May 26, 2016

دولة عربستان الخليجية

قام إثنان من المهندسين المعماريين الشباب العرب من جامعة هارفارد الأمريكية للتصميم بتقديم مشروع تخطيط حضري يعمل على معالجة القضايا السياسية والإجتماعية في منطقة الخليج من خلال تجربة فكرية في التخطيط الحضري لمدينة عربية جديدة ويوتوبية من ناحية تصميمها. حيث تصور حامد بوخمسين من الكويت وعلي كريمي من البحرين مستقبل بديل لستة جزرغير مسكونة في الخليج وقاما بإطفاء رؤية حضرية عليها لإنشاء دولة خليجية عربية جديدة ومستقلة باسم “عربستان”. بالرغم من أن أرخبيل عربستان هو مشروع خيالي في ذهن المصممين ولكن في جوهر تصميمه فإنه يلقي الضوء على الإختلافات الموجودة بين دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي الست ويهدف إلى تعزيز الهوية الخليجية من خلال تجاوز العقبات الثقافية والسياسية والإجتماعية التي تواجه سكان الخليج في الوقت الحاضر. 

المخطط العام

ArabistanIslands

معظم الجزر المختارة في عربستان تنتمي حاليا إلى دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي، ولكن تم تصميم دولة عربستان كدولة مستقلة بعلالقات دبلوماسية وثيقة مع دول الخليج. كل جزيرة تقوم بمعالجة مشاكل اجتماعية تواجه دول الخليج. في الخطة الرئيسية لعربستان، قام المهندسون المعماريون بتعيين موضوع لكل جزيرة، و يعرض كل موضوع حل لقضية سياسية تواجه دول معينة في الخليج. وفقا لبوخمسين : “إن وضع هذه الأفكار في العديد من الجزر في منطقة الخليج كجزء من هذه الرؤية لدولة عربستان يسمح للنقد البناء بعيد عن المناخ الحالي للمنطقة. “
فعلى سبيل المثال فإن  إحدى الجزرستقوم بتوفير أول طريق للنساء فقط حتى يتسنى للمرأة السعودية أن تسوق بحرية. وقد تم تصميم جزيرة أخرى لإستضافة متحف الحركات الوطنية الخليجية وهي فكرة مستوحاة من النفي القسري لثلاثة قوميين من البحرين في سانت هيلانة خلال الفترة الإستعمارية البريطانية في 1950. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، فقد  تم تخصيص الجزيرة البحرينية أم النعسان كجزيرة تستضيف تقطير الكحول المحلي (العرق)  من تمور المنطقة وأنشطة الصيد بالصقور لتشجيع السياح في الأراضي العربية بصرف النظر عن زيارة مراكز سياحية أجنبية. كما وضعت جزيرة مقلب كملاذ للمقيمين غير الشرعيين والعمال الأجانب الذين يعيشون في الخليج، وجزيرة أخرى لكأس العالم التي تم انشاؤها في المقام الأول للالتفاف على القيود المفروضة على المشاركة في استضافة البطولة الدولية لكرة القدم. وأخيرا، تم تخصيص جزيرة الحفاظ على التراث الثقافي للمحافظة على تراث الخليج والمهمل من قبل العمارة الحديثة.arabistanpostcards

بين اليوتوبيا وقصر النظر

قال كريمي: “نحن ندرك أن بعض من أفكارنا يمكن أن ينظر إليها على أنها غير منطقية، ولكن النقطة التي نريد أن نلفت الانتباه إليها هي عدم منطقية الظروف التي أدت بنا إلى تصور وظائف هذه الجزر” وأضاف : “خذ جزيرة كأس العالم على سبيل المثال: تلقت دولة قطر الكثير من الانتقادات بسبب محاولتها لإستضافة كأس العالم 2022 تمثلت بشكاوى تقول بإن الإقتراح قصير النظر والقصد، فضلا عن المخاوف من حصول انتهاكات لحقوق الإنسان. ونظرا للطبيعة المثيرة للجدل لبطولة كأس العالم قمنا بالتفكير في تغيير كأس العالم  لياخذ مكانه في عدة دول خليجية أخرى من دون أن تنفرد دولة بالتمثيل بشكل مماثل لبطولة كأس أمم أوروبا بين بلجيكا، وهولندا وكأس العالم كوريا واليابان. ولكن بما أن الفيفا قامت بحظر الشراكة في استضافة كأس العالم في عام 2004 فان عربستان ستكون قادرة على استضافة مباريات في مختلف البلدان من دون كسر قاعدة استضافة المشاركين. وعلى حسب رؤية المعماريين فان جزيرة عربستان مكونة من كل دولة خليجية مما يسمح لدول مجلس التعاون الخليجي استضافة نهائيات كأس العالم. لذلك ستستخدم دول مجلس التعاون عربستان للإلتفاف على قانون الفيفا،” وتابع:  “أن الجزر التي ساهمت بها هذه البلدان سوف تكون خالية من انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان.”

جزيرة مقلب تيسر الطريق إلى نيل صفة المواطنة الخليجية من خلال استضافة عديمي الجنسية في منطقة الخليج. وقد استلهم المعماريون الفكرة من خلال خطة الكويت ودولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة لمنح المواطنة في جزر القمر لبعض السكان الذين لا يمتلكون وثائق اقامة والمعروفين  بـ” البدون”. تضم مقلب مركزا للهجرة لإصدار وثائق لجميع المقيمين في الخليج وكذلك العمال الأجانب، وبهذه الطريقة تستطيع دول الخليج الالتفاف على الضغوط الدولية بمنح الجنسية لإقامة البدون عديمي الجنسية، والاقامة الدائمة للعمال الأجانب. وستكون المواثيق الدبلوماسية والاقتصادية المتفق عليها بين عربستان ودول الخليج قادرة على منح المواطنة والحق في الإقامة والعمل في منطقة الخليج للوافدين والبدون. و يعبر المعماريان من خلال جزيرة مقلب عن شرعية طلبات الجنسية والإقامة مع تسليط الضوء على غرابة الحل الذي يقترحونه لأن سياسات دول الخليج يجب أن توفر طريقا للحصول على الجنسية بدلا من دفع السكان عديمي الجنسية إلى جزر القمر.

يستخدم المهندسان الجزر كوسيلة لتسليط الضوء على التحديات التي تعوق التغيير الإجتماعي في الخليج فضلا عن مجموعة متنوعة من القضايا الإجتماعية والسياسية التي تواجه المواطنين الشباب في دول الخليج العربية. بوخمسين وكريمي يجدان قيمة كبيرة في تعزيز الهوية الخليجية الإقليمية وإعادة صياغة المصطلحات الحديثة. كمساحة جغرافية محايدة جديدة خارج إطار الدول الحالية، فإن عربستان توفر المرونة اللازمة لحل المشاكل الطويلة الأمد للبلدان وتبادل المصالح الأساسية، ومنح الشباب رؤية بديلة للمستقبل.

 

التغيير الجماعي

من الواضح أن عربستان لا تقدم حلولا واقعية، لكنها تمثل قطاعا ابداعيا للتجارب السياسية. وأكد بوخمسين: ” لم يعد بوسعنا أن ننظر إلى أنفسنا في كنف حدودنا. نحن بحاجة إلى مزيد من الأفق وتوسيع نطاق المناقشات على مواضيع الهوية والسياسة “. كلا المهندسين المعماريين قاما باقتراح الحلول الحضرية لتحدي المعايير الثقافية والسياسية المقبولة مجتمعيا من خلال توظيف المفاهيم المتقدمة وإثارة النقاش حول التغييرات التي تشتد الحاجة لها في المنطقة.

يستكشف بوخمسين وكريمي المرجعية الأخلاقية للمهندس من خلال عربستان حيث أن الجزرتم توضيفها لمكافحة الشعور بالعجز الناشئ من البيئة الإجتماعية والسياسية التي ينظر إليها على أنها معقدة للغاية.

في النهاية، هذه هي رؤى معمارية وإقليمية تحاول معالجة العديد من مشاكل المنطقة. هناك بعض السخرية والمثالية في الطريقة التي  ينظر بها المهندسان المعماريان للمشروع. وفقا لبوخمسين، ” فكرة أن نتمكن من معالجة هذه المشاكل من خلال اقتراح بلد جديد يطرح السؤال التالي: هل الإطار الوطني الانعزالي الحالي في منطقة الخليج يساعد على حل مشاكلها ؟ ” وفي نهاية المطاف، فان بوخمسين وكريمي يريدان أكثرمن مجرد بقاء أفكارهم في فضاء المدينة الفاضلة الطوباوي حيث يودان أن يُطلق العنان لنقاش هذه المواضيع في المجال العام. وبالرغم من أن فكرة مشروع عربستان قد تكون غير قابلة للتطبيق، ولكن الأفكار التي تستند عليها لا يمكن احتواءها.

فاطمة أبو أسرار هي باحثة سابقة في معهد دول الخليج العربية في واشنطن وهي خريجة جامعة هارفارد الأمريكية للإدارة الحكومية.

May 26, 2016

What if Arabistan?

Two young Arab architects studying at the Harvard Graduate School of Design are working to address political and social issues in the Gulf region through a radical thought experiment in urban planning. Hamed Bukhamseen from Kuwait and Ali Karimi from Bahrain have conceived an alternate future for six underutilized islands in the Gulf, concocting an urban vision of a new Arab Gulf nation, “Arabistan.” The reimagining of the archipelago is much more than a utopia in the mind of urban designers. It sheds light on the differences between the six Gulf Cooperation Council states and aims to strengthen Gulf identity by bypassing cultural, political, and social hurdles that the Gulf population presently faces.

The Master Plan

ArabistanIslandsMost of the islands chosen in this project currently belong to GCC countries, but in their design the islands would comprise the autonomous state of Arabistan. Each of the islands serves different functions that address difficult social problems. In the master plan for Arabistan, the architects assigned a theme for every island, and each theme presents a solution to an important policy issue. According to Bukhamseen, “The positioning of these ideas on the numerous islands within the Gulf as part of this vision for the state of Arabistan allows for a distant critique of the current climate of the region.”

One of the islands would provide the first all-women highway so that Saudi women could drive freely. Another island was designed to host a museum of Gulf national movements, inspired by the imprisonment and exile of three Bahraini nationalists in Saint Helena during the British colonial period in the 1950s. Additionally, the Bahraini island Um al-Nassan (Mother of the Sleepy) would host a local alcohol distillery (Arak) and falconry activities to encourage leisure in Arab lands apart from visiting foreign malls. Maqlab Island was devised as a haven for undocumented residents and foreign workers who live in the Gulf, and it is situated right next to the FIFA World Cup Island, which was created primarily to circumvent the restriction on co-hosting the international football tournament. Finally, Preservation Island was dedicated to the cultural preservation of Gulf heritage, which the designers perceive as being suffocated by modern architecture.arabistanpostcardsArabistan, Between Utopia and Myopia

“We realize that some of our ideas could come across as absurd, but the point is to draw attention to the absurdity behind the conditions that led us to imagine these islands,” said Karimi. “Take the World Cup Island that we are proposing, for example. The 2022 World Cup in Qatar has garnered a tremendous amount of criticism, from its myopic scale and intent, to its human rights violations. Due to the contentious nature of the World Cup we thought of rebranding the 2022 World Cup by having it spread to several other Gulf countries similar to the Belgium-Netherlands Euro Cup and the Korea-Japan World Cup. However, since co-hosting was banned by FIFA in 2004, Arabistan would be able to host the games in various countries without breaking the co-hosting rule. Each of the Gulf countries would donate an island to Arabistan to allow for the co-hosted World Cup to occur.” He continued that the islands contributed by these countries would be free of human rights violations.

In the case of Maqlab, the island would serve as a path to citizenship by hosting the stateless in the Gulf region. This was inspired by the plan of Kuwait and the United Arab Emirates to provide citizenship in the Comoros Islands to some of their undocumented residents, or bidun. By annexing Maqlab and opening an immigration center there to issue documentation to all residents of the Gulf as well as foreign laborers, the Gulf states would be able to circumvent international pressure to provide citizenship to the stateless, and permanent residency to foreign workers. With diplomatic and economic pacts agreed between Arabistan and the Gulf states, this citizenship would give them legal status and the right to reside and work within the Gulf. Through Maqlab, the architects are recognizing the legitimacy of the citizenship and residency requests, while highlighting the absurdity of the solution they propose because policies of the Gulf states should provide a path to citizenship rather than sending stateless residents to Comoros.

The architects are using the islands as a way to highlight the challenges for social change in the Gulf, but they also recognize the diverse set of sociopolitical issues that youth populations are facing in the Arab Gulf states. Bukhamseen and Karimi see a strong value in strengthening regional Gulf identity and reinventing it in modern terms. As a new neutral geographic space outside the current nation-state framework, Arabistan would offer the flexibility to resolve the long-standing problems of its primary stakeholding countries, and provide the youth with an alternate vision of the future.

Collective Change

Obviously Arabistan doesn’t offer realistic solutions, but it represents a creative enclave for political experiments. Bukhamseen stressed, “We can no longer look at ourselves within the confines of our border. We need to look further and expand these discussions on our identity and politics.” Both architects propose urban solutions to challenge what is accepted as cultural and political norms. By employing avant-garde concepts, they provoke discussion on much needed changes in the region.

With Arabistan, Bukhamseen and Karimi are demonstrating the moral agency of the architect. The islands function to combat a sense of powerlessness arising from a sociopolitical environment that is perceived as too complicated to change.

In the end, these are architectural and territorial visions that attempt to address the absurdity of many of the region’s problems. There is both cynicism and idealism in these provocations. According to Bukhamseen, “The idea that we can only address these problems through the proposition of a new country begs the question: Is the current insular national framework of the Gulf conducive to resolving its problems?” Ultimately, though, Bukhamseen and Karimi want more than to rest their ideas in a utopian space; they want to unleash a discussion in the public sphere. Arabistan is undoubtedly impossible to implement, but the ideas behind it cannot be contained.

Fatima Abo Alasrar is a former research associate at the Arab Gulf States Institute in Washington and was a Mason Fellow at Harvard University’s John F. Kennedy School of Government.