April 6, 2017

الإمارات العربية المتحدة: إستراتيجية الأمن القومي الناهضة

طائرة مروحية عسكرية إماراتية من طراز شينوك تهبط في قاعدة عسكرية بالقرب من صافر، اليمن، في 14 أيلول/ سبتمبر 2015 (الصورة لوكالة أسوشيتد برس/ آدام شريك).

تواجه الإمارات العربية المتحدة تحديات خطيرة ولكنها تتمتّع في الوقت عينه بأمكانيات ملفتة للانتباه؛ فطوّرت نتيجة ذلك استراتيجية أمن قومي مميزة وغير مسبوقة من نواحي متعددة. وتُعدّ الإمارات من بين أصغر دول العالم ولا سيّما ديموغرافيًا إذ يبلغ عدد سكانها حوالى 1.5 مليون نسمة ليس إلا، ولكنها من أغنى الدول من حيث نصيب الفرد. إنها سابع أكبر منتج دولي للنفط وتمتلك 6% من احتياطي النفط المؤكد في العالم. وتقع الإمارات أيضًا في منطقة استراتيجية جدًا وشديدة التقلّب على طول ساحل الخليج الجنوبي الشرقي وتحدّ بها المملكة العربية السعودية وسلطنة عُمان. أما حدودها الشمالية فتقع قرب نقطة بحرية حساسة، مضيق هرمز، ويفصل بينها وبين إيران كتلة مائية ضيقة.

ونظرًا لطبيعة الإمارات الجغرافية والديموغرافية ومواردها الطبيعية، تعيّن عليها أن تتعامل مع مخاوف أمنية معقدة للغاية مع العلم أن القيود والأصول التي تملكها استثنائية جدًا. ومنذ أن تشكّلت الإمارات في عام 1971 أدركت قيادتها الوطنية أن التحدي الأكبر الذي تواجهه الإمارات يكمن في كيفية تخطي مشكلة عدد سكانها القليل نسبيًا. فسعت إلى القيام بذلك عن طريق التخطيط الطويل الأمد، بما في ذلك التنمية الاقتصادية والعسكرية المنهجية والاستثمار في الرأس المال البشري في الدولة وشمل النساء على نحو متزايد في القطاعات كافة وتطوير حلول وابتكارات تكنولوجية واستقدام العمالة الأجنبية. وسعت الإمارات منذ أيامها الأولى إلى استخدام مواردها المالية والقوة الناعمة عن طريق الإعانات والتنمية من أجل إقامة علاقات صداقة دولية وتعزيز وجهات نظرها والدفاع عن مصالحها وتحسين سمعتها ولا سيما في البلدان العربية والإسلامية.

وبنت الإمارات بتروٍ قدراتها الدفاعية المستقلة. وعلى مرّ العقود، بنت على نحو منهجي أصولًا عسكرية صغيرة نسبيًا وإنما متطورة مثل القوات الجوية والقوات الخاصة إلى جانب الأسلحة الهجومية والدفاعية العالية التقنية. ومع تزايد قدرات الدولة العسكرية، أصبحت الإمارات أكثر استعدادًا لاستخدام القوة، بالاشتراك مع بعض التحالفات عادة، لتأمين مصالحها الحيوية. وقد استخدمت قوتها القسرية هذه جنبًا إلى جنب مع نهج القوة الناعمة التقليدي. ولا بدّ من الإشارة إلى أن الإمارات قد دخلت في المراحل الأولى من تطوير صناعتها الدفاعية المحلية أيضًا.

وأنشأت الإمارات بعناية مجموعة من التحالفات الاستراتيجية والعسكرية الحيوية وبخاصة مع المملكة العربية السعودية وأعضاء مجلس التعاون الخليجي الآخرين فضلًا عن الولايات المتحدة. وتسعى الدولة إلى القيام بكل ما في وسعها لنفسها ولكنها تدرك أن الكثير مما يتعين عليها إنجازه لضمان مصالحها الحيوية ينبغي أن يتم بالتعاون مع الآخرين. وتشكّل مجلس التعاون الخليجي في عام 1981 كردّ مباشر على الأزمة الأمنية التي عصفت ببلدان الخليج العربية في أعقاب الثورة الإيرانية في عام 1979 واندلاع الحرب الإيرانية العراقية في عام 1981. ولطالما ركّز مجلس التعاون الخليجي وأعضاؤه، ومن ضمنهم الإمارات، منذ تأسيسه وحتى يومنا هذا على الدفاع عن الأمن الإقليمي والاستقرار في وجه التهديدات النابعة من إيران والصراعات الإقليمية. ومن نواح هامة، تحوّلت الإمارات إلى أهم حليف لواشنطن في الخليج ويجمع بينهما تعاون عسكري واستخباراتي وثيق يعكس الثقة والاحترام اللذين يكنهما كبار القادة الأمريكيين للجيش الإماراتي.

إن تدخل الإمارات في اليمن الذي بدأ في عام 2015 والذي تقوده في المقام الأول السعودية في الشمال والإمارات في الجنوب يشكّل ربما أفضل دليل على استعداد الإمارات المتزايد للعمل العسكري من أجل تأمين مصالحها. ولدعم هذه الحملة واكتساب أهمية استراتيجية أكبر بشكل عام، أنشأت الإمارات مؤخرًا قواعد عسكرية في القرن الأفريقي ولا سيما في مدينة عصب في إريتريا. ومن أجل دعم هذا التوسّع الاستراتيجي، وبناءً على المنطق المتّبع، سيتعيّن على الإمارات بشكل مؤكّد تطوير قدراتها البحرية أكثر بعد في العقود القادمة.

وإلى جانب قدرات الإمارات العسكرية التقليدية، تلتزم هذه الأخيرة بشدة بجهود مكافحة الإرهاب والتطرّف. وتركز معظم حملة الإمارات العسكرية في جنوب اليمن على عمليات مكافحة العصيان ضد تنظيم القاعدة في شبه الجزيرة العربية وغيرها من المجموعات المتطرفة، وشاركت أيضًا باندفاع في بداية الحرب الجوية في سوريا ضد تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية في العراق والشام (داعش). وتعتمد الإمارات الخط الأكثر تشدّدًا من بين الحكومات العربية كافة، باستثناء مصر ربما، تجاه الإسلاميين بشكل عام وتعتبرهم كجزء من سلسلة متصلة من التطرّف. وهي لا تخلط بين جماعة الإخوان المسلمين والقاعدة وداعش أو الميليشيات الشيعية الموالية لإيران ولكنها تعتبرها كافة كأشكال مختلفة للتطرّف ولا تتعارض بشكل قاطع.

وبالإضافة إلى مبادرات مكافحة الإرهاب والتطرّف، تستثمر الإمارات بقوّة في الأمن السيبراني وتستخدم التكنولوجيا لمكافحة المجرمين السيبرانيين وأحيانًا المعارضين السياسيين المحليين. وأعربت منظمات حقوق الإنسان عن قلقها في ما يتعلّق ببعض هذه الحالات.

تتابع هذه الدراسة تطور استراتيجية الأمن القومي الإماراتية كما ظهرت في هذه السياقات وتركّز على النقاط الرئيسية التالية:

  • حشد مواردها البشرية والطبيعية كافة فضلًا عن التركيز على التكنولوجيا للتعويض عن حجم البلد المتواضع وقلّة عدد السكان
  • بناء جيشها والبنى التحتية الأخرى المتعلقة بالأمن القومي بما في ذلك الأمن السيبراني
  • السعي للحصول على أهمية استراتيجية من خلال المنشآت العسكرية في الخارج ونشر الأصول والقدرات
  • التشديد على مركزية تحالفها الاستراتيجي مع المملكة العربية السعودية
  • الحفاظ على علاقات وثيقة مع الولايات المتحدة
  • الانخراط في الاقتصاد العالمي ومختلف جوانب الثقافة المعولمة الناشئة
  • معارضة كافة أشكال التطرّف الإسلامي
  • بذل جهود ثابتة للحد من انتشار النفوذ الإيراني في العالم العربي
  • استخدام “القوة الناعمة” كالمساعدات الإنسانية أو الإنمائية والاستثمارات إلى جانب “القوة القسرية” أحيانًا لتعزيز مصالحها
  • الحفاظ على تحالفها الأساسي مع دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي والدول العربية الأخرى والشركاء الدوليين وتطويره

وتحدد هذه الدراسة كيف تُطوَّر ركائز استراتيجية الأمن القومي الطموحة هذه وكيف تُطبَّق. وتدرس في هذا السياق سبب اقتناع الإمارات بعدم توفّر بدائل عن لعب دور إقليمي غير متناسب من حيث الأهمية على الصعيد الاقتصادي والدبلوماسي والسياسي والعسكري وكيف تتصرّف بناءً على هذا الاستنتاج. وفي النهاية، تقيّم هذه الدراسة الأثر الذي يتركه تنامي دور الإمارات ونفوذها على مجموعة من ديناميات الشرق الأوسط ومكانة الإمارات في المشهد الاستراتيجي في هذه المنطقة غير المستقرة ولكن الجوهرية.

April 6, 2017

The UAE’s Evolving National Security Strategy

An Emirati Chinook military helicopter lands at a military base near Saffer, Yemen, Sept. 14, 2015. (AP Photo/Adam Schreck)

Confronted with serious challenges, but also blessed with remarkable assets, the United Arab Emirates has developed a distinctive, and in some ways unprecedented, national security strategy. The UAE is one of the smaller countries in the world, especially demographically, with only about 1.5 million citizens, but is one of the wealthiest per capita. It is the seventh largest international petroleum producer, and possesses about 6 percent of the world’s proven oil reserves. It is also located in a highly strategic and volatile neighborhood, along the southeastern coast of the Gulf, bordering Saudi Arabia and Oman. Its northernmost point thrusts into the waters near a crucial maritime chokepoint, the Strait of Hormuz, and is separated from Iran by a narrow body of water.

Given its geography, demography, and natural resources, the UAE has had to cope with extraordinarily complex security concerns, and has both limitations and assets that are extremely unusual. From the time of its formation in 1971, the UAE’s national leadership recognized that the country’s biggest challenge was how to overcome its relatively small population. It sought to do this through careful long-term planning, including systematic economic and military development; investing in the country’s human capital, increasingly including women, in all sectors; developing technological solutions and innovations; and importing foreign labor. From its earliest days, the UAE sought to use its financial resources and the soft power of aid and development to build international friendships, promote its perspectives, defend its interests, and enhance its reputation, particularly in Arab and Muslim countries.

The UAE has quietly built its own independent defense capabilities. Over the decades, it has methodically constructed relatively small but sophisticated military assets such as its air force, special forces, and high-tech offensive and defensive weaponry. As this military capability has grown, the country has become more willing to use force, usually in conjunction with some set of allies, to secure its vital interests. And it has deployed these hard power capacities hand-in-hand with its more traditional soft power approaches. It is also at the beginning stages of developing its own domestic defense industry.

The UAE has carefully nurtured a set of crucial strategic and military alliances, especially with Saudi Arabia and the other Gulf Cooperation Council members, as well as the United States. The country seeks to do what it can for itself, but recognizes that much of what it needs to accomplish to secure its vital interests will have to be conducted in collaboration with others. The formation of the GCC in 1981 was a direct response to the security crisis facing the Gulf Arab countries due to the 1979 Iranian Revolution and the outbreak of the Iran-Iraq War in 1981. The focus of the GCC and its members, including the UAE, at the time of the council’s founding until the present day has been the defense of regional security, and stability in the face of threats emanating from Iran and regional conflicts. In important respects, the UAE has developed into Washington’s most important Gulf Arab ally, with close military and intelligence cooperation reflecting the trust and respect the Emirati military has earned from senior U.S. commanders.

The UAE’s increasing willingness to act militarily to secure its interests is perhaps best reflected in the intervention in Yemen that began in 2015, which is primarily led by Saudi Arabia in the north and the Emirates in the south. To support this campaign, and more broadly acquire greater strategic depth, the UAE has recently established military bases in the Horn of Africa, most notably at Assab in Eritrea. To sustain this strategic expansion, and build on its logic, the UAE will almost certainly have to develop greater bluewater naval capabilities in the coming decades.

In addition to its conventional military capabilities, the UAE is deeply committed to counterterrorism and counterradicalization efforts. Much of its military campaign in southern Yemen focuses on counterinsurgency operations against Al-Qaeda in the Arabian Peninsula and other extremist groups, and the UAE was an early and enthusiastic participant in the air war in Syria against the Islamic State in Iraq and the Levant. The UAE takes the hardest line of any Arab government, with the possible exception of Egypt, against Islamists in general, seeing them all as part of a continuum of radicalism. It does not conflate the Muslim Brotherhood with al-Qaeda and ISIL or pro-Iranian Shia militias, but it does regard them all as different iterations of extremism to be categorically opposed.

In addition to counterterrorism and counterradicalization initiatives, the UAE is investing heavily in cybersecurity, using technology to combat both cyber criminals and, at times, domestic political dissidents. Human rights organizations have raised concerns regarding some of these cases.

This paper tracks the evolution of the Emirati national security strategy as it has emerged in these contexts, emphasizing the following key points:

  • Mobilizing all its human and natural resources, as well as technology, to compensate for the country’s modest size and small population
  • Building its military and other national security-related infrastructure, including cybersecurity
  • Seeking strategic depth through overseas military installations and the forward deployment of assets and capabilities
  • Emphasizing the centrality of its strategic alliance with Saudi Arabia
  • Maintaining close ties with the United States
  • Engaging with the global economy and many aspects of emerging globalized culture
  • Opposing all forms of radical Islamism
  • Making a determined effort to limit the expansion of Iranian influence in the Arab world
  • Using “soft power,” such as humanitarian or development aid and investments, at times in conjunction with “hard power,” to promote its interests
  • Maintaining and developing its crucial alliance with GCC member states, other Arab countries, and international partners

This study outlines how these ambitious national security strategy pillars developed and are being pursued. In the process, it examines why the UAE is convinced it has few alternatives to playing a disproportionately significant economic, diplomatic, political, and military regional role, and how it is acting on that conclusion. And, finally, it assesses the impact this growing Emirati role and influence is having on a range of Middle Eastern dynamics, and where the UAE fits in the strategic landscape of this unsettled but still crucial region.