meet the challenge of a technology-driven, lower oil price environment. At the same time, national oil companies of the Gulf Cooperation Council states are restructuring their business operations toward a more profit-oriented model to fully monetize their hydrocarbon resources and deliver increased revenue to governments.

The past year in oil markets has been defined by the extraordinary measures taken by OPEC and non-OPEC countries to stabilize prices through collective action, which has provided a pillar of support for Gulf Arab states to enact much-needed fiscal and social reform.

“Petro Diplomacy: Navigating the New Oil Era” focused on the dynamics of OPEC and the oil market, what national oil companies and independents are focusing on for their current and future strategies, and what to expect in terms of economic and political flashpoints in the days and years ahead. The conference also identified fundamental questions that will shape the energy landscape: How will the production of shale oil respond to incremental shifts in price, and how quickly? What geopolitical and geoeconomic pitfalls lie ahead?

Key Findings

  • A $50-60 per barrel range is expected through 2017 and 2018, with limited upside potential for oil prices, barring a major supply disruption or geopolitical crisis. In the medium term, stronger than forecast global oil demand, reduced capital spending, and a less robust outlook for shale could push prices much higher by the end of the decade.
  • The success of the historic OPEC and non-OPEC agreement in cutting production has exceeded industry expectations. However, market confidence in the ability of OPEC and non-OPEC producers to maintain strong compliance with lower production levels is waning as several key participants continue to exceed targets and the group seems reluctant to make deeper production cuts amid the much slower market rebalancing.
  • This dynamic market management policy has a much stronger foundation than previous agreements, anchored by high-level diplomatic efforts by Saudi Arabia and Russia and a shared financial imperative among all oil producers. Monthly monitoring of production compliance has also strengthened the accord.
  • The long awaited rebalancing of fundamentals finally took hold in the first half of 2017 but stocks are being drawn down more slowly than initially hoped and draining excess supplies could take another year. Stronger than expected global oil demand may hasten the drawdown.
  • The massive inventory surplus has muted price volatility of extreme geopolitical risk in the Middle East and around the world but as stocks contract further and the market rebalances, the buffer to risk will correspondingly erode and expose the market to more risk-related price volatility. Multiple, ongoing political risks in Libya, Nigeria, Venezuela, Iran, and Iraq could escalate and lead to increased price and supply volatility.
  • Forecasting shale oil production remains an enigma but lower available capital market financing is signaling more constrained growth in 2018. The threat of shale production growth is often overestimated, ignoring the serious inconsistencies in well production stemming from the quality of rock.
  • Questions remain whether national oil companies can restructure their operations to meet the challenges of this more competitive new oil world. Reduced capital expenditures are leading some experts to warn a supply crunch is on the horizon while others argue that new short-cycle nonconventional oil will be able to meet any shortfall.
  • The most difficult issue on the structural side of reform for Gulf Arab states is how to create more jobs for their large youth populations. Those countries that can plug into global trends on the industries of the future will be most likely to succeed.