January 25, 2017

مناورات روسية بين القوى المتنازعة في اليمن

الرئيس الروسي فلاديمير بوتين، من اليمين، مصافحًا الرئيس اليمني عبد ربه منصور هادي في خلال الاجتماع الذي عقداه في مقرّ الرئيس الروسي بالقرب من موسكو في 2 نيسان/ إبريل 2013. (الصورة لوكالة أسوشيتد برس/ ناتاليا كولسنيكوفا).

تنسق روسيا حاليًا مع قوات يمنية من طرفي الصراع، تمامًا كما فعلت في الحرب الباردة. وتعترف موسكو رسميًا بحكومة الرئيس اليمني عبد ربه منصور هادي الذي تبوّأ سدّة الرئاسة في عام 2012 في ذروة مظاهرات الربيع العربي خلفًا لعلي عبدالله صالح الذي لم يحظَ بشعبية واسعة وذلك في إطار انتقال لعبت فيه دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي دور الوسيط. ولكن بعدما استولى المتمردون الحوثيون على العاصمة صنعاء من حكومة هادي وبخاصة بعد بداية التدخّل العسكري بقيادة السعودية في اليمن في آذار/ مارس 2015، اتّخذ الروس أيضًا خطوات محدودة دعموا فيها خصوم هادي من الحوثيين. ولكن لغاية الآن، لم تعرب روسيا عن استعدادها لتبنّي الحوثيين أو شريكهم، الرئيس الأسبق صالح، على نحو كامل. وفي نهاية المطاف، قد لا تهدف أعمال روسيا في اليمن إلى زيادة نفوذ موسكو في هذا البلد الفقير الذي مزّقته الحرب بل لتشكيل العلاقات الروسية السعودية بدلًا من ذلك.

واجتمع الرئيس الروسي فلاديمير بوتين مع هادي في موسكو في نيسان/ إبريل 2013 عندما بدا هذا الأخير قويًا نسبيًا في اليمن. وعندما سيطر الحوثيون على صنعاء في أيلول/ سبتمبر 2014 أغلقت معظم البلاد سفاراتها في العاصمة اليمنية، ولكن السفارة الروسية أبقت أبوابها مفتوحة طوال مدّة النزاع الذي تلى.

وانتقد الإعلام الروسي بشدّة التدخل الذي قادته السعودية في اليمن منذ بدايته منذ سنتين تقريبًا. وأتى ذلك على ما يبدو كردّ وفق مبدأ العين بالعين على الانتقاد السعودي للدعم الروسي لنظام الرئيس بشّار الأسد في سوريا. ولكن صوّر الإعلام الروسي الحوثيين على نحو سلبي في بعض الأحيان. ففي أيار/ مايو 2016، نشرت وكالة الأنباء الروسية الرائدة، سبوتنيك، خبرًا عن تقرير صدر عن منظمة العفو الدولية وتناول “حملة الحوثيين الوحشية” ضد خصومهم. وكان هذا الخبر استثنائيًا لأنه لم ينتقد تقرير منظمة العفو إذ يميل الإعلام الروسي إلى التنديد بتقارير منظمات حقوق الإنسان حول الطريقة التي يعامل فيها نظام الأسد معارضيه.

وفي نيسان/ إبريل 2015 امتنعت روسيا عن التصويت على قرار لمجلس الأمن الدولي بفرض حظر على توريد الأسلحة للحوثيين. فبامتناع موسكو عن التصويت بدلًا من استخدام حقّ الفيتو، سمحت للقرار بالصدور.

وفي أوائل آب/ أغسطس 2016 أُفيد أن روسيا قد تعترف بالمجلس السياسي لإدارة شؤون البلاد الذي أعلن الحوثيون عن تشكيله في صنعاء. ولكن بعد مرور بضعة أيام، نفى القائم بالأعمال الروسي في صنعاء هذه التقارير قائلًا إن “روسيا لا تستطيع الاعتراف بحكومتين” وشدّد على دعم روسيا لحكومة هادي “الشرعية”.

وفي منتصف كانون الأول/ ديسمبر 2016 استقبل نائب لوزير الخارجية الروسي في موسكو وفدًا من الحوثيين برئاسة الناطق باسمه محمد عبد السلام. ولم يتم الإفصاح عن مضمون الحديث الذي جرى ولكن لفتت وزارة الخارجية الروسية إلى أن الحوثيين “قدّروا بشدّة” المقاربة الروسية في اليمن.

وبعد ذلك بوقت قصير، شدّدت المتحدّثة باسم وزارة الخارجية الروسية على الدعم الذي قدّمته روسيا للجهود التي بذلتها الأمم المتحدة لوقف الحرب وعلى بقائها على اتصال مع “الحكومة الشرعية” ومعارضيها أيضًا. ووصفت “الادّعاء أن روسيا تستخدم الأحداث في اليمن لصالحها من أجل تحقيق أهدافها الجيوسياسية الخاصة وكوسيلة ضغط لتحقيق طموحاتها في الأزمة السورية” بالمزاعم السخيفة.

بالرغم من هذا النفي ومن الجهود الروسية لتحسين العلاقات مع الرياض، يطرح سلوك روسيا في ما يتعلّق باليمن من دون شك احتمال توجيه رسالة للسعودية على وجه الخصوص مفادها أنه في حال استمرّت الرياض بدعم المعارضة السورية لنظام الأسد الذي تدعمه روسيا قد تردّ هذه الأخيرة بالمثل في اليمن. وأثار صالح هذا الاحتمال بنفسه في آب/ أغسطس 2016 عندما صرّح لمحطة تلفزيونية روسية أن اليمن مستعد للسماح لموسكو باستخدام قواعده الجوية والبحرية.

لكن موسكو لم تقبل هذا العرض لا سيّما وأن صالح ليس في موقف يسمح له بتنفيذه على أية حال. ويعيد مجرّد تقدّم صالح بهذا الاقتراح إلى الذاكرة كيف طلبت الجهات الفاعلة اليمنية المتنازعة الدعم من الاتحاد السوفياتي وحصلت عليه في خلال الحرب الباردة. فقد قدّمت موسكو الدعم العسكري والاقتصادي لكل من اليمن الجنوبي الماركسي وغريمه اليمن الشمالي. وفي خلال الفترة الممتدة من عام 1979 وحتى 1982، لم تكتفِ موسكو بتقديم الدعم العسكري لليمن الجنوبي الذي كان يساعد بدوره المتمرّدين من الجبهة الوطنية الديمقراطية داخل اليمن الشمالي بل قدّمت الدعم العسكري أيضًا لحكومة اليمن الشمالي التي تحارب ضده. وفي منتصف ثمانينات القرن الماضي، اتّخذت موسكو إجراءات لدعم قادة اليمن الجنوبي المتنافسين وساهم ذلك في اندلاع الحرب الأهلية الشرسة في عام 1986 بين الفصائل الماركسية المتعارضة في اليمن الجنوبي وساعدت القوات العسكرية السوفياتية على إخمادها.

ويتماشى الدعم الحالي الذي تقدّمه موسكو في الوقت عينه لطرفي النزاع في اليمن مع الممارسات التي كانت تقوم بها في الحقبة السوفياتية. ومع ذلك، تبقى درجة هذا التدخل في الشؤون اليمنية أقل بكثير من الدعم العسكري الذي قدّمته روسيا لطرفي النزاع في اليمن في خلال الحرب الباردة. وتلقى صالح في السابق الدعم العسكري السوفياتي وشاهد موسكو وهي تقدّم دعمًا مماثلًا لخصومه، ويبدو أنه توّاق جدًا لتكرار ذلك. ولكن لم تظهر أي إشارات على استعداد بوتين لتحقيق آمال صالح.

ومع ذلك، إن الصراع القائم في اليمن مفيد لروسيا في ما يتعلّق بسوريا. فالموارد التي تنفقها السعودية في الصراع اليمني هي موارد غير متوفّرة في النهاية للرياض لكي تقدّمها لقوّات المعارضة السورية. وتثير المغازلة بين روسيا والحوثيين احتمال ازدياد صعوبة تحقيق أهداف السعودية في اليمن في حال قدّمت روسيا الموارد للحوثيين أو لصالح. ولكن تبقي أيضًا سياسة موسكو اليمنية على احتمال تبادل سعودي روسي: يستطيع بوتين مساعدة السعوديين في اليمن إذا ساعدوه في سوريا. وفي نهاية المطاف، قد تهدف سياسة بوتين تجاه اليمن إلى محاولة إعادة تشكيل سياسة السعودية تجاه سوريا وليس لإعادة ترسيخ الوجود الروسي القوي في اليمن بحدّ ذاته.

مارك ن. كاتز هو زميل غير مقيم في معهد دول الخليج العربية في واشنطن. يوجّه كاتز شكرًا خاصًا إلى الطالبتين في جامعة جورج مايسون، إلينور هايز وكايلن فيتالي، لمساعدتهما في البحث.

January 25, 2017

Russia Maneuvers between Opposing Forces in Yemen

Russian President Vladimir Putin, right, shakes hands with Yemeni President Abd-Rabbu Mansour Hadi during their meeting in the Novo-Ogaryovo residence near Moscow, Russia, April 2, 2013. (AP Photo/Natalia Kolesnikova)

As it did during the Cold War, Moscow is now working with Yemeni forces that are in conflict with each other. Moscow officially recognizes the government of Yemeni President Abd-Rabbu Mansour Hadi, who in 2012, at the height of Yemen’s Arab Spring protests replaced the unpopular Ali Abdullah Saleh through a transition that the Gulf Cooperation Council states helped broker. But after the Houthi rebels seized the capital Sanaa from the Hadi government, and especially after the beginning of the Saudi-led military intervention in Yemen in March 2015, the Russians have also taken some limited steps supportive of Hadi’s Houthi opponents. So far, though, Moscow has not been willing to embrace either the Houthis or their partner, former President Saleh, more fully. Ultimately, Russia’s actions in Yemen may not be aimed at increasing Moscow’s influence in that impoverished, war-torn country, but in shaping the Russian-Saudi relationship instead.

Russian President Vladimir Putin met with Hadi in Moscow in April 2013, when the latter seemed to be relatively strong in Yemen. When the Houthis took over Sanaa in September 2014, most countries closed their embassies in the Yemeni capital. Russia, though, kept its embassy open, and it has remained so throughout the ensuing conflict.

Russian media has been highly critical of the Saudi-led intervention in Yemen since it began nearly two years ago. This appears to be a tit for tat response to Saudi criticism of Russian support for the regime of President Bashar al-Assad in Syria. However, Russian media has also at times portrayed the Houthis negatively. In May 2016, one of the leading Russian news agencies, Sputnik, ran a story on an Amnesty International report describing the Houthis’ “brutal campaign” against its opponents. This story was unusual in that it was not critical of the Amnesty report, while Russian media tends to vilify reports by human rights organizations about how the Assad regime treats its opponents.

In April 2015, Russia abstained in a vote on a U.N. Security Council Resolution imposing an arms embargo on the Houthis. By abstaining, rather than exercising its veto, Moscow allowed the resolution to pass.

In early August 2016, there were reports that Russia might recognize the governing council that the Houthis had announced they were forming in Sanaa. A few days later, though, the Russian charge d’affaires in Sanaa denied these reports, saying that, “Russia could not acknowledge two governments,” and stressing Russia’s support for the “legitimate” Hadi government.

In mid-December 2016, a deputy Russian foreign minister received a Houthi delegation in Moscow headed by its spokesperson, Mohammad Abdulsalam. What they talked about was not revealed, though the Russian Foreign Ministry did note how the Houthis “highly assessed” the Russian approach to Yemen.

Shortly thereafter, the Russian Foreign Ministry spokesperson emphasized how Russia supported U.N. efforts to stop the war, and that it maintained contact with both the “legitimate government” as well as its opponents. She described as “absurd” the “claim that Russia is allegedly using the events in Yemen to its advantage to pursue its own geopolitical goals and as leverage to fulfill its ambitions in the Syrian problem.”

Despite this denial, and notwithstanding Russian efforts to improve relations with Riyadh, Moscow’s behavior with regard to Yemen certainly raises the possibility that it is signaling Saudi Arabia in particular that if Riyadh continues to aid the Syrian opposition to the Russian-backed Assad regime, then Russia could respond in kind in Yemen. Saleh raised this possibility himself in August 2016 when he told a Russian TV channel that Yemen was willing to offer Moscow access to its air and naval bases.

Moscow, however, has not taken up this offer, which Saleh is hardly in a position to implement anyway. The fact that Saleh even made it, though, is reminiscent of how during the Cold War, opposing Yemeni actors sought – and received – support from the Soviet Union. Moscow provided military and economic assistance both to Marxist South Yemen and to rival North Yemen. During 1979-82, Moscow was not only giving military assistance to South Yemen, which was aiding the National Democratic Front insurgency inside North Yemen, but it also gave military assistance to the North Yemeni government fighting against it. In the mid-1980s, Moscow took actions in support of rival South Yemeni leaders, and this contributed to the outbreak of the vicious 1986 civil war between opposing Marxist factions in South Yemen, which Soviet military forces helped to quell.

For Moscow to cooperate now with opposing sides of Yemen’s conflict simultaneously is very much in keeping with its Soviet-era practice of doing so. Still, it is a much lesser degree of involvement in Yemeni affairs than Russia’s military support for Yemen’s opposing sides during the Cold War. Saleh – who previously both received Soviet military support and watched as Moscow provided similar support to his adversaries – seems especially eager to see this revived. Putin, though, shows no signs of fulfilling Saleh’s hopes.

Still, the ongoing conflict in Yemen is useful to Russia with regard to Syria. Saudi resources expended on the conflict in Yemen, after all, are resources that are not available for Riyadh to give to Syrian opposition forces. Russian flirtation with the Houthis, though, raises the possibility that if Moscow did provide resources to the Houthis or Saleh, the achievement of Saudi aims in Yemen could be rendered even more difficult. But Moscow’s Yemen policy also holds out the prospect of a Saudi-Russian trade: Putin could help the Saudis in Yemen if they help him in Syria. Ultimately, then, Putin’s policy toward Yemen may be aimed at attempting to reshape Saudi policy toward Syria, and not at re-establishing a robust Russian presence in Yemen itself.

Mark N. Katz is a visiting scholar at the Arab Gulf States Institute in Washington. He is grateful to Elinor Hayes and Kaelyn Vitale, who are both undergraduates at George Mason University, for their research assistance.