May 4, 2017

تشكيل الجنوب: الإمارات العربية المتحدة في اليمن

كلما تتضح معالم جدول أعمال الإمارات العربية المتحدة الطموح في جنوب اليمن أكثر فأكثر، تتبلور أيضًا الخلافات بين الإمارات العربية المتحدة وحكومة الرئيس اليمني المنفي عبد ربه منصور هادي.
الشيخ محمد بن زايد، ولي عهد أبوظبي، من جهة اليمين، يستقبل الرئيس اليمني المنفي عبد ربه منصور هادي في أبوظبي، في الإمارات العربية المتحدة في 12 آب/أغسطس 2015.

كلما تتضح معالم جدول أعمال الإمارات العربية المتحدة الطموح في جنوب اليمن أكثر فأكثر، تتبلور أيضًا الخلافات بين الإمارات العربية المتحدة وحكومة الرئيس اليمني المنفي عبد ربه منصور هادي. ويبدو أكثر فأكثر أن دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة تبني علاقات مع أفراد ينتمون إلى حركة لا تنفّك بالضغط للحصول على المزيد من صلاحيات الحكم الذاتي في جنوب اليمن، إن لم نقل للمطالبة بشكل صريح بالانفصال عن السلطة المركزية في اليمن، مما يثير ذعر الرئيس هادي. وفي الوقت عينه، تجنبت المملكة العربية السعودية، التي نظّمت التدخل العسكري في الحرب الأهلية الدائرة في اليمن لإعادة حكومة عبد ربه منصور هادي المعترف بها دوليًا، حتى هذه الساعة الانجرار إلى الجدال العلني حول استراتيجية الإماراتيين في الجنوب، مما وضع علامات استفهام حول نظرتها لمستقبل دولة يمنية موحدة، وحول دعمها لعبد ربه منصور هادي.

وفي ما سمّي بمؤتمر حضرموت الجامع الذي انعقد في 22 نيسان/أبريل، ظهر أحدث دليل على أن الإمارات العربية المتحدة تسعى إلى وضع جدول أعمال سياسي يغطّي جنوب اليمن كلّه مغاير لذاك الذي وضعته حكومة عبد ربه منصور هادي. وزعم أحد التقارير أن المؤتمر انعقد “برعاية رجل أبوظبي في حضرموت، المحافظ أحمد بن بريك، وفي ظل حماية قوات النخبة في حضرموت”. وبالإضافة إلى مناشدة عبد ربه منصور هادي إلى الإسراع في الإعلان عن حضرموت كمحافظة مستقلّة، أشار التقرير إلى أن الوثيقة الختامية للمؤتمر قد أكّدت بدورها على أنه يحق للحضارمة أن يغادروا الاتحاد متى التمسوا أنه لا يخدم مصلحتهم. وفي حين تم التعبير عن هذا الإعلان في سياق تطبيق نتائج مؤتمر الحوار الوطني، واقتراح لاحق لإنشاء دولة يمنية فيدرالية، اعتُبر هذا الأمر على نطاق واسع مجرّد غطاء يجنّب الأخذ بعين الاعتبار الانطباع الذي يفيد بأن الإمارات العربية المتحدة كانت تشجّع العناصر الانفصالية في اليمن.

والمثير للاهتمام أنه وفي الوقت الذي أعلنت فيه مجموعات من رجال الأعمال وزعماء القبائل التابعة للمملكة العربية السعودية أنها لن تشارك في مؤتمر حضرموت، لم يصدر عن القيادة السياسية في المملكة أي تعليق علني عن هذه المسألة، مما يلوّح إلى احتمالية تقارب وجهات النظر بين الرياض وأبوظبي حول المستقبل السياسي لجنوب اليمن أكثر مما يزعم بعض المعلّقين. وفي الواقع، أكد محلل عربي بارز من الخليج في خلال هذا الأسبوع أن السعوديين لا يشددون على أن تخرج اليمن من هذا الصراع الحالي دولة موحدة، وتركوا للإماراتيين مهمة العمل مع القادة السياسيين المحليين وآخرين في الجنوب لرسم مستقبل المنطقة بأي شكل من شأنه أن يضمن استقرارها وسلامتها السياسية والاقتصادية.

ولا شك في أن ذلك لا يبدو وأنه يعبر عن وجهة نظر عبد ربه منصور هادي حول هذه المسألة. فردّ على مؤتمر حضرموت عبر إصدار مراسيم أقال فيها عددًا من المسؤولين المعروفين بارتباطهم بدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، إذ يبدو أن تعاونهم الجلي مع دولة مجاورة حول مسائل يمنية داخلية قد أثار القلق في نفسه. وابرز أولئك المُقالين محافظ عدن عيدروس الزبيدي ووزير الدولة هاني علي بن بريك. وعلاوة على ذلك، أفادت الأنباء أن عبد ربه منصور هادي فتح تحقيقًا جنائيًا ضد الوزير، الذي قيل إنه عُيّن بطلب خاص من دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. وفي أعقاب المؤتمر، وبعد أن أصدر عبد ربه منصور هادي مراسيمه اللاحقة، التقى به الملك السعودي سلمان بن عبد العزيز نهار السبت في محاولة للتخفيف من حدة التوترات، نظرًا إلى أن عبد ربه منصور هادي يعتبر أن الإماراتيين ينتهكون سيادة اليمن من خلال تحريض المسؤولين على رفض تنفيذ القرارات الرئاسية.

وفي الوقت عينه، لا تزال استثمارات الإمارات العربية المتحدة الاستراتيجية في جنوب اليمن محط أنظار الجميع. ويقال إن دولة الإمارات تقوم ببناء مهبط للطائرات في جزيرة بريم، التي تقع وسط مضيق باب المندب الاستراتيجي، والذي يعبره يوميًا حوالى 4 مليون برميل من النفط، وحيث يشتبه أن المتمردين الحوثيين قد شنّوا هجماتهم البحرية، التي استهدفت إحداها باخرة إماراتية. كما قدمت منظمات الإغاثة الإماراتية مساعدات لسكان جزيرة سقطرى، التي تقع قبالة الساحل اليمني في خليج عدن، على مقربة من القرن الأفريقي.

وفي وقت مبكر، أي في شهر حزيران/يونيو 2015، عندما دخلت القوات الإماراتية الخاصة إلى عدن وفرضت حضورها على المستوى العسكري، يبدو أن السعوديين قد وافقوا مسبقًا على أن يتحمّل الإماراتيون مسؤولية إدارة جنوب اليمن. يستمر هذا الدور الهائل في الحرب البرية الدائرة ضد المقاتلين الحوثيين والقوات الحليفة، بما في ذلك على طول ساحل البحر الأحمر، وبات يعتبر عاملًا محتملًا في تغيير اللعبة العقارية، ولاسيما أنه لا يزال يسيطر على ميناء مدينة الحُديدة. في الواقع، لمّح محلل يمني الأسبوع الماضي إلى أن أبوظبي منهمكة في التحضير لغزوات في كافة أهم الموانئ اليمنية، من المكلا في الشرق إلى المخا على ساحل البحر الأحمر، إذ ترمي جميعها إلى الاستفادة من الإمكانيات الاقتصادية لهذه الموانئ كجزء من عملية أكبر لبناء الدولة تعتبر هامة لضمان استقرار جنوب اليمن على المدى البعيد. ومن هذا المنطلق، يبدو أن اندفاع الإمارات العربية المتحدة لشن هجوم برمائي بغية تحرير الحديدة من القبضة الحوثية يبدو أنه يتبع منطقًا معينًا، حتى وإن بدا الآن أنه يتراجع أمام أي عملية عسكرية وشيكة.

وإذ تستمر الحرب في اليمن من دون أن تلوح في الأفق أي نهاية واضحة، يبدو الإماراتيون عازمين بشكل متزايد على تحويل انتباههم من منفعة تكتيكية قصيرة المدى إلى استقرار استراتيجي طويل المدى. وبالتالي، وفيما يبدو الركود سائدًا في ساحة المعركة، تمضي الإمارات العربية المتحدة قدمًا في خطط تبدو داعمة لاستثمار ذي مدى أطول بكثير في اليمن، قد يتضمّن إعادة رسم خريطة البلاد.

 ستيفن أ. سيش هو نائب الرئيس التنفيذي في معهد دول الخليج العربية في واشنطن، وكان سابقًا سفيرًا للولايات المتحدة في اليمن.

May 4, 2017

Shaping the South: The UAE in Yemen

Sheikh Mohammed bin Zayed, crown prince of Abu Dhabi, right, receives Yemen's exiled President Abd Rabbu Mansour Hadi in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates, Aug. 12, 2015. (Mohamed Al Hammadi/Crown Prince Court - Abu Dhabi via AP )

As the contours of the United Arab Emirates’ ambitious agenda in southern Yemen continue to become more evident, so do the differences between the UAE and the government of Yemen’s exiled President Abd-Rabbu Mansour Hadi. Increasingly – and much to Hadi’s dismay – the UAE seems to be building ties to individuals identified with a movement that continues to press for greater autonomy, if not outright independence, from Yemen’s central authority. Meanwhile, Saudi Arabia – which organized the military intervention into Yemen’s civil war to reinstate Hadi’s internationally-recognized government – has thus far avoided getting drawn into the public debate over the Emiratis’ southern strategy, inviting questions about its own disposition regarding the future of a unified Yemeni state, and its support for Hadi himself.

The most recent evidence that the UAE is pursuing a political agenda across southern Yemen that diverges from that of the Hadi government surfaced April 22 at the so-called Inclusive Hadramout Conference. One report claimed the conference was convened “under the sponsorship of Abu Dhabi’s man in Hadramout, Governor Ahmad Bin Braik, and the protection of the Hadramout elite forces.” In addition to calling on Hadi to speed up the announcement of Hadramout as an independent province, the report noted that the conference’s final document also asserted that Hadramis would have the right to leave the union should they conclude it is not serving their interests. While the announcement was couched in the context of implementing the outcomes of the National Dialogue Conference, and a subsequent proposal for a federal Yemen, this was widely seen as merely a fig leaf to avoid the impression that the UAE was encouraging separatist elements in Yemen.

Interestingly, while groups of businessmen and tribal leaders associated with Saudi Arabia publicly announced they would not participate in the Hadramout conference, the kingdom’s political leadership offered no public commentary on the matter, suggesting that there may be less daylight between Riyadh and Abu Dhabi on the political future of Southern Yemen than some commentators are claiming. In fact, a prominent Gulf Arab analyst this week asserted that the Saudis are not insisting that Yemen emerge from the current conflict as a unified state, and have left it to the Emiratis to work with local political leaders and others in the south to shape the future of the region in whatever form is determined to best ensure its stability and political and economic viability.

That certainly doesn’t seem to be Hadi’s view of the matter. He responded to the Hadramout conference by issuing decrees dismissing a number of officials known to be associated with the UAE, seemingly alarmed by their apparent collaboration with a neighboring state on internal Yemeni matters. Prominent among those dismissed was the governor of Aden, Aidarous al-Zubaidi, and Minister of State Hani Ali bin Braik. In addition, Hadi reportedly opened a criminal investigation into the minister, said to have been appointed at the specific request of the UAE. In the wake of the conference, and Hadi’s subsequent decrees, King Salman bin Abdulaziz of Saudi Arabia met with him Saturday in an effort to ease tensions, given Hadi’s view that the Emiratis are violating Yemen’s sovereignty by inciting officials to refuse to carry out presidential decisions.

Meanwhile, the UAE’s ongoing strategic investments in southern Yemen continue to draw attention. The UAE is reportedly building an airstrip on Perim Island, which sits in the middle of the strategic Bab el-Mandeb, through which some 4 million barrels of oil pass each day, and where Houthi insurgents are suspected of having conducted maritime attacks, including one on an Emirati vessel. Emirati relief organizations also have delivered assistance to the population of Socotra Island, which sits off Yemen’s coast in the Gulf of Aden, close to the Horn of Africa.

As early as June 2015, when UAE special forces entered Aden and established a military presence, it appears that the Saudis had already agreed that the Emiratis would assume responsibility for the management of southern Yemen. This outsized role in the ground war against Houthi militants and allied forces continues, including along the Red Sea coast, now seen as potentially a game-changing bit of real estate, particularly as it pertains to control of the port city of Hodeidah. In fact, a Yemeni analyst suggested last week that Abu Dhabi is busily building inroads at all of Yemen’s major ports, from Mukalla in the east to Mokha on the Red Sea coast, all with an aim to harness the economic potential of these seaports as part of a larger state-building exercise seen as crucial to southern Yemen’s long-term stability. Viewed in this context, the UAE’s enthusiasm for an amphibious assault to liberate Hodeidah from Houthi control appears to follow a certain logic, even if it now seems to be backing away from any imminent military operation.

As the war in Yemen drags on with no apparent end in sight, the Emiratis appear increasingly determined to shift their focus from short-term tactical advantage to long-term strategic stabilization. As a result, while stasis seems to prevail on the battlefield, the UAE is moving ahead with plans that appear to support a much longer-term investment in Yemen, one that may include redrawing the map of the country.

Stephen A. Seche is the executive vice president of the Arab Gulf States Institute in Washington, and previously U.S. ambassador to Yemen.