July 29, 2016

الرابط الكوري بين السعودية وإيران

رئيسة كوريا الجنوبية باك جون هاي، إلى جهة اليسار، خلال حديثٍ مع الإعلام في مؤتمرٍ صحفي مشترك مع الرئيس الإيراني حسن روحاني إثر لقائهما في طهران في 2 أيار/مايو. (مصدر الصورة: أسّوشييتِد برِس / بعدسة المصوّر ابراهيم نوروزي)

يشارك في الحوار السعودي – الإيراني اليوم وسيط مهمّ  وغير متوقّع، إذ يبذل كلّ  من شركات الهندسة ومطوّرو الطاقة الكهربائية وبُناة السفن ومشغّلو المحطات قصارى جهدهم لتلبية متطلبات خطط التنوّع الاقتصادي في المملكة العربية السعودية وإيران. وتحمل معظم هذه الشركات الأساسية الجنسية الكورية الجنوبية، كجزءٍ من التشيبول، أو التكتلات الصناعية التابعة للدولة سابقًا التي حققت معجزة شرق آسيا في التحوّل الصناعي والتطوّر الاقتصادي الذي حوّل كوريا الجنوبية من اقتصادٍ بليدٍ تسيطر عليه الحكومة ومستند على الزراعة، إلى ديمقراطيةٍ رأسماليةٍ رائدة في القرن الواحد والعشرين. والأمر المثير للاهتمام في العلاقة بين كوريا وهاتين الدولتين المتنافستين على جهتي الخليج، لا يقتصر على واقع أنّ الشركات الكورية العامة الجديدة قادرةٌ على إبرام عقود بمليارات الدولارات (وبعضها في مجالاتٍ حساسة سياسيًا كالطاقة النووية) بين زبائن من جهاتٍ متخاصمة، بل يكمن أيضًا في حقيقة أنّ المملكة العربية السعودية تملك أسهمًا في هذه الشركات. فالرياض تستثمر اليوم في الشركات التي تقود مشاريع البنى التحتية وأهداف التنوّع الاقتصادي. ففي الواقع، تستثمر السعودية أيضًا في مشاريع البنى التحتية وأهداف التنوّع الاقتصادي الخاصة بإيران عبر علاقتها المشتركة مع كوريا.

ويقول منطق الترابط الاقتصادي أنّ  التجارة تعزز السلام، أو أنّه السلام الرأسمالي كما تصوره الفيلسوف إيمانويل كانت، ومن بعده عالم الاقتصاد والسياسة جوزيف شومبيتر. فالبلدان التي تتعامل مع بعضها تكون أقلّ عرضةً لخوض الحروب في ما بينها (إلّأ أنّ  ذلك لا يعني أنّها أقلّ  عرضةً  للخلافات). وكلّما اندمجت الاقتصادات، وليس بمعنى قدرة اقتصادٍ على التأثير في بلد آخر من خلال تصديرٍ منتج معين (كالنفط مثلًا) في شكل الاندماجٍ العمودي، بل في قدرته على الاندماج الأفقي ليشمل عددا كبيرا من مجالات التجارة والخدمات، كلّما برزت المنافع السياسية للترابط الاقتصادي. ففي زمنٍ من الانعزالية ورفض المهاجرين والنزاع الطائفي في السياسة العالمية، ظهرت بعض المؤشرات بأنّ  الروابط الاقتصادية قد تسهم في حلّ  هذه الانقسامات.

وتشكّل العلاقات بين الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية والصين خير مثالٍ تاريخي على ما سبق وذكرناه. ففي التسعينات، كانت التجارة والاستثمار الخارجي لغةَ الغرب الدبلوماسية. وقد ركّزت نصيحة الولايات المتحدة لأوروبا الشرقية ما بعد الشيوعية على إشاعة التحرّر الاقتصادي، أمّا الحوار مع الصين فقد ركّز على الروابط التجارية أكثر من حقوق الإنسان وإشاعة الديمقراطية. وقد شكّل عمل الرئيس الأمريكي بيل كلينتون لتسوية العلاقات التجارية مع الصين عام 1999 ودعم عضوية الصين في منظمة التجارة العالمية، خير دليلٍ على هذا المنطق وعلى البراغماتية الأمريكية في تلك الفترة. ومنذ التسوية التجارية، تجنّبت الولايات المتحدة الخلاف مع الصين. ومنذ عام 2000، وعلى الرغم من تفاقُم المخاوف الأمنية في السنوات الـ16 الأخيرة، شهدت الدولتان نموًّا اقتصاديًا ومكسبًا مشتركَين. ولم تتمكّن الروابط التجارية من إلغاء الخلافات، لكنّها جعلت من ثمن خوض الحرب باهظًا جدًا على الطرفين.

ويستثمر عددٌ من الشركات الكورية اليوم في إيران على غرار هيونداي ميبو Hyundai Mipo وهيونداي هيفي إندستري  Hyundai Heavy Industry، فضلًا عن المصارف الإنمائية كبنك التصدير والاستيراد الكوري (KEXIM). وفي نفس الوقت هناك عقود وروابط اقتصادية لكوريا في المملكة العربية السعودية، فشركة هيونداي هيفي إندستري  إحدى المؤسسات التي تبني محطاتٍ بحرية في المملكة من أجل تسهيل عمليات تصدير النفط وتكريره والإنتاج البتروكيميائي. والمثير للاهتمام أنّ  كِلا المملكة العربية السعودية وإيران تسعيان إلى تنويع اقتصاديهما من خلال الاستثمار في مشاريع البنى التحتية، بما فيها محطات توليد الطاقة المتجددة وأنظمة الرعاية الصحية والمعالجة البيتروكيميائية. ويعتمد البلَدان على الخبرات والاستثمارات الأجنبية (الكورية مثلًا) من أجل تحقيق هذه الأهداف. وتعتمد خطة رؤية 2030 الخاصة بالمملكة العربية السعودية على قدرة البلاد على تعزيز تصديرها التقليدي للنفط الخام بسلسلةٍ من خطوط الاستخراج والتكرير والإنتاج الكيميائي.

وتشكّل الشراكات الاستراتيجية مع إحدى أشهر التكتلات الصناعية الآسيوية العامّة المثال الأنسب. فقد بدأت شركة هيونداي كجزءٍ من التشيبول العظيم للصناعة العامة، منذ أن تمّت خصخصتها وقُسّمت إلى شركاتٍ منفصلة مثل هيونداي هيفي إندستري وهي (إحدى أكبر شركات بناء السفن في العالم)، وهيونداي إنجينيرنغ أند كونستراكشن Hyundai Engineering and Construction وهيونداي ميبو وهي (شركة عالمية متخصصة في صناعة الناقلات البحرية). وقد بنت السعودية، وشركتها الرائدة أرامكو، شراكةً مع هذه المؤسسات نفسها من أجل تحقيق أهداف التنوّع الاقتصادي. وتشتري المملكة أيضًا أسهمًا في هذه الشركات، بما في ذلك استثمارات مهمّة في شركتَي هيونداي ميبو وبوسكو.

والجدير بالذكر في هذا السياق، أنّ شركة كيبكو الكورية (Korea Electric Power Corporation – KEPCO) تؤدّي الدور الأساسي في بناء محطات الغاز والطاقة المتجددة والنووية في كل من إيران ودول مجلس التعاون الخليجي (كالإمارات العربية المتحدة والمملكة العربية السعودية). وإنّ الحكومة السعودية ناشطةٌ في بناء الشراكات من خلال قطاعها الخاص وقطاعها العام والمستثمرين الأجانب من أجل تمويل هذه المشاريع الضخمة. وقد ضمّ مشروع الطاقة المستقل – الذي أعاد تمويل محطة رابغ 1 السعودية لتوليد الكهرباء – دَينًا بقيمة 1.825 مليار دولار أمريكي في منشأةٍ مشتركة بين أكوا باور وكيبكو والشركة السعودية للكهرباء. ففي هذه الحالة، يكون التمويل المشترك انتقالًا من نموذج الشركة السعودية الحكومية، ما يوزّع الخطر الاقتصادي بين الحكومة والشركات الخاصة والمستثمرين الأجانب. وتعني الملكية المشتركة أنّه في حال فشلت مشاريع الشركاء في مواقع أخرى (في إيران مثلًا)، قد يؤثّر ذلك سلبًا على المشاريع داخل المملكة. ويشكّل نموذج مشروع الطاقة المستقل (IPP) جزءًا من جهود المملكة العربية السعودية للاتكال بشكلٍ أكبر على القطاع الخاص من أجل تنشيط النمو ( وبالتالي تسديد تكاليف مشاريع تطوير البنى التحتية). وتتحلى المملكة من خلال الشراكات والملكية المشتركة للمشاريع بالمزيد من المرونة المالية، إلّا أنّ هذه الاستراتيجية تربط مستقبل المملكة العربية السعودية بمنشآتٍ مرتبطة بالقدر عينه بمستقبل خصمها إيران. وتشير العمليات الإيرانية الخاصة بشركة كيبكو والعقد بقيمة 10 مليارات دولار أمريكي الذي أبرمته بالتوازي مع شركة تافانير (Tavanir) الإيرانية إلى هذا الترابط الاقتصادي. وسوف يرتبط نجاح مشروع رؤية 2030 السعودي بنجاح هذه الشركات والشراكات والمؤسسات التي تستثمر فيها الحكومة.

أمّا بالنسبة للدول الخليجية، فما زالت أمامها فرصةٌ لرسم طريقها بنفسها في زمنٍ من التردد حيال العولمة، وتكوين نماذجه الخاصة من الحوكمة الاقتصادية وتصوّر سلامٍ رأسمالي مع الدول المجاورة. وما فتأت مخاوف دول الخليج الأمنية تتفاقم في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا، وتتأجج في ظلّ الحرب السورية والاضطرابات العراقية والتهديد الإيراني المحسوس. إلّا أنّه على الرغم من الخطر الفعلي الذي يطرق بابها، ما زالت الدول الخليجية، وأهمّها الإمارات العربية المتحدة والمملكة العربية السعودية، تبني روابط اقتصادية مع خصمها الإقليمي، وذلك بشكلٍ أساسي من خلال الشركات “الوسيطة” التي تتمتّع بالخبرات التي تحتاجها الدولتان في مجال تطوير البنى التحتية. ولا تزال هذه الروابط أوليةً ولا تدلّ  على أيّ تغييرٍ في السياسة الخارجية. إلّا أنّ هذا النوع من الالتزامات ومكامن النفوذ المالية هو الذي يرفع من ثمن الخلاف ويجعله متعارضًا مع الأهداف المشتركة الكامنة في النمو والتنوّع الاقتصاديَين.

ماركت واتش Market Watch مدوّنةٌ أسبوعية من إعداد الباحثة المقيمة الأولى في معهد دول الخليج العربية في واشنطن كارين إ. يونغ، وتهدف إلى تقديم آراء من نقاط التقاء مجالَي السياسة والمال في منطقة الخليج.

July 29, 2016

The Korean Connection

South Korean President Park Geun-hye, left, speaks with media in a joint press conference with Iranian President Hassan Rouhani after their meeting in Tehran, Iran on May 2. (AP Photo/Ebrahim Noroozi)

There is an important, and unexpected, interlocutor in Saudi-Iranian relations right now. Engineering firms, power developers, ship builders, and terminal operators are doing the hard work of meeting the demands of economic diversification plans of both Saudi Arabia and Iran. Many of these key firms are South Korean, part of the chaebol, or formerly state-owned industrial conglomerates that led to the great East Asian miracle of industrialization and economic development that transformed South Korea from a sleepy agricultural-based, patriarchal economy to a leading capitalist democracy of the 21st century. The interesting connection between Korea and rival states on opposite sides of the Gulf is that not only are newly public Korean firms able to garner multibillion dollar contracts (some in very politically sensitive fields like nuclear energy) from clients who are adversaries, but some of these firms are also partially owned by Saudi Arabia. Riyadh is investing in the companies that are driving its infrastructure projects and diversification aims. Saudi Arabia is also, de facto, investing in the infrastructure projects and diversification aims of Iran, through their shared Korea connection.

The logic of economic interdependence is that trade promotes peace, or so the capitalist peace envisioned by the philosopher Immanuel Kant, and later the economist and political scientist Joseph Schumpeter, would have it. Countries that trade together and share some economic relations are less likely to go to war with each other (though they are not necessarily less prone to conflict). The more integrated economies become, not just in the ability to impact another country by virtue of a single export (e.g. oil) in a stylized vertical integration, but more so in the ability to be horizontally integrated across many areas of trade and services, the more we see the political benefits of economic interdependence. At a moment of isolationism, anti-immigrant sentiment, and sectarian conflict in world politics, there are some indications that economic ties might help bridge these divides.

U.S.-China relations are one good historical example. Through the 1990s, trade and foreign investment was the language of diplomacy from the West. The U.S. advice to post-communist Eastern Europe focused on economic liberalization; dialogue with China focused on trade ties over human rights and democratization. U.S. President Bill Clinton’s work to normalize trade relations with China in 1999, and support for China’s membership in the World Trade Organization, were emblematic of this logic and American pragmatism of the time. Since trade normalization, the United States has avoided conflict with China. Since 2000, even as security concerns have increased in the last 16 years, there has been mutual economic growth and mutual benefit. Trade ties have not made disagreements go away, but they have made it costly for both sides to militarize conflict.

There are a number of high profile investments in Iran by Korean firms like Hyundai Mipo and Hyundai Heavy Industry, and development banks  such as Korea’s Export Import bank. There are simultaneous contracts and ties in Saudi Arabia. Hyundai Heavy Industry is one firm that is building marine terminals in Saudi Arabia to facilitate petroleum exports, but also refining and petrochemical production. The interesting parallel is that both Saudi Arabia and Iran seek to diversify their economies with investment in infrastructure, including renewable power plants, health care systems, and petrochemical processing. Both countries are relying on external (e.g. Korean) expertise and investment to achieve these goals. Saudi Arabia’s Vision 2030 plan relies on the kingdom’s ability to complement its traditional crude export with a range of mining, refining, and chemical production lines.

Strategic partnerships with one of Asia’s best known state-owned conglomerates turned public is a prime example. Hyundai began as part of the great chaebol of state-owned industry, since privatized and divided into separate corporates like Hyundai Heavy Industry (one of the world’s largest ship builders), Hyundai Engineering and Construction, and Hyundai Mipo (global tanker specialists). Saudi Arabia, and its flagship company Saudi Aramco, have partnered with these same firms to achieve economic diversification goals. Saudi Arabia is also buying stakes in these companies, including substantial investments in Hyundai Mipo and Posco.

Interestingly, the major player in gas, renewable, and nuclear energy power plant construction in both Iran and the Gulf Cooperation Council (i.e. the United Arab Emirates and Saudi Arabia) is Korea Electric Power Corporation (KEPCO). The Saudi government is actively partnering through its private sector, public sector, and foreign investors to finance these complex projects. The recent independent power project (IPP) refinancing of Ribagh I, a large electricity plant in Saudi Arabia, included $1.825 billion of debt in an entity jointly owned by ACWA Power, KEPCO, and Saudi Electricity Company. In this case, the joint financing is a departure from Saudi Arabia’s state-owned enterprise model in that it spreads risk among the government and private companies and foreign investors. The joint ownership means that if partners’ projects in other locations (like Iran) fail, there could be an adverse effect on operations inside Saudi Arabia. The IPP model is part of the Saudi effort to rely more on the private sector to stimulate growth (and pay for infrastructure development). The use of partnerships and shared ownership of projects gives Saudi Arabia more flexibility financially, but it also ties Saudi Arabia’s economic future to entities that are equally committed to the future of its rival Iran. KEPCO’s Iranian operations and simultaneous $10 billion agreement with Iran’s Power Generation and Transmission Company speaks to this interdependence. The success of Saudi Arabia’s Vision 2030 will be tied up in the success of these firms and partnerships, companies in which the government invests.

For the Gulf states, there is opportunity to chart their own course in an era of second thoughts on globalization, devising their own models of economic statecraft and envisioning a capitalist peace with their neighbors. Gulf states’ security concerns in the Middle East and North Africa region are only increasing, heightened by the drawn out war in Syria, the disorder in Iraq, and the perceived menace of Iran. Yet, in spite of these very real dangers at their doorsteps, Gulf states, notably Saudi Arabia and the UAE, are growing economic ties with their regional adversary, mostly through interlocutor firms with the infrastructure development expertise both states need. The ties are incipient and not an indication of a redirection of foreign policy; however, it is these kinds of financial commitments and leverage that will make conflict more costly, and incompatible with mutual objectives of economic growth and diversification.

Market Watch is a blog conceived by AGSIW Senior Resident Scholar Karen E. Young seeking to provide insights from the crossroads of Gulf politics and finance.