January 25, 2018

إستراتيجية الإصلاح والاستثمار العُمانية: تريث وانطلق

مخطط تصميمي لميناء الدقم في سلطنة عُمان

إنه لمن الصعب في الخليج حاليًّا الاعتماد على الموارد العامة لتلبية الطلب المتزايد على الوظائف، وعلى تطوير البنية التحتية، وعلى الجهود الرامية إلى بناء اقتصادات أقل اعتمادًا على عائدات النفط. أما بالنسبة للمسؤولين الذين يسعون للحصول على تمويل خارجي، إما عن طريق الديون أو الاستثمار الأجنبي المباشر، فإن إيجاد الشركاء المناسبين يصبح أكثر صعوبة نظرًا للتوترات السياسية الإقليمية والحاجة الملحة لسد العجز المالي والاستمرار في مشاريع خطوط الأنابيب. وتشكل سلطنة عُمان مثالاً على التحديات المتمثلة في توليد الاستثمار وتنمية البنية التحتية في ظل تناقص الموارد المالية.

هنالك شقان للإستراتيجية العُمانية: الاقتراض في ظل العجز المالي، والتعامل مع الإصلاحات الهيكلية بحذر، خاصة بسبب التأثير على تكاليف المعيشة والنمو الوظيفي. هناك قلق واضح لدى الاستشاريين السياسيين حول أثر التقشف، فبدلاً من إلغاء تدابير التقشف (كما فعلت السعودية، مرتين خلال عام 2017)، حاولت عُمان التركيز على الاتصالات الإستراتيجية مع المواطنين حول طبيعة الإصلاحات وتأثيرها الفوري. وفي حالة التخفيضات في دعم الحكومة للوقود، أنشأت الحكومة نظام تحويل مباشر لمساعدة المواطنين ذوي الدخل المنخفض على دفع تكاليف الوقود المرتفعة. ومع تصاعد الضغوط لخلق المزيد من فرص العمل في القطاع العام للمواطنين، فإن إعطاء الأولوية للاستقرار له ما يبرره. لكنه سيكلف كثيرًا.

“تريث ثم انطلق” هو الشعار. يؤكد الوزراء والمستشارون الاقتصاديون في عُمان على الحاجة إلى تحقيق النمو وزيادة المبادرات الاستثمارية الطويلة الأجل، حتى ولو على حساب العجز المتضخم، واهمال التوجهات الإقليمية في تفعيل نظام الضرائب وإصلاح الدعم الحكومي. وهذا هو مظهر “التريث” في النهج؛ أما “الانطلاق” فهو في الجهود الرامية لدفع مشاريع البنية التحتية والتنمية قدمًا وعلى نطاق واسع، وإيجاد شركاء للحفاظ على استمرارية تدفق رأس المال المطلوب.

لقد كانت عمليات زيادة رأس المال مكثفة. فمنذ مطلع عام 2017، أصدرت سلطنة عُمان مبالغ كبيرة من الديون، واستدانت بكثافة قروضًا من المصارف الدولية. في شهر آذار/ مارس، أصدرت سلطنة عُمان 5 مليارات دولار كسندات دولية، تلتها صكوك بقيمة ملياري دولار في يونيو/ حزيران. في آب/ أغسطس، اقترضت البلاد 3.55 مليار دولار من البنوك الصينية. في كانون الثاني/ يناير 2018، عادت عُمان إلى أسواق السندات مرة أخرى لإصدار 6.5 مليار دولار من الديون المقيمة بالدولار. وأعلنت الحكومة عن خطط لتمويل صندوق جديد للبنية التحتية من خلال قروض مصرفية تصل إلى مليار دولار. وفي 23 كانون الثاني/ يناير، أعلنت عُمان مرة أخرى عن خطط لإصدار المزيد من السندات الدولية بقيمة تصل إلى ملياري دولار. وسداد هذه القروض والسندات على وشك أن يبدأ.

 

تسمح هذه الأموال للحكومة، حاليًّا، بالمضي قدمًا بخطط التنمية التي سبقت الانخفاض في عائدات النفط، بالإضافة إلى التوترات الإقليمية بين دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي المجاورة. في الوقت الذي شهدت فيه عُمان زيادة في حركة المرور البحرية وتدفق التجارة منذ حزيران/ يونيو 2017، كانت مشاريع توسيع مطارها والموانئ الإستراتيجية مثل صحار والدقم قيد التنفيذ قبل قطع العلاقات التجارية مع قطر من قبل الإمارات العربية المتحدة والمملكة العربية السعودية والبحرين. وستستغرق هذه الاستثمارات سنوات لتوليد الثروة التي تأمل البلاد في الحصول عليها في الخدمات اللوجستية الجديدة، والتصنيع، ومشاريع الطاقة؛ إلا أن مبدأ تنامي سعة الموانئ العُمانية المثبت لفترة وجيزة (بسبب القيود المفروضة على قطر) قد ساهم في تبرير بعض النفقات الجارية لزيادة رأس المال في أوقات العجز. ويعتبر ميناء صحار مثالاً مهمًّا على ذلك، حيث تم تصميمه كمنطقة حرة لجذب الاستثمار الأجنبي المباشر بالإضافة لكونه مركزًا لوجستيًّا. وهو يخدم احتياجات التنمية الطويلة الأجل في عُمان، بما في ذلك خلق فرص العمل عن طريق محطات تجميع السيارات، ومحطات الصهر ومصافي النفط، والمستودعات الزراعية لتحقيق الأمن الغذائي (لسلطنة عُمان، ومن المحتمل أيضًا للجيران في المنطقة مثل الهند). ويبقى صحار مشروعًا صغيرًا مقارنة مع المدينة الصناعية الطموحة الجديدة الجارية إقامتها في الدقم.

في الدقم، كان التمويل يعتمد بشكل كبير على الصين، مع استثمارات أصغر من دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي المجاورة. وتعتبر المنطقة الصناعية الصينية- العُمانية بالدقم مدينة مصممة بطريقة خاصة ضمن منطقة اقتصادية خاصة، ومن المتوقع أن تبلغ تكلفتها 10.7 مليار دولار تمول من الشركات الصينية والقروض المصرفية. وسوف تنتج المنطقة الصناعية سيارات (الدفع الرباعي السريعة الحركة)، وألواح الخلايا الشمسية، والبتروكيماويات، ولوازم حقول النفط، وسيكون لها محطات الكهرباء وتحلية المياه الخاصة بها. ومؤخرًا، بذلت المملكة العربية السعودية جهودًا لدعم المشروع، حيث قدمت تمويلاً صغيرًا بقيمة 200 مليون دولار أمريكي، جزء منه منحة والجزء الآخر قرض لتمويل إنشاء الطرق وميناء للصيد. وسيعمل استثمار مشترك بنسبة 70:30 بين صندوق عُمان للاستثمار (وهو صندوق الثروة السيادية في سلطنة عُمان) وصندوق قطر للنقل (الذي تم توقيعه عام 2016) على إنشاء مجمع لتجميع الحافلات في الدقم بقيمة 160 مليون ريَال عُماني (416 مليون دولار). وتشكل مشاريع النفط والغاز والسكك الحديدية ومحطات الطاقة الجديدة أيضًا جزءًا من إستراتيجية التنمية الاقتصادية، وسوف تمتد من الدقم، لتشمل المنطقة الجنوبية من ظفار. وفي ظفار، ستستثمر شركة مصدر الإماراتية في إنشاء محطة رئيسية لطاقة الرياح في سلطنة عُمان، مستدعية خبرتها في مشاريع الطاقة المتجددة إلى المنطقة.

وفي حين تعتمد الموانئ ومشاريع المنطقة الصناعية اعتمادًا كبيرًا على السندات الأجنبية والقروض المصرفية، تبذل الحكومة جهودًا للتيسير على حقيبتها الاستثمارية. وتلعب الحكومة في سلطنة عُمان دورًا بارزًا في الإنفاق الرأسمالي والاستثمار في الاقتصاد المحلي. من خلال صناديق الاستثمار المتنوعة مثل “تنمية“، ومن خلال الوزارات بشكل فردي، تتكفل الحكومة بمعظم فرص التنمية في البلاد. ومن الأمثلة البارزة على ذلك وزارة الدفاع، وصندوق التقاعد والمعاشات، وهو المالك والمطور الرئيسي للثروة، ولديه عقارات مثل الفنادق الراقية في السلطنة.

تتبع الحكومة إستراتيجية خمسية للتنمية، وتشارك في “التحول الوطني” الخاص بها من أجل التنويع الاقتصادي، مع إدخال تغييرات على الممارسات الإدارية داخل الوزارات، بما في ذلك تحقيق أهداف مؤشرات الأداء الرئيسية في برنامج “تنفيذ“. وقد أدى الجمع بين صناديق الاستثمار الحكومية وتيسير عمل الجهات الوزارية المعنية المتعددة في مشاريع التنمية المحلية إلى تعطيل الإدارة غير الفعالة وتكامل المستودعات الاستثمارية الموازية في الوزارات.

هناك جهود جديدة للتيسير على عمل هذه الصناديق المختلفة، وخاصة في الاستثمارات السياحية بحيث يمكن للشركاء الخارجيين أن يساعدوا في تحمل بعض تكاليف خطط التنمية الاقتصادية المحلية (وجني الفوائد)، كما هو الحال في صندوق “عمران“. يعتبر صندوق البنية التحتية الجديد مبادرة مهمة، بالرغم من أن أقل من ربع استثمارات البنية التحتية يتم تمويلها من القطاع الخاص، وفقًا لتقديرات الاستشاريين. وتعتبر الشراكات بين القطاعين العام والخاص وسيلة تمويل أخرى محتملة ولكنها غير مستغلة إلى حد كبير في عُمان.

غالبًا ما يترتب على خيارات السياسة، والاتفاقات المالية الداعمة لها آثار دائمة. يتم الآن تحديد من سيكون المالكون الجدد للبنية التحتية، بما في ذلك محطات الطاقة الجديدة، والموانئ، ومناطق التصنيع. ومن المهم أيضًا تحديد من سيكون حاملو السندات والمقرضون الذين سيكون بإمكانهم التأثير على خيارات السياسة مستقبلاً، لا سيما أنه من المحتمل أن يكون هنالك إعادة تمويل على المدى القريب، وهو بالفعل ما سعت المملكة العربية السعودية إلى عمله على الديون الصادرة في العام المنصرم. قد تكون إعادة تمويل مدة قرض بقيمة مليارات الدولارات لبنك صيني مرتبط بالدولة أكثر تعقيدًا بالنسبة للحكومة العُمانية.

في الوقت الراهن، كان الوقت هو العامل الأكثر إلحاحًا في متطلبات التمويل في عُمان، لقد تمت مكافأة المقرضين والشركاء الذين كانوا على استعداد للتدخل بسرعة بوسائل وشروط أفضل. من وجهة نظر الحكومة، فإن “التريث والانطلاق” له مبرراته السياسية التي عززها عدم وجود صدمات في الاقتصاد المحلي. وسوف يتطلب النمو على المدى الطويل سدادًا على المدى القصير والمتوسط، وقد تحتاج عُمان في المدى القريب إلى النظر في شركاء تمويل بدلاء، لا سيما مع ارتفاع الديون نسبة إلى مستويات الناتج المحلي الإجمالي.

ماركت واتش مدونةٌ تأسست على يد الباحثة المقيمة الأولى في معهد دول الخليج العربية في واشنطن كارين إ. يونغ، وتهدف إلى توسيع المعرفة بمنطقة التقاء السياسة والمال في دول الخليج العربية.

January 25, 2018

Oman’s Investment and Reform Strategy: “Slow and Go”

Duqm Port
Rendering of Duqm port in Oman

It is a difficult time in the Gulf to leverage public resources to meet growing demand for jobs, for infrastructure development, and for efforts to build economies less reliant on oil revenue. For officials engaged in seeking external finance, either through debt or foreign direct investment, finding the right partners becomes more difficult given regional political tensions and the urgency to bridge fiscal deficits and continue project pipelines. Oman exemplifies the challenges of generating investment and infrastructure growth with diminishing fiscal resources.

The Omani strategy has been two-fold: to borrow out of a fiscal deficit and to approach structural reforms with caution, especially given the impact on cost of living and job growth. There is a palpable anxiety among policy advisors about the impact of austerity, and rather than reversing austerity measures (as Saudi Arabia has done, twice in the course of 2017), Oman has tried to concentrate on strategic communications with citizens about the nature of reforms and their immediate impact. In the case of reductions in fuel subsidies, the government created a direct transfer scheme to help low income citizens pay for rising fuel costs. And with mounting pressure to create more public sector employment for nationals, prioritizing stability is understandable. But it will come at a high price.

The mantra is “slow and go.” Ministers and economic advisors in Oman emphasize the need to generate growth and further long-term investment initiatives, even at the expense of a ballooning deficit and forgoing regional trends of tax implementation and subsidy reform. This is the “slow” aspect of the approach; the “go” is in efforts to push forward with large-scale infrastructure and development projects, and finding partners to maintain the steady flow of capital required.

Capital-raising has been intense. Since early 2017, Oman has issued large amounts of debt and borrowed heavily in international bank loans. In March, Oman issued $5 billion in international bonds, followed by a $2 billion sukuk in June. In August, the country borrowed $3.55 billion from Chinese banks. In January 2018, Oman went to bond markets again to issue $6.5 billion in dollar-denominated debt. The government announced plans to finance a new infrastructure fund through bank loans of as much as $1 billion. And on January 23, Oman again announced plans to issue more international bonds for as much as $2 billion. The repayment of these loans and bonds, however, begins just around the corner.

Oman Sovereign Debt

For now, these funds allow the government to move forward with development plans that predate the decline in oil revenue, as well as regional tensions among Gulf Cooperation Council neighbors. While Oman has seen an increase in port traffic and trade flows since June 2017, its airport expansion and strategic ports projects like Sohar and Duqm were well underway before the severing of trade ties with Qatar by the United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia, and Bahrain. These investments will take years to generate the wealth the country hopes to find in new logistics, manufacturing, and energy projects; a short-term proof of concept in the uptick of Omani ports volume (due to the restrictions against Qatar) has served to justify some of the ongoing expense of capital raising in a time of shortfall. The port of Sohar is an important case in point, as it has been designed as a free zone to attract foreign direct investment as well as a logistics hub. It serves long-term development needs for Oman, including job creation via automobile assembly plants, smelters and oil refineries, and agricultural depots for food security (for Oman, but potentially for regional neighbors like India as well). And Sohar is a small project compared with the ambitious new industrial city underway at Duqm.

In Duqm, financing has been heavily reliant on China, with smaller investments from GCC neighbors. The China-Oman Industrial Park in Duqm is a custom-made city within a special economic zone, expected to cost $10.7 billion and to be financed through Chinese companies and bank loans. The park will produce cars (a “high-mobility SUV”), solar panels, petrochemicals, and oil field supplies and have its own electricity and desalination plants. Recently, Saudi Arabia has made an effort to support the project, with a small $200 million part grant/part loan financing to fund road construction and a fishing harbor. A 30:70 joint investment between the Oman Investment fund (a sovereign wealth fund of Oman) and the Qatar Transport fund (signed in 2016) will establish a bus assembly plant at Duqm worth 160 million Omani riyals ($416 million). Oil and gas projects, railways and new power plants are also part of the economic development strategy, spreading out from Duqm, including to the south in Dhofar. In Dhofar, Masdar of the UAE will invest in a major wind power farm in Oman, bridging its expertise in regional renewable projects.

While the ports and industrial zone projects are heavily reliant on foreign bonds and bank loans, there is also an effort to streamline the government’s investment portfolio. Oman is a country in which the government plays the most significant role in capital expenditure and investment in the domestic economy. The government, through its various investment funds, like Tanmia, and individually through ministries, mandates most of the development opportunities in the country. A prime example is the Ministry of Defense, and its pension fund, which is a major property owner and developer, with assets like high-end hotels in the sultanate.

The government follows a five year development strategy and has been engaged in its own “national transformation” for economic diversification, with changes to managerial practice within ministries, including meeting key performance indicator targets within the Tanfeedh program. Combining government investment funds and streamlining the multiple ministerial stakeholders in local development projects has meant disrupting inefficient management and integrating parallel investment silos across ministries.

There are new efforts to streamline these various funds, particularly in tourism investments so that outside partners might help shoulder some of the cost (and reap the benefit) of domestic economic development plans, as in the Omran fund. A new infrastructure fund is an important initiative, though currently less than a quarter of infrastructure investment is privately financed, according to consultant estimates. Public-private partnerships are another potential avenue of financing that is largely untapped in Oman.

Policy choices, and the financial agreements to support them, have lasting consequences. Who the new owners of infrastructure, including new power plants, ports, and manufacturing zones, will be is being determined now. Who the bondholders and lenders, those who can influence future policy choices, will be is also important, particularly as there will likely be some refinancing in the near term, as Saudi Arabia is already seeking to do on debt issued just last year. Refinancing the terms of a multibillion-dollar loan with a state-linked Chinese bank could be a bit more complex for the Omani government.

For right now, time has been the most pressing determinant of Oman’s financing requirements, and the lenders and partners that have been willing to step in quickly have been rewarded with favorable terms and access. From the government’s perspective, “slow and go” has had political justifications that are borne out by the lack of shocks in the domestic economy. Long-term growth will require short- to medium-term repayment, and it is in this near term that Oman may need to consider alternative financing partners, particularly with its rising debt to gross domestic product levels.

Government Debt to GDP

Market Watch is a blog conceived by AGSIW Senior Resident Scholar Karen E. Young seeking to provide insights from the crossroads of Gulf politics and finance.