June 20, 2018

الرياض وأبوظبي تتقربان من موسكو

Saudi Arabia Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman, left, FIFA President Gianni Infantino, center, and Russian President Vladimir Putin
ولي العهد السعودي الأمير محمد بن سلمان إلى اليسار ورئيس الاتحاد الدولي لكرة القدم (فيفا) جياني إنفانتينو في الوسط والرئيس الروسي فلاديمير بوتين يشاهدون المباراة الافتتاحية بين روسيا والسعودية في انطلاق كأس العالم لكرة القدم 2018. موسكو، روسيا في 14 حزيران/يونيو. (صورة من وكالة "أسوشيتد برس"/حسان عمار)

خلال “زيارة عمل” إلى موسكو، التقى ولي عهد أبوظبي الشيخ محمد بن زايد آل نهيان في الأول من حزيران/يونيو الرئيس الروسي فلاديمير بوتين، وقد وقع القائدان إعلانًا للشراكة الإستراتيجية بين روسيا والإمارات العربية المتحدة. وبعد أسبوعين، التقى ولي العهد السعودي الأمير محمد بن سلمان بوتين في موسكو، حيث شاهدا المباراة الافتتاحية لبطولة كأس العالم لكرة القدم، والتي فازت فيها روسيا على السعودية بنتيجة 5 – صفر. غير أن ما يكتسي أهمية أطول أمدًا من نتيجة هذه المباراة، هو ما تردد بأن السعودية وروسيا اتفقتا على ضرورة تمديد الاتفاق الموقع بين دول الأعضاء وغير الأعضاء في منظمة الأوبك للحدّ من إنتاج النفط بغية دعم ارتفاع أسعار النفط لغاية عام 2019 وما بعده. وتُعتبر الزيارتان إلى موسكو مؤشرات إضافية على أن السعودية والإمارات مصممتان على زيادة التعاون مع روسيا في وقت تشهد فيه العلاقات بين موسكو والغرب تعقيدات كثيرة.

وتريد الإمارات والسعودية توطيد العلاقات مع روسيا بشكل أساسي كوسيلة لإرساء التوازن في علاقة هذه الأخيرة بإيران. وفي حين أن تقاربهما من بوتين لا يهدف إلى التأثير على أولوية علاقتهما الطويلة الأمد مع الولايات المتحدة، إلا أنه يرمي إلى بعث رسالة إلى واشنطن. وفي وقت تعود فيه روسيا بشكل حازم إلى الشرق الأوسط، تهدف الإمارات والسعودية إلى تطوير علاقات أفضل مع بوتين وتعزيز جهودهما لخلق مسافة بين موسكو وطهران. علاوةً على ذلك، يتمثل الهدف الكامن خلف تعاون الرياض وأبوظبي مع موسكو (سواء في مجالات النفط أو الأسلحة أو التجارة) في حث روسيا على أخذ مصالحهما في الحسبان بشكل أكبر وضمان أن تفهم طهران أن الدول الخليجية لديها مصالح مشتركة كبيرة مع موسكو أيضًا.

ويُعتبر إعلان الشراكة الإستراتيجية الروسي-الإماراتي الاتفاق الأول من هذا النوع بين موسكو ودولة خليجية. ورغم أن هذه الوثيقة لا تخوض في التفاصيل، إلا أنها تدعو إلى: التعاون في المعركة ضد الإرهاب والتطرف (بما فيه تدريب العناصر)؛ وتكثيف المشاورات حول الأمن والدفاع؛ وتعزيز الروابط التجارية والاقتصادية (بما فيه من خلال تطوير التعاون بين المصارف)؛ والتعاون في مجالات المواد الهيدروكربونية والطاقة الذرية وحتى صناعة الألمنيوم. ومن الناحية التي ترمي إلى أن تكون تأنيبًا لإدارة الرئيس دونالد جي. ترامب، يدعو الاتفاق إلى زيادة استعمال الغاز الطبيعي والوقود النظيف “مع استهداف الحدّ من انبعاثات غاز الدفيئة بالتوافق مع اتفاق باريس للمناخ”، الذي أعلنت إدارة ترامب أنها ستنسحب منه.

وفي حين أن الولايات المتحدة هي المنافس الوحيد للسعودية وروسيا في مستويات إنتاج النفط، قد يكون التعاون بين الرياض وموسكو في إنتاج النفط أكثر أهمية من الاتفاق بين الدول الأعضاء وغير الأعضاء في الأوبك، الذي يشمل العديد من المنتجين الأصغر حجمًا. وبالتالي، قد يحدّد التعاون السعودي-الروسي في مجال وضع قيود على إنتاج النفط أجندة الاجتماع المقبل لمنظمة الأوبك في فيينا، حيث ستتمّ مناقشة الاتفاق المذكور. فضلًا عن ذلك، قد تشير صور محمد بن سلمان وبوتين يشاهدان مباراة كرة القدم بين السعودية وروسيا إلى تقارب في العلاقة بينهما لا أثر له بين بوتين والقادة الغربيين.

غير أن تحسّن علاقات السعودية والإمارات مع موسكو لا يعني بالضرورة أن الدولتين الخليجيتين تبتعدان عن واشنطن. فهاتان الدولتان الخليجيتان تتمتعان بدرجات من التعاون الأمني والاقتصادي مع الولايات المتحدة والغرب أكبر بكثير منه مع روسيا، ومن المستبعد أن ينتهي ذلك. وبالفعل، وفي ظل دعوة ترامب إلى إعادة ضم روسيا إلى مجموعة الدول السبع (حيث تمّ تعليق عضوية موسكو في مجموعة الدول الثماني بعد استيلاء بوتين على جزيرة القرم من أوكرانيا عام 2014)، من بين مبادرات أخرى، يبدو أن ترامب يحاول أيضًا تحسين العلاقات مع بوتين.

لكن برزت أساسًا بعض المؤشرات على أن إدارة ترامب قد ترغب في الحدّ من مدى الصداقة التي تجمع السعودية والإمارات وغيرهما من الدول العربية بموسكو. فخلال جلسة تصديق تعيينه كمساعد لوزير الخارجية لشؤون الشرق الأدنى أمام مجلس الشيوخ في 14 حزيران/يونيو، ذكر ديفيد شنكر أن أي عمليات شراء أسلحة من روسيا من قبل دول شرق أوسطية تعتبر انتهاكًا للعقوبات الأمريكية المفروضة على مصنعي الأسلحة الروس، وأنه سيبذل جهده لمنع إتمامها. وفي حال واصلت إدارة ترامب انتهاج هذا الخط، ستضطر الرياض إلى الاختيار بين التخلي عن خططها لشراء صواريخ الدفاع الجوي الروسية من نوع أس-400 أو الاصطدام بالعقوبات الأمريكية. وبدورها ستواجه الإمارات، التي لطالما اشترت الأسلحة الروسية، معضلة مماثلة. لكن شراء بعض الأسلحة من روسيا لا يعني أن الإمارات والسعودية تعتزمان إنهاء، أو حتى خفض، اعتمادهما الرئيسي لشراء الأسلحة على مزودين من الولايات المتحدة وآخرين من دول الغرب. وبالفعل، قد يكون الأمر مجرد إستراتيجية لتشجيع واشنطن على بيع المزيد من الأسلحة المتطورة إلى دول الخليج. لكن ليس واضحًا ما إذا كان البيت الأبيض يدرك كيف سيؤثر التعارض بين السعي إلى تحسين علاقات الولايات المتحدة بروسيا ومحاولة الحدّ من تفاعل دول الخليج مع موسكو في الوقت نفسه سلبًا على العلاقات الأمريكية-الخليجية.

مارك أن كاتز، زميل غير مقيم في معهد دول الخليج العربية في واشنطن، فاز بجائزة السير ويليام لوس للزمالة في جامعة درهام في المملكة المتحدة لعام 2018. كما أنه أستاذٌ في الحكم والسياسة في كلية شار للسياسة والحكم في جامعة جورج ميسن.

June 20, 2018

Riyadh and Abu Dhabi Draw Closer to Moscow

Saudi Arabia Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman, left, FIFA President Gianni Infantino, center, and Russian President Vladimir Putin
Saudi Arabia's Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman, left, FIFA President Gianni Infantino, center, and Russian President Vladimir Putin watch the match between Russia and Saudi Arabia which opens the 2018 soccer World Cup. Moscow, Russia, June 14. (AP Photo/Hassan Ammar)

While on a “working visit” to Moscow, Abu Dhabi Crown Prince Mohammed bin Zayed al-Nahyan met June 1 with Russian President Vladimir Putin, and the two leaders signed a Declaration of Strategic Partnership between Russia and the United Arab Emirates. Two weeks later, Saudi Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman met with Putin in Moscow, where they both watched the opening match of the FIFA World Cup, in which Russia trounced Saudi Arabia 5-0. However, of more long-lasting significance than the outcome of this match, Saudi Arabia and Russia reportedly agreed that the OPEC and non-OPEC agreement to limit oil production in order to support higher oil prices should be extended through 2019 and beyond. Both visits to Moscow are further signs that Saudi Arabia and the UAE are determined to increase cooperation with Russia at a time when relations between Moscow and the West are highly complicated.

The UAE and Saudi Arabia want to pursue closer ties with Russia primarily as a means of balancing Russia’s ties with Iran. While their outreach to Putin is not meant to harm the primacy of their longstanding relationships with the United States, it is intended to send a message to Washington. With Russia firmly back in the Middle East, the UAE and Saudi Arabia aim to develop better relations with Putin and increase their efforts to create distance between Moscow and Tehran. In addition, Riyadh and Abu Dhabi cooperating with Moscow (whether on oil, arms, or trade) is intended to induce Moscow to take more account of their interests and to make sure Tehran understands that the Gulf Arab states also have significant shared interests with Moscow.

The Russia-UAE Declaration of Strategic Partnership is the first such agreement between Moscow and a Gulf state. Though short on specifics, the document calls for: cooperation in the fight against terrorism and extremism (including the training of personnel); intensifying consultations on security and defense; increasing trade and economic ties (including through developing interbank cooperation); and cooperation in the hydrocarbon, atomic energy, and  even aluminum industry spheres. In what may have been intended as a rebuke to the administration of President Donald J. Trump, the agreement calls for increased use of natural gas and clean fuel “with a view to reducing emissions of greenhouse gases in accordance with the Paris Climate Agreement,” which the Trump administration announced it will withdraw from.

With only the United States rivaling Saudi Arabia and Russia in levels of oil production, cooperation between Riyadh and Moscow on oil output may be more significant than the OPEC and non-OPEC agreement, which includes many smaller producers. Saudi-Russian cooperation on oil production limits, then, may even set the agenda for the upcoming OPEC meeting in Vienna, where the OPEC and non-OPEC agreement is to be discussed. In addition, photos of Mohammed bin Salman and Putin watching the Saudi-Russian football match suggest a warmth to their relationship that isn’t apparent between Putin and Western leaders.

Improved Saudi and UAE ties with Moscow do not necessarily mean the two Gulf countries are moving away from Washington, however. Both of these Gulf states have far greater degrees of security and economic cooperation with the United States and the West than with Russia, and this is unlikely to end. Indeed, with Trump calling for Russia to be readmitted to the G-7 (Moscow was suspended from the G-8 after Putin’s seizure of Crimea from Ukraine in 2014), among other gestures, it appears that Trump is also trying to improve relations with Putin.

Already, though, there is some sign that the Trump administration may want to limit how friendly Saudi Arabia, the UAE, and other Arab countries become with Moscow. At his June 14 Senate confirmation hearing for appointment as assistant secretary of state for Near Eastern affairs, David Schenker stated that any arms purchases from Russia by Middle Eastern states would be a violation of U.S. sanctions against Russian arms manufacturers, and he would seek to prevent them. If the Trump administration pursues this line, it would force Riyadh to choose between giving up its plans to purchase Russian S-400 air defense missiles or running afoul of U.S sanctions. The UAE, which has long purchased Russian weapons, would face a similar dilemma. But purchasing some Russian weapons does not mean that the UAE and Saudi Arabia intend to end, or even reduce, their primary dependence for arms on the United States and other Western suppliers. Indeed, it may just be a strategy to encourage Washington to sell more advanced weapons to the Gulf Arab states. It is not clear, though, that the White House recognizes how the inconsistency of seeking to improve U.S. relations with Russia while at the same time trying to limit Gulf Arab interaction with Moscow will negatively affect U.S.-Gulf Arab relations.

Mark N. Katz, a non-resident fellow at the Arab Gulf States in Washington, is the 2018 Sir William Luce Fellow at Durham University in the United Kingdom. He is also a professor of government and politics at the George Mason University Schar School of Policy and Government.