December 16, 2016

المقايضة المادية ستكون محرك السياسات الخارجية والاقتصادية في الخليج

محمد العابر، في الوسط، رئيس مجلس إدارة شركة "إعمار"، يشارك في مؤتمر صحفي في دبي، في الإمارات العربية المتحدة، في الخامس من أيلول/سبتمبر (صورة من وكالة الأسوشيتد برس/ بعدسة كمران جبريلي)

من المرجح أن تتبع إدارة ترامب الجديدة نظرة قائمة بشكلٍ أكبر على المقايضة المادية في السياسة الخارجية الأمريكية نحو الشرق الأوسط، ولاسيما نحو دول الخليج. وفي ما يمكن اعتباره تحذيرًا من التغيرات التي ستطرأ، وجّه وزير الدفاع الأمريكي آشتون كارتر رسالة واضحة في حوار المنامة في البحرين في 10 كانون الثاني/ديسمبر، فقال بصراحة للحضور المؤلف من صانعي السياسات والمحللين والعسكريين الخليجيين إن الولايات المتحدة تتوقع من الدول الخليجية أن تبذل جهدًا أكبر للمحافظة على السلام والأمن الإقليميين. وباختصار، يتعيّن على دول الخليج أن تتحضّر لزيادة تدخلاتها في الشرق الأوسط، أي أنه يتعيّن عليها أن تتفاوض على التسويات السياسية للنزاعات ولتقديم الدعم الاقتصادي الضروري لإعادة بناء سوريا واليمن ولإعادة الاستقرار إلى مصر.

ولقد ركّز النهج الأمريكي الإقليمي في ظل حكم الرئيس باراك أوباما على المبيعات العسكرية وتبادل المعلومات الاستخباراتية، فيما كان القادة في الخليج يحاولون جاهدين من أجل صياغة استراتيجية سياسية إقليمية متماسكة. ويزيد انعدام الوحدة الأمنية والسياسية في مجلس التعاون الخليجي من احتياجات وممارسات العلاقات الثنائية ضمن الدول الخليجية ولاسيما في ما يتعلق بتجارتها العالمية وشركائها في الاستثمار، علمًا أن إقامة الصفقات ذات الأهداف السياسية والاقتصادية تقليدٌ خليجي تاريخي متجذّر في ثقافة التاجر. وتشير العلاقات الثنائية الحالية أو الاقتران السياسي الحاصل إلى تباين وجهات النظر في كنف الدول الخليجية بشأن مصادر الازدهار والاستقرار المستقبلية.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك تواجه حكومات دول الخليج العربية مطالب ملحّة للأداء الاقتصادي. فإن النماذج التي تعتمدها بقيادة الدولة لتطوير اقتصادها تقوم على استراتيجية استثمارية تركّز كثيرًا على الشق الخارجي. ولقد موّلت عائدات تصدير الموارد الطبيعية استثمارات الدولة في الخارج، التي ضاعفت بدورها ثروات البلاد. وفي الواقع، إن إدخال الصناديق السيادية الخليجية وانتشارها في أسواق الأسهم في نيويورك ولندن وهونغ كونغ – وكذلك الأمر لشركات العقارات وشركات الامتيازات – قد نقل بمجلس التعاون الخليجي من الهامش الإقليمي إلى زيادة الأدوار التي يؤديها في أمن الشرق الأوسط وأسواق رؤوس الأموال الدولية. ولقد باتت هذه الثروة تلقي مسؤولية كبرى على كاهل السياسة الخارجية الإقليمية إذ تُعلَّق الآمال حول إمكانية تحفيز الحكومات للنمو الاقتصادي بما يعود بالفائدة على المواطنين الأفراد وليس على الدولة أو الأسر الحاكمة فحسب.

ويظهر توجهان متصلان: ترتكز استثمارات ضخمة مع شركاء جدد على نطاق إقليمي وتقتصر على القطاعات الرئيسية. وتتضمّن هذه القطاعات التكنولوجيا والبنية التحتية والطاقة.

بالنسبة إلى الإمارات العربية المتحدة، إن المملكة العربية السعودية هي مركز العلاقات الثنائية في ما يتعلّق بالأمن والاستثمار. وتستثمر الإمارات سياسيًا في جدول أعمال الإصلاح الاقتصادي السعودي، فيما تأمل السعودية أن تحصل على بعض من الازدهار التجاري في دبي. وتشكل التجارة الإلكترونية إحدى القطاعات التي توفّر نموًا واعدًا، ويعود ذلك إلى أن الإنترنت والهواتف الذكية مستخدمة بشكل شائع في دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي، إذ يستخدم أكثر من ثلثي السكان الإنترنت وتفوق نسبة مستخدميه 90 بالمئة في الإمارات العربية المتحدة وقطر، ومن المنطقي بالتالي أن تتمثل الخطوة القادمة بزيادة التجارة الإلكترونية. أما العوائق فتتمثّل بإيلاء الأولوية على الصعيد المحلي للمعاملات النقدية فضلا عن وسائل إيصال الطلبات ومشاكل إنتاج وتوزيع المنتجات، لربّما بالإضافة إلى احتمال أن تقوّض المعاملات الإلكترونية نماذجَ مركز التسوق العقاري التي تهيمن حاليًا على الأماكن العامة الخليجية والأنماط الاستهلاكية. ووفقًا لتقرير صادر عن شركة “آت كيرني، لا تشكّل التجارة الإلكترونية حاليًا سوى نسبة 0.4 بالمئة من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي، ويساوي حجمها في السوق 5.3 مليار دولار، إلا أنها قد تزيد أربعة أضعاف بحلول العام 2020.

screen-shot-2016-12-22-at-10-13-03-am

إن الإعلان عن إطلاق شركة “نون” للتجارة الإلكترونية التي أسسها محمد العابر، رئيس مجلس إدارة شركة “إعمار” العقارية العملاقة في الإمارات العربية المتحدة ودبي، يشير إلى أن الحكومات الخليجية تعتزم الحفاظ على حصّة مهمة تخولها التحكم في تنويع اقتصاداتها. وشركة “إعمار” هي شركة للتداول العام في بورصة دبي، إلا أن حكومة دبي قد استخدمت ذراعها الاستثمارية، أي مؤسسة دبي للاستثمارات الحكومية، لتستحوذ على حصة كبيرة (ما يقارب 30 بالمئة) من الشركة. وغالبًا ما تتقاطع مصالح العابر التجارية مع الاستثمارات السياسية الفيدرالية لإمارة دبي والإمارات العربية المتحدة، بما في ذلك الدور الذي يضطلع فيه في المشاريع العقارية في مصر، التي تدعمها الحكومة الفيدرالية لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. تعود ملكية شركة “نون” للقطاع الخاص، ولكن من منظار الدول الخليجية، فإنها قد تأسست على أيدي مستثمرين من القطاع الخاص تربطهم صلة متينة أو مباشرة بموارد الدولة. وفي هذا السياق تشمل مجموعة المستثمرين حصّةً بقيمة 500 مليون دولار مصدرها صندوق الاستثمارات العامة السعودي.

وعلى غرار ذلك، يتطلّع بنك “إنفستكور“، الذي يتخذ من البحرين مقرًا له، إلى الاستثمار في المملكة العربية السعودية، دعمًا لجدول أعمال الإصلاح الاقتصادي التي وضعته المملكة. وتعتبر مشاركة الصندوق في السوق السعودية نفعيّة، إلا أنها دليل على ثقة المستثمر بالقطاع الخاص السعودي. و”إنفستكور” شركة يملكها القطاع الخاص، مع استثمارات ثنائية إضافية بين الإمارات العربية المتحدة والبحرين، مما يؤكد، وبشكل مباشر أكثر، على الالتزامات بالتطور الاقتصادي المتبادل. وكان قد أعلن صندوق أبوظبي للتنمية في أوائل العام 2016 أنه سيسدد معظم التكاليف التي تترتب عن توسيع مطار البحرين، أي ما يقارب المليار دولار، كجزء من صندوق أكبر للاستثمار في البنية التحتية لدعم البحرين، على غرار ما أعلنت عنه المملكة العربية السعودية والكويت والإمارات العربية المتحدة.

وعندما تؤمن الدول الخليجية شركاء لها في الاستثمار من خارج المنطقة، تبدو الحسابات الجديدة متمحورًة حول قطاعات بعينها فضلا عن هدف تحقيق المنفعة السياسية، مع تشكيل التكنولوجيا والطاقة هدفين رئيسيين. فلقد اتفق صندوق الاستثمارات العامة في السعودية مع مصرف  “سوفت بنك” الياباني على بناء صندوق للتكنولوجيا بقيمة 100 مليار دولار. وتعتبر اليابان شريكًا رئيسيًا للمملكة العربية السعودية في المبادرة التي اتخذتها لصياغة رؤية السعودية 2030، كمستثمر في البنية التحتية، ومصدر تمويل وأكبر مشتر لصادرات النفط. ومن المرجح أن يستهدف هذا الصندوق بعض الاستثمارات داخل الخليج، إلا أن تأثيره سيكون عالميًا.

هذا واشترى صندوق الثروة السيادية القطري وجهاز قطر للاستثمار وشركة تجارة السلع الدولية “جلينكور” حصة بقيمة 19.5 بالمائة من الخصخصة الجزئية الحديثة لشركة الغاز الروسية العملاقة “روسنفت”. فإن احتمال تعاون قطر مع دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي المجاورة حول شؤون النمو الاقتصادي الداخلي أو الشراكات الأمنية الإقليمية أقل من احتمال دخولها في شراكة مع منافس في أسواق الغاز العالمية. إذ يعتبر استثمار “روسنفت” وسيلة للقطريين للمحافظة على موقف تفاوضي في مواجهة سياسة خارجية روسية مغايرة في الشرق الأوسط، فيما يضمنون هوامش أرباحهم من حصّة كبيرة يمتلكونها في شركة منافسة. هذا وسارع القطريّون إلى الإعلان عن استعدادهم للدخول في شراكة مع إدارة ترامب القادمة وجدول أعمالها الاستثمارية في البنية التحتية.

وبالنسبة إلى عُمان، على غرار قطر، فتميل إلى النظر خارج مجلس التعاون الخليجي للشراكات الاستثمارية. فمساهمة عُمان المالية في إيران، في التعدين، والصناعات التحويلية والبنية التحتية للنقل، تشير إلى أنها باتت تعتمد طريقة حسابية مغايرة للبحث عن مصادر النمو الاقتصادي المستقبلية.

مبدأ المقايضة المادية لن يكون حقًا حصريًا للرئيس المنتخب دونالد ترامب، حيث أن الظاهرة الجديدة العالمية لفوز الشعوبيين والقوميين في الانتخابات في الولايات المتحدة وغيرها من الدول ستقوّض الجهود المتعددة الأطراف الرامية إلى إحلال الاستقرار الاقتصادي في الشرق الأوسط وإعادة إعماره في مرحلة ما بعد النزاعات. وبات القادة الخليجيون يدركون أنه، وفي ظل فوز الحركات الشعوبية في الغرب، من غير المرجح أن يشهدوا على تدخل تام للقوى الخارجية في نزاعات المنطقة. وبالتالي، ستولي دول الخليج الأولوية إلى رفع مستوى التعاون الاقتصادي الإقليمي في ما يخص الشؤون الأمنية والسياسية الثنائية. قد يأتي عام 2017 بعصر جديد من إقامة الصفقات في السياسات الاقتصادية والخارجية، مما سيضعف الشراكات الطويلة الأمد والالتزامات الأمنية المتعددة الأطراف التي بنيت في الماضي.
كارين إ. يونغ هي من كبار الباحثين المقيمين في معهد دول الخليج العربية في واشنطن.

December 16, 2016

Transactional Partnerships To Define Foreign and Economic Policy in the Gulf

Mohammed Alaabar, center, chairman of Emaar, takes part in a press conference in Dubai, United Arab Emirates, Sept. 5. (AP Photo/Kamran Jebreili)

The new Trump administration will likely offer a more transactional view of U.S. foreign policy toward the Middle East, and specifically toward the Gulf states. In perhaps a warning of shifts to come, there was a clear message from U.S. Secretary of Defense Ashton Carter at the Manama Dialogue in Bahrain on December 10. Carter bluntly told an audience of Gulf policymakers, analysts, and military staff that the United States would expect the Gulf Arab states to do more in maintaining regional peace and security. In short, Gulf states should prepare to mount their own interventions in the Middle East, i.e., to negotiate political settlements of conflicts and provide the economic support necessary for the rebuilding of Syria and Yemen and the stabilization of Egypt.

Under President Barack Obama, the U.S. regional approach has focused on military sales and intelligence sharing, while Gulf leaders struggle to articulate a cohesive regional political strategy. The lack of a security and political union in the Gulf Cooperation Council reinforces the needs and practices of bilateral ties among the Gulf states, particularly in their global trade and investment partners. Deal making with both political and economic aims is a long-standing Gulf tradition of merchant culture. The bilateral ties, or pairing off, underway suggests divergent views inside the Gulf of future sources of prosperity and stability.

Gulf Arab governments are facing intense demands for economic performance. Their state-led economic development models have been sustained by a very outward-focused investment strategy. Revenue from the export of natural resources has funded state investments abroad, which in turn has multiplied wealth. In fact, the introduction and proliferation of Gulf sovereign wealth funds in equity markets in New York, London, and Hong Kong, along with global real estate and franchise holdings, have catapulted the Gulf Cooperation Council states from the regional sideline to increasing roles in Middle East security and international capital markets. This wealth now brings great responsibility, in regional foreign policy and the expectation that governments can stimulate economic growth for individual citizens, not just the state or ruling families.

Two related trends are emerging: Substantial new partner investments are both regional in scope and limited to key sectors. These key sectors include technology, infrastructure, and energy.

For the United Arab Emirates, the key bilateral relationship in both security and investment is Saudi Arabia. The UAE is politically invested in the Saudi economic reform agenda, while Saudi Arabia hopes to capture some of the commercial effervescence of Dubai. E-commerce is one sector that offers promising growth. Because Internet and smartphone use is so prevalent in the GCC, with more than two-thirds of the population using the Internet, and exceeding 90 percent in the UAE and Qatar, the next step is logically increased electronic commerce. The obstacles have been local preferences for cash transactions, service delivery, and supply chain issues, as well as perhaps a threat to the shopping mall real estate models that currently dominate Gulf public spaces and consumer patterns. According to a report by AT Kearney, e-commerce is currently only 0.4 percent of the region’s gross domestic product, with a market size of about $5.3 billion, but has the capacity to increase fourfold by 2020.

gcc-e-commerce-market-size

The announcement in November of the launch of Noon, an e-commerce company founded by Mohammed Alaabar, chairman of the UAE (and Dubai Inc.) real estate giant Emaar, signals that Gulf governments intend to maintain a controlling stake in the diversification of their economies. Emaar is a publicly traded company on the Dubai exchange, yet the government of Dubai, through its investment arm – the Investment Corporation of Dubai – retains a significant stake (nearly 30 percent) in the company. Alaabar’s business interests have often overlapped with both the emirate of Dubai’s and the UAE’s federal political investments, including his role in real estate projects in Egypt, which the UAE federal government has supported. Noon is privately owned, but only in the Gulf sense, in that it was founded by private investors with strong or even direct links to state resources. The investor group includes a $500 million stake from the Saudi Public Investment Fund.

Likewise, Bahrain-based Investcorp is eyeing investments in Saudi Arabia, in support of the kingdom’s economic reform agenda. The fund’s participation in the Saudi market is opportunistic, but also a signal of investor confidence in the Saudi private sector. Investcorp is a privately held firm, but there are additionally bilateral, state-to-state investments between the UAE and Bahrain, which demonstrate more directly commitments to mutual economic development. The Abu Dhabi Fund for Development announced in early 2016 it would pay the majority of the costs, nearly $1 billion, of the expansion of the Bahraini airport, as part of a larger infrastructure investment fund supporting Bahrain announced by Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, and the UAE in 2011.

When Gulf states secure investment partners outside of the region, new calculations seem to be sector focused as well as politically expedient. Technology and energy are major targets. Saudi Arabia’s Public Investment Fund has joined with SoftBank of Japan to build a $100 billion technology fund. Japan is a key partner for Saudi Arabia in its Vision 2030 initiative, as an investor in infrastructure, a source of finance, and a top purchaser of oil exports. The new fund will likely target some investments inside the Gulf, but its reach will be global.

The Qatari sovereign wealth fund, the Qatar Investment Authority, and the commodities trader Glencore have bought a 19.5 percent stake in the new partial privatization of Russian state gas giant Rosneft. The Qataris are less likely to collaborate with their GCC neighbors on domestic economic development, or regional security partnerships, but they are likely to partner with a competitor in global gas markets. The Rosneft investment is a way for the Qataris to maintain a bargaining position with divergent Russian foreign policy in the Middle East, while also hedging their profit margins with a major stake in a competitor. The Qataris have also been quick to indicate a willingness to partner with an incoming Trump administration and its infrastructure investment agenda.

For Oman, like Qatar, the strategic investment partnerships tend to look outside of the GCC. Oman’s financial engagement with Iran, in mining, manufacturing, and transport infrastructure point to a different calculation of the sources of future economic growth.

President-elect Donald Trump has no exclusive claim on transactional foreign policy. However, the emerging global trend in electoral victories of populists and nationalists in the United States and elsewhere will undermine multilateral efforts at economic stabilization and post-conflict reconstruction in the Middle East. Gulf leaders have come to a realization that with the gains of populist movements in the West, they are unlikely to see fuller engagement in the region’s conflicts by external powers. Hence, the Gulf states will prioritize an increased level of regional economic cooperation along bilateral political and security lines. 2017 could herald a new era of deal making in foreign and economic policy, weakening long-term partnerships and multilateral security commitments of the past.

Market Watch is a blog conceived by AGSIW Senior Resident Scholar Karen E. Young seeking to provide insights from the crossroads of Gulf politics and finance.