April 15, 2016

لِمَ تستضيف قطر قاعدة عسكرية تركية

بقلم فايزة غوموس أوغلو

الرئيس التركي رجب طيب إردوغان إلى اليسار، وأمير قطر تميم بن حمد آل ثاني يتصافحان في خلال حفل في الدوحة في قطر في 2 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2015. (أسوشيتد برس/ ياسين بلبل، بريزيدنشال برس سيرفس، بول)

في حين اشتبكت الإمبراطوريتان العثمانية والبريطانية في إحدى المعارك الأكثر فتكًا في الحرب العالمية الأولى على مضيق الدردنيل، تواجهتا أيضًا في قطر. لكن خلافًا لما حصل في الدردنيل، لم يعتزم العثمانيون الفوز في الخليج. ففي صيف 1915، غادر الجنود العثمانيون المتمركزون هناك حصنهم، وهو الحصن الأخير الذي احتلوه في منطقة الخليج، وعبروا البحر باتجاه إيران. وترك الجنود مدفعًا جبليًّا ومدفعي ميدان و14 بندقية و120 صندوق ذخيرة و500 قذيفة. ولم يكن هناك بارود لمدفعَي الميدان، وسُلّمت الذخيرة والبندقيات إلى حاكم قطر الشيخ عبدالله بن قاسم الذي ساعد في الغزو البريطاني.

وبعد نحو قرن، في كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2014، وقّع حفيد حفيد الشيخ عبدالله أمير قطر الشيخ تميم بن حمد آل ثاني اتفاقًا بارزًا مع خلف الإمبراطورية العثمانية، أي تركيا، لنشر القوات التركية المسلحة على الأراضي القطرية. وستسمح قطر لتركيا بالتحديد “باستخدام… موانئها ومطاراتها ومجالها الجوي وبتمركز قواتها العسكرية على أراضيها وبالاستفادة من منشآتها ومخيماتها ووحداتها ومؤسساتها ومنشآتها العسكرية”.

ويكمن السبب المباشر لهذا التطور في العزل الذي شهدته كل من تركيا وقطر إقليميًّا، خصوصًا بعد الإطاحة بحكومة الرئيس محمد مرسي التي تقودها جماعة “الإخوان المسلمين” في مصر. نتيجة لذلك انهارت علاقة تركيا بمصر في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2013 عندما سحبت مصر سفيرها من أنقرة وطلبت من السفير التركي لدى القاهرة مغادرة البلاد. وفترت علاقة تركيا بالمملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة كذلك بشكل واضح. وقد نجم عن ذلك عدم انعقاد الاجتماع الوزاري المشترك الخامس للحوار الاستراتيجي بين دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي وتركيا كما كان مخطّطًا له مع أنّه كان من المتوقّع إجراؤه في 2013 في البحرين.  

وبرز مدى عزل قطر عندما سحبت ثلاث دول خليجية، وهي المملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة والبحرين، سفراءها في آذار/مارس 2014 اعتراضًا على تدخّل قطر المزعوم في شؤونها الداخلية عبر دعم أفراد ومجموعات “تهدد أمن مجلس التعاون الخليجي واستقراره”. واعتُبر ذلك بشكل عام كإشارة مخففة إلى جماعة “الإخوان المسلمين”. من جهتها، انضمّت مصر إلى الدول الثلاث وسحبت سفيرها من الدوحة بعد بضعة أيام. وبالرغم من حلّ هذه الأحداث المؤسفة في نهاية المطاف، إلا أنها قرّبت قطر وتركيا أكثر من بعضهما البعض.  

ومع أنّ هذا العزل الإقليمي المشترك شكّل حافزًا مهمًّا في توطيد الروابط بين البلدين، كانت تركيا وقطر تعملان على تطوير علاقتهما منذ سنوات. فقد وفّقا بين سياساتهما الخارجية في ما يتعلق بعدد من المسائل الرئيسية، والتي خالف معظمها السياسات الخارجية الخاصة ببعض دول الخليج الأساسية. كما طوّر البلدان علاقات جيدة نسبيًّا مع إيران، واعترفا بحركة “حماس” وعاملاها على أنها جهة فاعلة شرعية، وتعاونا لمحاولة الإطاحة بنظام الرئيس بشار الأسد في سوريا، ورحّبا بوصول شخصيات وأحزاب سياسية تابعة لجماعة “الإخوان المسلمين” إلى الحكم في تونس ومصر، وأصبح كلّ منهما داعمًا ماليًّا ودبلوماسيًّا بارزًا لمصر في خلال رئاسة مرسي. وسبق الاتفاقَ العسكري الذي أبرِم في كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2014 ثلاثة اتفاقيات قطرية-تركية، وُقّعت الأولى منها في العام 2007 وتلتها الثانية والثالثة في 2012، الأمر الذي دعّم التعاون على مستوى التدريب العسكري وإنتاج معدات الدفاع.

أتى عزل تركيا وقطر المشترك ببساطة لتعجيل علاقة ثنائية سبق ودخلت مرحلة نمو سريع. وعندما أصلحت قطر علاقاتها بالدول الخليجية الأخرى الثلاث في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2014، لم يتغير اتجاه العلاقات المحسنة مع تركيا ولا وتيرتها، إذ جاء الاتفاق العسكري بعد شهر فقط من إعادة المملكة السعودية والإمارات والبحرين سفيريهما إلى الدوحة. وحسّنت تركيا علاقتها بكل من هذه الدول خصوصًا المملكة السعودية فيما واجهت الرياض تهديدات أمنية متزايدة أبرزها من الحوثيين في اليمن وتنظيم “الدولة الإسلامية في العراق والشام” (داعش)، فسعت إلى طلب مساعدة تركيا.    

ومنذ التوقيع على الاتفاق توطدت العلاقات بين البلدين. وأرسلت القوات التركية المسلحة ضباطًا صغارًا (عددهم غير معروف) إلى قطر لدراسة اللغة العربية، فيما بدأت قطر بناء القاعدة العسكرية التي سيتمركز فيها الجنود الأتراك.

تعتبَر دوافع تركيا أكثر وضوحًا، فمنذ وصول حزب “العدالة والتنمية” إلى الحكم في بداية القرن الواحد والعشرين، اتبعت تركيا سياسة خارجية متعددة الطبقات في الشرق الأوسط، وحسّنت علاقتها بعدد من البلدان في المنطقة. وتضاعف حجم تجارة تركيا في المنطقة، وتنوّعت تصديراتها إليها واستيراداتها منها، كما وأصبح انخراط البلاد في السياسة الإقليمية أهمّ.

كما انتقلت تركيا إلى تنويع علاقاتها العسكرية الإقليمية، إذ نقلت القوات التركية المسلحة أنّ ما يقارب 30 ألف فرد عسكري “من 54 دولة صديقة وحليفة حضروا برامج تعليمية وتدريبية مختلفة” قدّمها الجيش التركي. وتسعى تركيا إلى الدخول إلى سوق الدفاع الخليجي المربح، بالتالي فإن إنشاءُ روابط عسكرية مع زبائن محتملين قد يسهل هذه العملية.  

أمّا دوافع قطر فأقلّ وضوحًا، فهي تواجه تحديات أمنية رئيسية مشابهة لتلك التي تهدد جاراتها من الدول، وأبرزها تجنّب هيمنة إيران على منطقة الخليج على المستوى العسكري والسياسي. وكانت دول الخليج تأمل لو أن تركيا تضاهي إيران، فأعلن مجلس التعاون الخليجي تركيا شريكًا استراتيجيًّا في العام 2008 وأنشأ الحوار الاستراتيجي.   

إلّا أنّ أسبابًا ثانوية خاصة دفعت بقطر إلى السعي لتوطيد علاقتها بتركيا. ففي الواقع، عملت قطر بتوازٍ نسبي مع المملكة السعودية حتى التسعينات، ثمّ بدأت تعتمد مقاربة أكثر جزمًا في ظل حكم حكم الشيخ حمد بن خليفة آل ثاني. فازدادت معاداة المملكة السعودية والإمارات ووجدت قطر نفسها عندئذٍ معزولة نسبيًّا، الأمر الذي قد يبرّر حشدها العسكري. لكن يبدو أنّ قطر لاحظت مؤخّرًا أنّ قدراتها على مستوى القوة الناعمة ومقاربتها الداعمة لجماعة “الإخوان المسلمين” تواجه قيودًا جسيمة، لذا حاولت جاهدة إصلاح علاقتها بالرياض.

تشكّل القاعدة العسكرية التركية في قطر دليلًا مهمًّا على عزم البلدين على تقوية العلاقة التي تجمعهما على المدى الطويل. إلّا أنّه لا يمكن تحديد إذا ما سيساعد ذلك قطر فعلًا على إيجاد حلّ لمخاوفها الأمنية، لكنّها تبدو عازمة على السعي إلى تطوير قوة دفاعية أهمّ وقد يستطيع جيش تركيا الهائل تعزيز أمن الدوحة.  

فايزة غوموس أوغلو صحفية وكاتبة تركية تقيم في الدوحة.

April 15, 2016

Why Qatar is Hosting a Turkish Military Base

Turkey's President Recep Tayyip Erdogan, left, and Qatar's Emir Tamim bin Hamad al-Thani shake hands during a ceremony in Doha, Qatar December 2, 2015. (AP Photo/Yasin Bulbul, Presidential Press Service, Pool)
by Feyza Gumusluoglu

As the Ottoman and British empires engaged in one of the deadliest battles of World War I over the Dardanelles, they also confronted each other in Qatar. Unlike in the Dardanelles, however, in the Gulf the Ottomans were not determined to win. In the summer of 1915, Ottoman troops stationed there peacefully left their garrison – the last one they occupied in the Gulf region – and crossed the waters to Iran. They left behind a mountain gun, two field guns, 14 rifles, 120 cases of ammunition, and 500 projectiles. The two field guns did not even have powder. The ammunition and rifles were given to Sheikh Abdallah bin Qassim, Qatar’s ruler, who assisted the British invasion.

Almost a century later, in December 2014, Sheikh Abdallah’s great-great-grandson, the emir of Qatar, Sheikh Tamim bin Hamad al-Thani, signed a major agreement with the Ottoman Empire’s successor, Turkey, allowing for the deployment of the Turkish Armed Forces on Qatari soil. Specifically, Qatar will allow Turkey “to use … its ports/airports/airspace; deploy forces on its territory; benefit from its facilities, camps, units, institutions and military facilities.”

The immediate reason for this development is the regional isolation Turkey and Qatar have experienced, especially after the 2013 overthrow of Egypt’s Muslim Brotherhood-led government of Mohamed Morsi. As a result, Turkey’s relations with Egypt collapsed in November 2013 when Egypt recalled its ambassador to Ankara and expelled Turkey’s ambassador to Cairo. Turkey’s relations with Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates also visibly cooled. As a consequence, the fifth joint ministerial meeting of the Turkey-GCC High Level Strategic Dialogue has not convened as planned, even though it was scheduled to be held in 2013 in Bahrain.

The depth of Qatar’s isolation became apparent when three other Gulf states, Saudi Arabia, the UAE, and Bahrain, withdrew their ambassadors in March 2014 protesting Qatar’s alleged interference in their internal affairs by supporting individuals and groups “threatening the security and stability of the GCC.” This was generally understood to be a euphemism for the Muslim Brotherhood. Egypt joined them and also withdrew its ambassador from Doha a few days later. Although the contretemps was eventually resolved, it brought Qatar and Turkey closer together.

Even though this mutual regional isolation was a powerful incentive for closer ties, Turkey and Qatar had for years been developing their relations. The two countries had aligned their foreign policies on several critical issues, most of which were at odds with those of some key Gulf states. Both had developed relatively good relations with Iran, recognized and treated Hamas as a legitimate actor, cooperated to try to overthrow the regime of President Bashar al-Assad in Syria, welcomed the coming to power of Muslim Brotherhood-affiliated figures and political parties in Tunisia and Egypt, and became major financial and diplomatic supporters of Egypt during Morsi’s presidency. The December 2014 military agreement was preceded by three previous Qatar-Turkey deals – the first was signed in 2007 followed by two in 2012 – strengthening cooperation on military training and defense equipment production.

Turkey and Qatar’s mutual isolation simply sped up the pace of an already-burgeoning bilateral relationship. When Qatar mended ties with the three other Gulf states in November 2014 that did not alter the direction and pace of improved relations with Turkey, as the military agreement came just a month after Saudi Arabia, the UAE, and Bahrain returned their ambassadors to Doha. Turkey improved relations with these states, especially Saudi Arabia, as Riyadh faced growing security threats, most notably from the Houthis in Yemen and Islamic State in Iraq and the Levant, and sought Turkish help.

Since the signing of the agreement, the two countries have strengthened ties. The Turkish Armed Forces have sent junior officers (the exact number is unknown) to Qatar to study Arabic. Qatar has begun constructing the military base where Turkish troops will be based.

Turkey’s motivations are more obvious. Especially after the coming to power of the Justice and Development Party in the early 2000s, Turkey has pursued a multilayered foreign policy in the Middle East and improved its relations with many countries throughout the region. Turkey’s trade volume within the region has multiplied. Turkish cultural exports to and imports from the region have diversified. And Turkey’s involvement in regional politics has become more intense.

Turkey moved to diversify its regional military relations as well. The Turkish Armed Forces have reported that close to 30,000 military personnel “from 54 friendly and allied countries attended various educational and training programs” the Turkish military provided. Turkey is seeking to enter the lucrative Gulf defense market, and establishing military ties with potential customers should facilitate that process.

Qatar’s motivations are less clear-cut. Qatar shares similar primary security challenges as its neighbors, above all seeking to avoid the military and political domination of the Gulf region by Iran. The Gulf states had hoped Turkey could balance Iran, and the Gulf Cooperation Council declared Turkey to be a strategic partner in 2008 and instituted the strategic dialogue.

But Qatar has its own particular and secondary reasons for seeking closer ties with Turkey. Until the early 1990s, Qatar operated in relative alignment with Saudi Arabia. Qatar then began to adopt a more assertive approach under Sheikh Hamad bin Khalifa al-Thani. Saudi Arabia and the UAE became increasingly hostile and Qatar found itself relatively isolated. This may help explain Qatar’s military build up. Recently, however, Qatar seems to have realized that its soft power capacity and Muslim Brotherhood-oriented approach faced serious limitations, and it has gone a long way to repairing relations with Riyadh.

The Turkish military base in Qatar is a powerful indication the two countries are determined to solidify their long-term relationship. Whether this will really help solve Qatar’s security concerns remains to be seen. But Qatar seems determined to try to develop a more substantial defense force and Turkey’s formidable army might be able to enhance Doha’s security.

Feyza Gumusluoglu is a Doha-based Turkish journalist and author.