August 4, 2017

العوائق المفروضة ذاتيًّا على التكامل الاقتصادي في مجلس التعاون الخليجي

تقدمت قطر بشكوى لمنظمة التجارة العالمية ضد الإمارات العربية المتحدة والسعودية والبحرين، بسبب منعهم الملاحة الجوية القطرية ورفع تكاليف المواد الغذائية الأساسية والدواء المستورد.
لقاء وزراء الداخلية والخارجية والدفاع لدول الخليج العربية خلال افتتاح الاجتماع المشترك لمجلس التعاون الخليجي في الرياض، بالمملكة السعودية، في السابع والعشرين من نيسان/أبريل. (تصوير: وزارة الداخلية السعودية بواسطة أسوشيتد برس)

تقدمت قطر بشكوى لمنظمة التجارة العالمية ضد الإمارات العربية المتحدة والسعودية والبحرين، بسبب منعهم الملاحة الجوية القطرية ورفع تكاليف المواد الغذائية الأساسية والدواء المستورد. بالرغم من أن العلاقات الاقتصادية بين دول الخليج ما زالت تعاني نتيجة للأزمة الراهنة، إلا أنه هناك معوقات طويلة الأمد على التجارة وتدفق الاستثمار تستحق الأخذ بعين الاعتبار. منذ تأسيس مجلس التعاون الخليجي، كانت هناك توترات شديدة بشأن التنازل عن السيادة وتسهيل حركة الناس ورأس المال والأفكار. وبينما كانت التدفقات التجارية بين دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي في تزايد في السنوات الأخيرة، فإن بعض أهم المجالات التي شهدت تكاملا متبادلا وذي قيمة كان في تدفق الاستثمارات، وحرية تنقل مواطني دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي، والاستثمار في البنية التحتية المشتركة بشكل واسع، مثل خط أنابيب الدولفين بين قطر والإمارات العربية المتحدة وعُمان.

قد يرى المرء نصف الكأس الفارغ وقد يرى آخرون النصف الممتلئ فيما يتعلق بتقدم التكامل الاقتصادي لدول مجلس التعاون الخليجي. ففي عام 1983، أطلق مجلس التعاون الخليجي معاهدة التجارة الحرة، التي كان من شأنها التقليل من القيود التجارية بين الدول الأعضاء وتسهيل التدفق التجاري. وفي عام 2003، شكَّل مجلس التعاون الخليجي خطوة أُخرى إلى الأمام بتأسيسه للاتحاد الجمركي، وبدأ السوق المشترك الذي سمح بحرية تنقل الأشخاص والسلع عام 2008. وقد بلغ النمو التجاري بين دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي حوالي أربعين ضعفًا تقريبًا منذ تأسيسه ووصل إلى أكثر من 90 مليار دولار عام 2013، ومع ذلك فإنه ما زال يشكل جزءًا صغيرًا من إجمالي حجم التجارة، أي ما يقارب 8 بالمئة من إجمالي حجم التجارة في عام 2014.

لقد ارتفع التوجه العام لزيادة التجارة الداخلية بين دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي في العقد الماضي، حيث سعت المنظمة لبناء جهد مؤسساتي لزيادة التجارة وتدفق رأس المال البشري، لنأخذ بعين الاعتبار التنسيق الوثيق في السياسة النقدية، وتشجيع استثمار البنية التحتية في المشاركة بشبكة سكة الحديد، وبناء محطات الربط الكهربائي لمشاركة الطاقة الكهربائية وإيجاد سوق الطاقة المشترك. ومع ذلك، فإن معظم هذه الأفكار معلقة حاليًّا. لقد حاول مجلس التعاون الخليجي، كمؤسسة، تحقيق أهداف أعضائه في التعاون الاقتصادي. والمشكلة ليست في المؤسسة بحد ذاتها، وإنما في تحفظ الأعضاء على الاستغلال الكامل لأهداف السياسة التي وضعوها، فالدول الأعضاء هي التي تعرقل أهداف التطور الاقتصادي التي أعلنتها بنفسها.

أفضل مثال على العوائق المتكررة للتكامل الاقتصادي هو حماية الوكلاء المحليين للاتحاد الجمركي في إطار مجلس التعاون الخليجي. والوكالة التجارية هي تمثيل وكيل محلي للوكالة الأجنبية الأصلية لأغراض التوزيع والبيع والعرض، أو تزويد المنطقة المحلية بالسلع والخدمات مقابل عمولة أو فائدة، فجميع الدول الست الأعضاء في مجلس التعاون الخليجي لديها قوانين للوكالة التجارية ذات نسب متفاوتة من القيود. والحماية الجمركية لبعض الوكلاء هي وكالات حصرية، وهكذا يتحكم وكيل واحد في استيراد بضاعة أو ماركة معينة دون منافسة. إن المبدأ العام لهذه القوانين كان لمساعدة المواطنين على تطوير أعمال تجارية مستقلة، ونقل الخبرة والتكنولوجيا، وضمان الفائدة من الاستثمار الأجنبي لصالح السكان المحليين. إن الحماية النموذجية في ظل قوانين الوكالة التجارية تشمل: المحافظة على أعمال الوكالات التجارية للمواطنين، ونظام تسجيل الوكلاء، ومنح الوكالات الحصرية بالقانون، والتحصين من إنهاء الوكالة أو عدم التجديد. المشكلة الآن هي أن قيود الوكالة التجارية تتعارض مع جهود مجلس التعاون الخليجي عام 2008 في تشجيع المواطنين على الاستثمار والعمل، وشراء الممتلكات من الدول الأعضاء المجاورة. وتعمل هذه القيود على المضي في إعطاء المواطنين المحليين امتيازات على حساب مواطني دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي الأُخرى، وتشجع في الوقت نفسه الممارسات الاحتكارية في استيراد وتوزيع السلع والخدمات.

إن تنقل رأس المال البشري في الخليج أو التحفظ عليه يعتبر مجال توتر على نار هادئة، وعلى جميع الدول الأعضاء في مجلس التعاون الخليجي أن تُوَفِّق ما بين سياسة التكامل الاقتصادي أو العزلة. وتعتبر الجهود الأخيرة لقطر والإمارات العربية المتحدة لخلق مسارات من أجل الإقامة الدائمة، إن لم تكن المُواطَنَة، مثالا على تحدي هذه السياسة. فهذه الجهود التي تجذب المهاجرين المهرة والأثرياء يُقصَد منها رفع النمو في القطاع الخاص عن طريق جذب التكنولوجيا والاستثمار لتنمية أعمال جديدة من المفترض أن تسعى إلى برنامج عمل إقليمي. ومن المؤكد أن التأثير المُحبط على الأعمال التجارية والحكومة التي تسببها معوقات حرية تنقل مواطني دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي بالإضافة إلى جذب المهاجرين ذوي المهارات العالية، سيكون له أثر ملموس على النمو الاقتصادي في المدى القريب.

وتأتي سهولة انتقال رأس المال المادي مصاحبة لحرية تنقل رأس المال البشري. وفي ظل النزاع الحالي مع قطر، تعتبر هجرة رأس المال تهديدًا خطيرًا على الصلاحية البعيدة الأمد للنظام المصرفي المحلي. وبناءً على بحث قام به ج. ب. مورغان والبيانات التي نشرها البنك المركزي القطري، فإن تدفق رأس المال إلى الخارج من خلال النظام المصرفي القطري ربما بلغ 20 مليار دولار في شهر حزيران/يونيو. لقد سحب المودعون غير المقيمين 3.8 مليار من البنوك القطرية، وانخفضت تمويلات البنوك الأجنبية أحد عشر مليارًا ونصف المليار في حزيران/يونيو. ويرجح أن تكون هجرة رأس المال من بنوك ومستثمرين ليسوا من مجلس التعاون الخليجي، بينما حافظ الدائنون في مجلس التعاون الخليجي على أقل من ربع الأرصدة الخارجية في البنوك القطرية في نهاية 2016. وقد يكون هنالك أيضا أثر إقليمي متضاعف في هجرة رأس المال، لأن المستثمرين والمقرضين يتجنبون الصراعات المحتملة.

وعلى الرغم من برنامج العمل والاتفاقيات التي يقدمها مجلس التعاون الخليجي لتحفيز تنسيق السياسات، والجهود التي تبذلها الوزارات الحكومية الفردية لتعزيز التجارة الإقليمية، هناك ثغرات كبيرة في الامتثال والإرادة السياسية المشتركة للتكامل. وهناك العديد من المجالات الأخرى للتوتر التجاري التي تشكل عقبات أمام نمو القطاع الخاص والاستثمار الذي قد يوفره مجلس التعاون الخليجي الأكثر تكاملا. ويعتبر التطبيق المشترك لضريبة القيمة المضافة مثالاً يمكن أن يشكل عقبة أمام التكامل القادم للدول الأعضاء في مطلع العام المقبل. وقد أصدرت دولة الإمارات مؤخرًا تشريعًا للمساعدة في إدارة تحصيل الضرائب وتمهيد الطريق لتوسيع قدرة الدولة على الوصول إلى المعلومات المالية للشركات. ويبدو من غير المرجح أن يكون الإطار القانوني في دولة ما سيشجع التكامل ومشاركة المعلومات في دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي، ومع ذلك فإن لكل دولة أسبابها الخاصة للمضي قدُمًا في الجهود الرامية إلى تنفيذ تحصيل الضرائب كتدفق للإيرادات.

وتُعتَبر دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي أفضل الشركاء الخارجيين للاستثمار في بعضها بعضًا، ومع ذلك فإن المناخ القائم حاليًّا بطريقة أو بأُخرى هو استمرار لعوائق مؤسساتية وسياسية متكررة للتكامل الاقتصادي في المنطقة. ويعد التكامل الاقتصادي نموذجًا مثاليًّا لإمكانيات دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي، ويهدف إلى أن يكون جسرًا لمجالات التعاون الأكثر صعوبة في الدفاع والأمن. كما طرح جيف مارتيني وزملاؤه في مؤسسة راند (RAND): “في ظل حساسية دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي للسيادة، يُعتَبر التعاون الاقتصادي أكثر قابلية للتحقيق من التخلي عن صنع القرار في الشؤون الخارجية أو دمج قُدرات دول المجلس العسكرية في قُوة دفاعية جماعية متكاملة حقًّا”.

إن الجهود المشتركة التي يبذلها مجلس التعاون الخليجي في مجال التكامل والتنوع الاقتصادي وصلت الآن إلى نقطة تحول. لقد وصلت جداول أعمال الإصلاح المشتركة في المنطقة، بما في ذلك الجهود الرامية إلى زيادة إنتاجية القطاع الخاص وتقليص اعتماد الدولة على الإيرادات الهيدروكربونية، إلى وضع غير مستقر. ومجلس التعاون الخليجي هو عبارة عن شبكة من ست دول تصنع القليل جدًّا وتشترك في نموذج تنمية اقتصادية غير تقليدي معتمدة فيه على الموارد. والتنويع بعيدا عن الاعتماد على النفط والغاز يرتكز على البنية التحتية والاستثمار العقاري، الذي تتحكم فيه الحكومة بشكل رئيسي، بالإضافة إلى نمو الخدمات المالية ومناخ الاستثمار. وقد خدم المناخ الاستثماري الكثير من مصالح المواطنين من خلال نظام الوكالة التجارية التي لا تشجع على التنقل والتوسع الإقليمي، وتغيرت طبيعة التجارة في مجلس التعاون الخليجي لدرجة أن إعادة تصدير البضائع بين دول الخليج تشكل جزءًا مهمًّا من أنماط التجارة هناك. وفي المناطق ذات الفُرَص، يكون التعاون ضروريًّا من أجل أسواق مفتوحة لإنتاج الكهرباء وبيعها، ومن أجل تنمية مراكز مالية جديدة مع خبرة في الأسواق المتخصصة مثل التمويل الإسلامي، وتنمية برامج تداول الأسهم الخاصة بهم ودعم وتمويل الشركات المحلية. إن الأفكار موجودة وكذلك المنصة المؤسساتية متوفرة، أما الشيء الناقص الآن فهو فقط الإرادة السياسية لتحريك التكامل والتنمية الاقتصادية المشتركة إلى الأمام.

ماركت واتش مدونةٌ تأسست على يد الباحثة المقيمة الأولى في معهد دول الخليج العربية في واشنطن كارين إ. يونغ، وتهدف إلى توسيع المعرفة بمنطقة التقاء السياسة والمال في دول الخليج العربية.

August 4, 2017

Self-Imposed Barriers to Economic Integration in the GCC

Interior, foreign, and defense ministers of the Gulf Arab states meet during the opening of the Gulf Cooperation Council Joint Meeting in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia, April 27. (Saudi Interior Ministry via AP)

Qatar has lodged a complaint with the World Trade Organization against the United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia, and Bahrain for blocking its air traffic and increasing the costs of basic food and medicine imports. Though intra-Gulf state economic relations continue to suffer as a result of the current crisis, there are long-standing barriers to trade and investment flows that deserve consideration. Since the inception of the Gulf Cooperation Council, there have been deep tensions on ceding sovereignty and facilitating the free movement of people, finance, and ideas. While trade flows between the GCC states have been increasing in recent years, some of the most important added value of integration has been in the facilitation of investment flows, the free movement of GCC citizens, and large shared infrastructure investment, such as the Dolphin pipeline between Qatar, the UAE, and Oman.

One can see the glass half empty or half full in terms of the progress of GCC economic integration. In 1983, the GCC launched its Free Trade Agreement, which reduced trade restrictions between member countries and facilitated trade flows. In 2003, the GCC marked another step forward with the establishment of a customs union. The common market, allowing free movement of people and goods, began in 2008. Intra-GCC trade has grown nearly fortyfold since its establishment and reached more than $90 billion in 2013; yet, it is still a small share of total trade volume, at about 8 percent of total trade in 2014.

The general trend of increased intra-GCC trade has been upward in the last decade, as the organization has sought to build institutional efforts to increase trade and human capital flows; consider tighter coordination in monetary policy; promote infrastructure investment in a shared rail network; and build linkages to share electricity and create a common energy market. However, most of these ideas are currently on hold. The GCC, as an institution, has attempted to meets its members’ goals of economic cooperation. The problem isn’t the organization, per se, but rather reticence on the part of members to fully deploy the policy objectives they have devised. It is the member states that continue to get in the way of their own stated economic development goals.

One prime example of a persistent barrier to economic integration is the protection of local agents in the framework of the GCC customs union. Commercial agency is the representation of a foreign principal by a local agent for the purposes of distributing, selling, offering, or providing merchandise or services inside domestic territory for a commission or profit. All six GCC states have commercial agency laws, with varying degrees of restrictions. Some agent protections are exclusive, in that one agent has control over the importation of a single good or brand without competition. The general principle of these laws has been to help nationals develop independent businesses, transfer expertise and technology, and secure benefits of foreign investment to the national population. Typical protections under commercial agency laws include: reserving the business of commercial agency for nationals; a registration system for agents; agent exclusivity granted by law; and protection from termination or nonrenewal. The problem now is that the commercial agency restrictions are in conflict with the 2008 GCC efforts to encourage nationals to invest, work, and buy property in neighboring member states. These restrictions continue to privilege nationals over citizens of other GCC states, while also encouraging monopoly practices in the importation and distribution of goods and services.

The movement (and retention) of human capital in the Gulf is a simmering area of tension, which all GCC members will have to reconcile with their economic integration or isolation policies. Recent efforts in both Qatar and the UAE to create pathways to permanent residency, if not citizenship, are an example of this policy challenge. These efforts to attract highly skilled, and wealthy, migrants is meant to leverage growth in the private sector by attracting technology and investment to grow new businesses that would presumably seek a regional platform. The chilling effect on business and government of deterrents to free movement of GCC citizens within the region, as well as attracting highly skilled migrants, will surely have a measurable impact on economic growth in the near term.

With free movement of human capital comes mobility of financial capital. In the current dispute with Qatar, capital flight is a serious threat to long-term viability within the local bank system. According to research by J.P. Morgan and data published by the Qatar Central Bank, capital outflows through the Qatari banking system may have been as much as $20 billion in June. Nonresident depositors withdrew $3.8 billion from Qatari banks and funding from foreign banks decreased by $11.5 billion in June. Capital flight is more likely to have been from non-GCC banks and investors, as GCC creditors held less than a quarter of Qatari banks’ foreign funding at the end of 2016. There could also be a regional cascade effect in capital flight, as investors and lenders steer clear of potential conflicts.

Despite the platform and agreements the GCC provides to stimulate policy coordination, and the efforts individual state ministries make to promote regional trade, there are large gaps in compliance and shared political will to integrate. There are several other areas of commercial tension that pose barriers to private sector growth and investment, which a more integrated GCC might provide. The implementation of a shared value added tax is one example that could be the next integration hurdle for member states early in 2018. The UAE has recently passed legislation to help administer tax collection and pave the way for broadening the state’s ability to access financial information on firms. Whether the legal framework in one state will encourage integration and information sharing across the GCC looks increasingly unlikely, though each state has its own reasons to move forward with efforts to implement tax collection as a revenue stream.

The GCC states are their own best foreign investment partners, yet the current climate is in some ways a continuation of recurrent institutional and political barriers to economic integration in the region. Economic integration is a symbolic ideal of possibilities of the GCC and meant to be a bridge to more difficult areas of cooperation in defense and security. As Jeff Martini and colleagues at the Rand Corporation have argued, “within the sovereignty-sensitive GCC, economic cooperation was judged as more attainable than ceding decision-making over foreign affairs or merging their military capabilities into a truly integrated collective defense capability.”

The GCC’s efforts at economic diversification and economic integration are now at a tipping point. The shared reform agendas across the region, including efforts to increase private sector productivity and diminish the state’s reliance on hydrocarbon revenue, hang in the balance. The GCC is a network of six countries that manufacture very little and share an unconventional, resource-dependent model of economic development. Diversification from oil and gas dependency has relied on infrastructure and real estate investment, largely in state hands, as well as the growth of financial services and an investment climate. Much of that investment climate has privileged nationals through the commercial agent system that discourages movement and regional expansion. The nature of GCC trade has changed such that the re-export of goods among Gulf states makes up an important part of their trade patterns. In areas where there is opportunity, cooperation is essential for open markets to produce and trade electricity, to grow new financial centers with expertise in niche markets such as Islamic finance, and to grow their own equity trading platforms that support and fund local businesses. The ideas are there and the institutional platform is in place. What is missing now is the political will to move integration, and shared economic growth, onward.

Market Watch is a blog conceived by AGSIW Senior Resident Scholar Karen E. Young seeking to provide insights from the crossroads of Gulf politics and finance.